Cyclone: ​​a sluggish start to the season

0

The hurricane season, which began two and a half months ago, has not been very active so far. 

Three tropical storms have been named over the Atlantic Basin, Alex in early June, Bonnie and Colin in early July. Last year at the same time, eight phenomena, including three hurricanes, had already formed, in 2020 there were thirteen phenomena, in 2019 four, in 2018 five and in 2017 nine.

This low number of phenomena formed does not mean that the rest of the season will be calm. "Climately, more than 85% of the tropical systems named for a season take place from August, with a peak in the August-September-October quarter", recalls Météo France.

At this stage of the season, forecasters still consider that cyclonic activity will be significantly higher than the 1993-2021 average over the tropical Atlantic. “According to available forecasts from the various centres, the total number of named cyclones would be expected to be between 14 and 22, including 6 to 11 hurricanes, 2 to 6 of which could be major. It is above the new normals, calculated over the period 1991-2020”, reports Météo France while specifying that the “uncertainties are still significant” for the whole of the Atlantic basin. (soualigapost.com)

 834 total views, 5 views today

source:

Soualiga Post: http://www.soualigapost.com/fr

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

Cyclone : un début de saison peu actif

0

La saison cyclonique débutée il y a deux mois et demi, est peu active jusqu’à présent. 

Trois tempêtes tropicales ont été nommées sur le bassin Atlantique, Alex début juin, Bonnie et Colin début juillet. L’an passé à la même époque, huit phénomènes dont trois ouragans, s’étaient déjà formés, en 2020 il y avait eu treize phénomènes, en 2019 quatre, en 2018 cinq et en 2017 neuf.

Ce faible nombre de phénomènes formés ne signifie pas pour autant que le reste de la saison sera calme. «Climatologiquement, plus de 85 % des systèmes tropicaux nommés d’une saison ont lieu à partir du mois d’août, avec un pic sur le trimestre août-septembre-octobre», rappelle Météo France.

A ce stade de la saison, les prévisionnistes considèrent toujours que l’activité cyclonique sera significativement supérieure à la moyenne 1993-2021 sur l’Atlantique tropical. «Selon les prévisions disponibles des différents centres, on s’attendrait à un nombre total de cyclones nommés entre 14 et 22, dont 6 à 11 ouragans, 2 à 6 d’entre eux pouvant être majeurs. C’est au-dessus des nouvelles normales, calculées sur la période 1991-2020», rapporte Météo France tout en précisant que les «incertitudes sont encore importantes» pour l’ensemble du bassin atlantique. (soualigapost.com)

 875 vues totales,  10 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Soualiga Post : http://www.soualigapost.com/fr

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT