Jacob Desvarieux, leader of the West Indian group Kassav 'and pioneer of zouk, is gone

0

Guadeloupe guitarist Jacob Desvarieux, who died on Friday July 30 in Pointe-à-Pitre as a result of the Covid-19, was one of the founders of the group Kassav ', a monument in the West Indies which enjoyed enormous success in the 1980s by mixing local music to create a style, the zouk.

Aged 65, Jacob Desvarieux was hospitalized on July 12 after being infected with the coronavirus. In fragile health since a kidney transplant, he had been placed in an artificial coma, according to a recent statement from the production of the group Kassav ', which had also announced the cancellation of all scheduled concerts.

  Condolences from President Daniel Gibbs:

“An essential figure in music, ambassador of the West Indies in the world, passed away this Friday, July 30, 2021, causing a wave of sadness among zouk lovers around the world.

Co-founder, emblematic singer of the Kassav 'group and musician, Jacob has made zouk a respected and cherished music, for 4 decades.

Through his talent, the group Kassav 'has shone far beyond our borders and our concert memories will remain etched in our memories and those of those around the world who had the privilege of seeing him on stage.

He was one of the greatest ambassadors of Caribbean culture and Caribbean music.

We are all in mourning.

His recognizable voice, his innate musical sense and his legendary wisdom have inspired generations of artists on an international scale. Jacob Desvarieux will remain a source of pride and inspiration, firmly rooted in our West Indian culture, in the hearts of Guadeloupeans and all those to whom he has been able to transmit the love of music and zouk in particular.

Our saddened condolences go out to his family, the members of the Kassav 'group and all his relatives.

The Saint-Martinois associate themselves with their pain and have a moving thought for this great artist who left too early.

A star shines in the firmament of our Caribbean musical heritage. May he rest in peace and may his work shine for a long time to come ”.

 8,965 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Jacob Desvarieux, leader du groupe antillais Kassav’ et pionnier du zouk, s’en est allé

0
blank

Le guitariste guadeloupéen Jacob Desvarieux, décédé vendredi 30 juillet à Pointe-à-Pitre des suites du Covid-19, était l’un des fondateurs du groupe Kassav’, monument aux Antilles qui a connu un énorme succès dans les années 1980 en mélangeant des musiques locales pour créer un style, le zouk.

Agé de 65 ans, Jacob Desvarieux avait été hospitalisé le 12 juillet après avoir été contaminé par le coronavirus. De santé fragile depuis une greffe rénale, il avait été placé en coma artificiel, selon une récente déclaration de la production du groupe Kassav’, qui avait également annoncé l’annulation de tous les concerts prévus.

  Les condoléances du président, Daniel Gibbs :

« Une figure incontournable de la musique, ambassadeur des Antilles dans le monde, s’est éteinte ce vendredi 30 juillet 2021 entraînant une vague de tristesse auprès des amateurs de zouk du Monde entier.

Co-fondateur, chanteur emblématique du groupe Kassav’ et musicien, Jacob a fait du zouk une musique respectée et chérie, durant 4 décennies.

A travers son talent, le groupe Kassav’ a rayonné bien au-delà de nos frontières et nos souvenirs de concerts resteront gravés dans nos mémoires et celles de ceux à travers le monde qui ont eu le privilège de le voir sur scène.

Il était l’un des plus grands ambassadeurs de la culture caribéenne et de la musique antillaise.

Nous sommes tous en deuil.

Sa voix reconnaissable entre toutes, son sens musical inné et sa sagesse légendaire ont inspiré plusieurs générations d’artistes à l’échelle internationale. Jacob Desvarieux restera une source de fierté et d’inspiration, solidement ancrée dans notre culture antillaise, dans le cœur des Guadeloupéens et de tout ceux à qui il a su transmettre l’amour de la musique et du zouk en particulier.

Nos condoléances attristées vont à sa famille, aux membres du groupe Kassav’ et tous ses proches.

Les Saint-Martinois s’associent à leur peine et ont une pensée émue pour ce grand artiste parti trop tôt.

Une étoile brille au firmament de notre patrimoine musical caribéen. Qu’il repose en paix et que son œuvre rayonne longtemps encore ».

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT