Air transport: New stricter penalties for disruptive passengers

0

In order to combat the constantly increasing incidents on board airliners, France is strengthening its legal arsenal against passengers who disrupt flights by creating a new system of administrative and criminal sanctions.

The safety of a flight in the European Union is jeopardized by the behavior of certain passengers every three hours. Faced with this observation by the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), the French government has decided to initiate "the creation of a system of administrative and criminal sanctions making it possible to repress the behavior of disruptive air passengers during a flight of public air transport", as the government spokesperson explained.

Thus the ordinance presented to the Council of Ministers on June 1, 2022 reinforces the current legal system and provides:

• a system of graduated sanctions that can be pronounced by the competent administrative authority against a disruptive passenger, comprising two parts: an administrative fine of a maximum amount of €10 (likely to be doubled in the event of a repeat offence) and a ban boarding, for a maximum period of 000 years (2 years in the event of a repeat offence), on board aircraft operated by a French company;

• the possibility of penalizing, with 5 years' imprisonment and a fine of €75, the fact of compromising "the safety of an aircraft in flight by the voluntary destruction, degradation or deterioration of one of the elements aircraft or safety equipment on board".

The disruptive behaviors of passengers on board an aircraft are:

• the use of an electronic or electrical device when it has been prohibited during a phase or the whole of the flight by the flight personnel;

• ignorance of the ban on smoking on board;

• obstructing the performance of flight crew safety duties;

• refusal to comply with a safety instruction given by the flight crew.

It should be noted that a second ordinance relating to the control of alcohol levels and the use of narcotics in the field of civil aviation was presented on June 1, 2022. It allows alcohol and narcotics screening by the gendarmerie and the police in flight and cabin crew members and other persons involved in the operation of aircraft, and establishes a system of administrative measures and sanctions. As a reminder, Commission Regulation (EU) 2018/1042 of July 23, 2018 requires European civil aviation authorities to conduct alcohol tests (and possibly other psychoactive substances) on crew members of control and cabin of aircraft frequenting European aerodromes.

 575 total views, 10 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

Transport aérien : De nouvelles sanctions plus strictes pour les passagers perturbateurs

0

Afin de lutter contre les incidents à bord des avions de ligne en accroissement constant, la France renforce son arsenal juridique face aux passagers qui perturbent les vols en créant un nouveau régime de sanctions administratives et pénales.

La sécurité d’un vol dans l’Union européenne est mise en péril par le comportement de certains passagers toutes les trois heures. Face à ce constat de l’Agence européenne de sécurité aérienne (EASA), le gouvernement français a décidé d’enclencher « la création d’un régime de sanctions administratives et pénales permettant de réprimer le comportement de passagers aériens perturbateurs lors d’un vol de transport aérien public », comme l’a précisé la porte-parole du gouvernement.

Ainsi l’ordonnance présentée en Conseil des ministres le 1er juin 2022 vient renforcer le dispositif juridique actuel et prévoit :

• un régime de sanctions graduées pouvant être prononcées par l’autorité administrative compétente envers un passager perturbateur, comportant deux volets : une amende administrative d’un montant de 10 000 € maximum (susceptible d’être doublé en cas de récidive) et une interdiction d’embarquement, d’une durée maximale de 2 ans (4 ans en cas de récidive), à bord des aéronefs exploités par une compagnie française ;

• la possibilité de sanctionner pénalement, de 5 ans d’emprisonnement et de 75 000 € d’amende, le fait de compromettre « la sécurité d’un aéronef en vol par la destruction, la dégradation ou la détérioration volontaires d’un des éléments de l’aéronef ou du matériel de sécurité à bord ».

Les comportements perturbateurs des passagers à bord d’un avion sont :

• l’utilisation d’un appareil électronique ou électrique lorsqu’elle a été interdite pendant une phase ou la totalité du vol par le personnel navigant ;

• la méconnaissance de l’interdiction de fumer à bord ;

• l’entrave à l’exercice des missions de sécurité du personnel navigant ;

• le refus de se conformer à une instruction de sécurité donnée par le personnel navigant.

A noter qu’une deuxième ordonnance relative au contrôle de l’alcoolémie et à l’usage de stupéfiants dans le domaine de l’aviation civile a été présentée le 1er juin 2022. Elle permet le dépistage d’alcool et de stupéfiants par la gendarmerie et la police chez les membres de l’équipage de conduite et de cabine et aux autres personnes concourant à la conduite des avions, et institue un régime de mesures et sanctions administratives. Pour rappel, le règlement (UE) 2018/1042 de la Commission du 23 juillet 2018 demande aux autorités de l’aviation civile européennes de conduire des tests d’alcoolémie (et éventuellement d’autres substances psychoactives) sur les membres d’équipage de conduite et de cabine des aéronefs fréquentant les aérodromes européens.

 611 vues totales,  3 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT