Caribbean Foils Championships: A grandiose spectacle!

0

Sunday December 12 was the last race of the 2021 Caribbean Foiling Championships with the famous race around the island. A previous record was to be broken for the professional kitefoil category, and it was the first time he had been attempted in a wingfoil.

 

Last championship race

After two days of racing in Orient Bay and around the island of Tintamarre, today (last Sunday) was the last long awaited race around the island of Saint-Martin / Saint-Martin.

Some riders get up early, participate in a yoga session to stretch after the previous days, or just focus on the day ahead. “I want to mentally prepare for this race, my goal is not to win but to finish the race,” says Manuel “Kiko” Dalmau from Puerto Rico, who races in Puerto Rico and recognizes the good level of the runners. present at these championships, especially the youngest.

Under the strong winds and the possible downpour weather forecast, Sacha Daunar, an experienced racing judge for the French Sailing Federation of Guadeloupe, said the weather conditions were good to compete and the start was set for 10 a.m. . with the kites going first, the leisure kitefoil and windfoil second and the professional kitefoil category last. As you approach Philipsburg, the faster kites are ahead.

An intense effort

" Incredible! Incredible! Epic! '' Exclaimed along with incoming wingers Sammy Martin, Travis Mcgarry and Jan Enderslev, comparing their Strava runs.

The wingfoilers made a U-turn of the island, starting from Orient Bay in a southerly direction to Philipsburg then to Long Bay, end of the race. Theo Demanez was the only one to attempt the wing tour of the island, setting the record at 2 hours and 53 minutes being the first to do so.

Lucas Marot and Bruno Kancel in Windsheet said it was a tough race in strong wind and waves conditions with some tough drops. Sacha Fortuné was ready to face even more intense conditions and said he appreciated them overall. Lucas Marot set the record at 2 hours and 10 minutes and all the wind sheets arrived in 2 hours and 30 minutes.

In the kitefoil leisure category, the riders circled the island in less than two hours, Félix Bellais completing the tour in 1 hour and 28 minutes. 

In the professional category, the race was intense and the riders were close to each other, with four riders breaking the previous record of 1 hour and 29 minutes set three years ago. The winner, Julien Quentel, completed the tour of the island in 1 hour and 12 minutes. Tiger Tyson, came second, 1 minute and 30 seconds later. 

Maximum safety for racing around the island

Priority has been given to the safety of all runners. Safety boats have been stationed at several locations around the island. All the runners were geolocated in real time with a SIM card provided by Dauphin Telecom. Two riders had to be rescued by the safety boats, due to a problem with equipment and fatigue, but no incidents were reported.

Volunteers waited for the wingfoilers in Long Bay, and a crowd in Orient Bay cheered on each rider arriving on shore. “It was a really nice and warm atmosphere,” said one supporter.

Runners pack up their gear, change, chill a few sore muscles, rest and exchange experiences while waiting for the awards ceremony. 

 

Overall results for the three days of the championships are the following:

Wingfoil:

races:

First: Chucho Nonnot

Second: Jérôme Thebault

Third: Manuel '' Kiko '' Dalmau

(Halfway) Around the island:

First: Théo Demanez (Around the island)

Second: Jérôme Thebault (Halfway)

Third: Manuel '' Kiko '' Dalmau (Halfway)

Windfoil:

races:

First: Sacha Fortune

Second: Lucas Marot

Third: Maëlle Guilbaud 

Around the island

First: Lucas Marot

Second: Bruno Kancel

Third: Sacha Fortuné

Kitefoil Leisure

races:

First: Felix Bellais

Second: Franck Balvay

Third: Mahé Thebault

Around the island

First: Félix Bellais

Second: Franck Balvay

Third: Erwan Jauffroy

Kitefoil Pro

races:

First: Julien Quentel

Second: Tiger Tyson

Third: Nell de Jaham

Around the island

First: Julien Quentel

Second: Tiger Tyson

Third: Mahe Stakelborough

The organizers, Sacha van der Wouden and Maxim van den Pol, are grateful to the sponsors and supporters for organizing this second edition of the Caribbean Foiling Championships. They thank the people who helped with logistics and security, volunteers, competitors from different islands and countries, and finally the race committee. They are convinced that this event is positive for the island of Saint-Martin / Saint-Martin and all the runners are impatiently awaiting the next edition!

 4,131 total views, 4 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsored by:


About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Championnats des Caraïbes des Foils : Un spectacle grandiose !

0

Le dimanche 12 décembre était la dernière course de l’édition 2021 des Championnats des Caraïbes de foiling avec la célèbre course autour de l’île. Un record précédent était à battre pour la catégorie professionnelle kitefoil, et c’était la première fois qu’il était tenté dans un wingfoil.

 

Dernière course des championnats

Après deux jours de course dans la baie d’Orient et autour de l’île de Tintamarre, c’était aujourd’hui (dimanche dernier) la dernière course tant attendue autour de l’île de Saint-Martin / Saint-Martin.

Certains cavaliers se lèvent tôt, participent à une séance de yoga pour s’étirer après les jours précédents, ou se concentrent simplement sur la journée à venir. « Je veux me préparer mentalement pour cette course, mon objectif n’est pas de gagner mais de terminer la course », déclare Manuel « Kiko » Dalmau de Porto Rico, qui participe à des courses à Porto Rico et reconnaît le bon niveau des coureurs présents à ces championnats, en particulier les plus jeunes.

Sous les vents forts et les prévisions météorologiques possibles d’averses, Sacha Daunar, juge de course expérimenté pour la fédération de voile Français de Guadeloupe, a déclaré que les conditions météorologiques étaient bonnes pour concourir et que le départ était fixé à 10 heures.m. avec les ailes partant en premier, le kitefoil leisure et le windfoil en deuxième et la catégorie professionnelle kitefoil en dernier. En se rapprochant de Philipsburg, les cerfs-volants qui vont plus vite sont devant.

Un effort intense

« Incroyable! Incroyable! Epic!’’ s’exclamèrent en même temps que les ailiers arrivant à Long Bay, Sammy Martin, Travis Mcgarry et Jan Enderslev, comparant leurs parcours Strava.

Les wingfoilers faisaient un demi-tour de l’île, partant d’Orient Bay en direction du sud jusqu’à Philipsburg puis à Long Bay, fin de la course. Théo Demanez a été le seul à tenter le tour de l’île en aile, établissant le record à 2 heures et 53 minutes étant le premier à le faire.

Lucas Marot et Bruno Kancel en feuille de vent ont déclaré que c’était une course difficile dans des conditions de vent fort et de vagues avec quelques chutes difficiles. Sacha Fortuné était prêt à faire face à des conditions encore plus intenses et a déclaré qu’il l’avait apprécié dans l’ensemble. Lucas Marot a établi le record à 2 heures et 10 minutes et tous les feuilles de vent sont arrivés en 2 heures et 30 minutes.

Dans la catégorie des loisirs kitefoil, les cavaliers ont fait le tour de l’île en moins de deux heures, Félix Bellais complétant le tour en 1 heure et 28 minutes. 

Dans la catégorie professionnelle, la course a été intense et les coureurs étaient proches les uns des autres, avec quatre coureurs battant le précédent record de 1 heure et 29 minutes établi il y a trois ans. Le vainqueur, Julien Quentel, a complété le tour de l’île en 1 heure et 12 minutes. Tiger Tyson, arrive deuxième, 1 minute et 30 secondes plus tard. 

Sécurité maximale pour la course autour de l’île

La priorité a été donnée à la sécurité de tous les coureurs. Des bateaux de sécurité ont été postés à plusieurs endroits autour de l’île. Tous les coureurs ont été géolocalisés en temps réel avec une carte SIM fournie par Dauphin Telecom. Deux coureurs ont dû être secourus par les bateaux de sécurité, en raison d’un problème d’équipement et de fatigue, mais aucun incident n’a été signalé.

Des bénévoles attendaient les wingfoilers à Long Bay, et une foule à Orient Bay encourageait chaque cavalier arrivant sur le rivage. « C’était une atmosphère vraiment agréable et chaleureuse », a déclaré un partisan.

Les coureurs remballent leur équipement, se changent, glacent quelques muscles endoloris, se reposent et échangent de l’expérience en attendant la cérémonie de remise des prix. 

 

Les résultats globaux pour les trois jours des championnats sont les suivants:

Wingfoil :

Races:

First: Chucho Nonnot

Second: Jérôme Thebault

Third: Manuel ‘’Kiko’’ Dalmau

(À mi-chemin) Autour de l’île:

Premier: Théo Demanez (Autour de l’île)

Deuxième: Jérôme Thebault (Demi-chemin)

Troisième: Manuel ‘’Kiko’’ Dalmau (Demi-chemin)

Windfoil:

Races:

First: Sacha Fortuné

Second: Lucas Marot

Third: Maëlle Guilbaud 

Autour de l’île

Premier : Lucas Marot

Deuxième : Bruno Kancel

Troisième : Sacha Fortuné

Kitefoil Leisure

Races:

First: Félix Bellais

Second: Franck Balvay

Third: Mahé Thebault

Autour de l’île

Premier : Félix Bellais

Deuxième : Franck Balvay

Troisième : Erwan Jauffroy

Kitefoil Pro

Races:

Premier: Julien Quentel

Deuxième: Tiger Tyson

Troisième: Nell de Jaham

Autour de l’île

Premier: Julien Quentel

Deuxième: Tiger Tyson

Troisième: Mahe Stakelborough

Les organisateurs, Sacha van der Wouden et Maxim van den Pol, sont reconnaissants aux sponsors et aux supporters d’avoir organisé cette deuxième édition des Championnats des Caraïbes de foiling. Ils remercient les personnes qui ont aidé à la logistique et à la sécurité, les bénévoles, les concurrents venant de différentes îles et pays, et enfin le comité de course. Ils sont convaincus que cet événement est positif pour l’île de Saint-Martin / Saint-Martin et tous les coureurs attendent avec impatience la prochaine édition !

 4,014 vues totales,  17 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsorisé par :


About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :