Natural disaster: Powerful earthquake in Haiti, the toll is heavy

0

The earth trembled in Haiti on Saturday August 14th around 8:30 am. A violent  earthquake of magnitude 7,2 on the Richter scale which made, according to a first provisional assessment, some 1300 victims and more than 5700 injured.

In the grip of a political crisis since the assassination of President Jovenel Moïse in July 2021, the island of Haiti has just experienced a new earthquake. Felt over the entire country, the earthquake of magnitude 7,2 on the Richter scale struck southwest Haiti at 08:29 a.m. on Saturday, about ten kilometers from the city of Saint-Louis-du-Sud, according to reports. data from the American Institute of Geophysics.

"Search and rescue operations and taking care of the wounded are the priority for the moment," reports civil protection, which counts more than 30 affected families. “000 houses were destroyed and 13,694 houses damaged in the 13,785 most affected departments (South, Grand 'Anse and Nippes). Many public buildings (hospitals, schools, hotels, churches, private companies, etc.) have suffered damage or have collapsed ”confirms the local press according to a latest report from Civil Protection. For its part, Médecin Sans Frontière, the international humanitarian association, evokes "considerable damage". "Several teams are currently trying to reach the most affected regions to assess the situation and how MSF can support the local response" specifies the association while the tropical depression "Grace" has also just affected the country. . On social networks, the testimonies and the images which circulate revive the painful memories of the violent earthquake of January 3, 12 which had made more than 2010 victims.

 8,973 total views

No comments

Catastrophe Naturelle : Puissant séisme à Haïti, le bilan est lourd

0

La terre a tremblé à Haïti le samedi 14 août dernier vers 8h30 du matin. Un violent  séisme de magnitude 7,2 sur l’échelle de Richter qui a fait d’après un premier bilan provisoire quelques 1300 victimes et plus de 5700 blessés.

En proie à une crise politique depuis l’assassinat du président Jovenel Moïse en juillet 2021, l’île d’Haïti vient de vivre un nouveau tremblement de terre. Ressenti sur la totalité du pays, le séisme de magnitude 7,2 sur l’échelle de Richter a frappé le sud-ouest d’Haïti samedi à 08H29 à une dizaine de kilomètres de la ville de Saint-Louis-du-Sud selon des données de l’Institut américain de géophysique.

« Les opérations de recherche et sauvetage et la prise en charge des blessés sont pour l’instant la priorité » rapporte la protection civile qui dénombre plus de 30 000 familles sinistrés. « 13,694 maisons sont détruites et 13,785 maisons endommagées dans les 3 départements les plus affectées (Sud, Grand ’Anse et Nippes). De nombreux bâtiments publics (hôpitaux, écoles, hôtels, églises, entreprises privées…) ont subi des dommages ou se sont effondrés » confirme la presse locale selon un dernier rapport de la Protection Civile. Pour sa part, Médecin Sans Frontière, l’association humanitaire internationale, évoque « des dégâts considérables ». « Plusieurs équipes tentent à l’heure actuelle d’atteindre les régions les plus touchées pour évaluer la situation et la façon dont MSF peut soutenir la réponse locale » précise l’association alors que la dépression tropicale « Grace » vient également de toucher le pays. Sur les réseaux sociaux, les témoignages et les images qui circulent ravivent les souvenirs douloureux du violent séisme du 12 janvier 2010 qui avait fait plus de 200 000 victimes.

 4,187 vues totales,  2 vues aujourd'hui

Article sponsorisé par :


About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :