ENVIRONMENT: Clean Saint-Martin tackles the Chevrise pond this Sunday! 

0

After a period of rest, the Clean Saint-Martin association is back. A mission this Sunday, August 21 is planned. Meet at the Cadisco gas station on Orient Bay Road at 8:30 a.m.

“We have never cleaned this place”. Audrey Barbès, member of Clean Saint-Martin, talks about the western part of the Chevrise pond. Inaccessible throughout the whole period of the year, “we take advantage that the pond is largely dry”. As with every mission, the environmental association goes to scout locations for terms of safety and logistics vis-à-vis the volunteers who lend a hand. Glass and plastic bottles, a lot of this waste “accumulated over time, long before Irma,” says Clean Saint-Martin. The tracking also revealed large waste on the shore of the pond. “We rented a dumpster for this purpose”.  

 

Information

For those wishing to participate in this mission, children, adults and “even our four-legged friends”, the appointment is given this Sunday, August 21 from 8:30 am to 11:00 am. Clean Saint-Martin makes a reminder of the essentials: water bottle, sun protection (caps, sunscreen) and gloves if you have them. The morning will end, as usual, with a moment of conviviality.

 

An audience to reach

Since 2018, creation of the association, between 20 and 40 volunteers of all ages work on a regular basis for the embellishment of the French part of the island, however raising awareness of the general public remains the workhorse of these lovers of nature: “we only affect a small part of the population who already feels concerned. Ideally, we should be able to be known to all the communities, but this is far from being the case, ”laments Audrey Barbès. This “long-term” work is what drives Clean Saint-Martin to mobilize all goodwill: “I dare to hope that the island is a little cleaner, that people hear about our actions and that it will raise their awareness. not to throw or pick up on their own. That's really why we continue to do our actions. We hope that by dint of talking about it, it will eventually return to morals and consciences. _pc

 692 total views, 4 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

ENVIRONNEMENT : Clean Saint-Martin s’attaque à l’étang de Chevrise ce dimanche ! 

0

Après une période de repos, l’association Clean Saint-Martin est de retour. Une mission ce dimanche 21 août est prévue. Rendez-vous à la station essence de Cadisco, sur la route de la Baie Orientale, à 8h30.

«Nous n’avons jamais nettoyé ce lieu». Audrey Barbès, membre de Clean Saint-Martin, évoque la partie ouest de l’étang de Chevrise. Inaccessible durant toute la période de l’année, «on profite que l’étang soit largement asséché». Comme à chaque mission, l’association environnementale part en repérage des lieux pour des termes de sécurité et logistique vis-à-vis des bénévoles qui prêtent main forte. Bouteilles en verre et en plastique, beaucoup de ces déchets «se sont accumulés avec le temps, bien avant Irma», indique Clean Saint-Martin. Le repérage a permis de constater également des gros déchets sur le littoral de l’étang. «Nous avons loué une benne à cet effet».  

 

Infos

Pour les désireux de participer à cette mission, enfants, adultes et «même nos amis à quatre pattes», le rendez-vous est donné ce dimanche 21 août de 8h30 à 11h00. Clean Saint-Martin fait un rappel des indispensables : gourde d’eau, protections solaires (casquettes, crème solaire) et gants si vous en avez. La matinée se terminera, comme à l’habitude, par un petit moment de convivialité.

 

Un public à toucher

Depuis 2018, création de l’association, entre 20 et 40 bénévoles de tout âge œuvrent de manière régulière pour l’embellissement de la partie française de l’île, pour autant la sensibilisation au grand public reste le cheval de bataille de ces amoureux de la nature : «on ne touche qu’une petite partie de la population qui se sent déjà concernée. Idéalement, il faudrait qu’on puisse être connus de toutes les communautés, mais c’est loin d’être le cas», déplore Audrey Barbès. Ce travail «de longue haleine» est ce qui pousse Clean Saint-Martin à mobiliser toutes les bonnes volontés : «J’ose espérer que l’île est un peu plus propre, que les gens entendent parler de nos actions et que ça les sensibilisera à ne pas jeter ou à ramasser eux-mêmes de leur côté. C’est vraiment pour ça qu’on continue à faire nos actions. On espère qu’à force d’en parler cela finira par rentrer dans les mœurs et dans les consciences». _Pc

 728 vues totales,  4 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT