St.Martin88 offers a vibrant concert for music education

0

On Sunday May 1, the St.Martin88 association presented a concert with several artists to support its music education program which it intends to launch later this year in high schools on both sides of the island. 

Josiane  Artsen-Fleming was the evening's mistress of ceremonies. In her keynote, she said, "When St.Martin88 brings together music, leadership, and education, the possibilities are endless."

Among the public present in support of this program were government officials from both sides of the island as well as others who support cultural and educational activities.

Kimball Gallagher, international pianist and founder of the NGO 88International, the initiating organization of St.Martin88, explained that St.Martin88 is rooted in the values ​​of music, inclusion and transformation. The goal of the program is to “channel the energies of young people into musical and creative pursuits, all within their after-school music clubs on both sides of the island.”

During the evening, Gallagher gave a moving performance of Chopin's Piano Sonata No. 3. Coming from the Juilliard school, he also performed 4-hand pieces by Dvorak, with a former Juilliard classmate, Lisa Wang, who was also the hostess for the evening. Wang, a Taiwanese pianist, then performed Firestorm, an evocative work by Taiwanese composer Eunice Chernikova, who was also trained at the Juilliard school.

After these performances, Josiane Artsen-Fleming returned to the stage to sing two Edith Piaf classics, “La vie en rose” and “Non, je ne regrette rien”. His nostalgic performance elicited a warm reaction from the audience. Amin Bouabdelli and Delphine also elegantly performed two famous songs, “Wonderful World” and “Hallelujah”. 

Finally, Solokween stole the show with "Don't Wait", a song urging the inhabitants of Saint-Martin and Sint Maarten to prepare for the next hurricanes, and "Heartbreak", a song in Papiamento. She electrified the audience and prompted Josiane Artsen-Fleming to speak again. She invited some members of the public to comment on the concert.

“St.Martin88 has the full support of the executive council of the French side,” said Frantz Gumbs, Vice-President of the Collectivité.

Editor's note: This concert was a magical moment

“We know without a doubt that 'the arts' are that vehicle that allows us to realize the best of our humanity. Through this vehicle of music and art, he enables us to fulfill the gift of the creator that flows within each of us, the excellence of our lived experience. The journey has already started on the Dutch side, we are all committed,” said Clara Reyes, head of the culture department, in her speech.

88 International has similar programs in Tunisia, Senegal, Taiwan and Myanmar and has reached tens of thousands of students who have in turn produced hundreds of their own songs and events raising their voices on various topics of their choosing. , such as the cause of women, the state of the environment, their country and other social issues. St. Martin88 hopes to join them soon.

To support St.Martin88, please go to: https://gofund.me/0a673bf6

For more information, please contact: https://88international.org/st-martin88/

 949 total views, 5 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsored by:


No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

St.Martin88 offre un concert vibrant pour l’éducation musicale

0

Dimanche 1er mai, l’association St.Martin88 a présenté un concert avec plusieurs artistes pour soutenir son programme d’éducation musicale qu’il entend lancer plus tard cette année dans les lycées des deux côtés de l’île. 

Josiane  Artsen-Fleming a été la maîtresse de cérémonie de la soirée. Dans son discours d’ouverture, elle a déclaré : « Lorsque St.Martin88 réunit la musique, le leadership et l’éducation, les possibilités sont infinies ».

Parmi le public présent pour soutenir ce programme, se trouvaient des représentants des gouvernements des deux côtés de l’île ainsi que d’autres personnes qui soutiennent les activités culturelles et éducatives.

Kimball Gallagher, pianiste international et fondateur de l’ONG 88International, l’organisation initiatrice de St.Martin88, a expliqué que St.Martin88 est ancrée dans les valeurs de la musique, de l’inclusion et de la transformation. L’objectif du programme est de «canaliser les énergies des jeunes vers des activités musicales et créatives, le tout dans le cadre de leurs clubs de musique périscolaires des deux côtés de l’île.»

Lors de la soirée, Gallagher a réalisé une émouvante performance de la Sonate n° 3 pour piano de Chopin. Issu de l’école Juilliard, il a également interprété des morceaux à 4 mains de Dvorak, avec une ancienne camarade de classe de Juilliard, Lisa Wang, qui était également l’hôtesse de la soirée. Wang, pianiste taïwanaise, a ensuite interprété Firestorm, une œuvre évocatrice de la compositrice taïwanaise Eunice Chernikova, qui a également été formée à l’école Juilliard.

Après ces performances, Josiane Artsen-Fleming est revenue sur scène pour chanter deux classiques d’Edith Piaf, «La vie en rose» et «Non, je ne regrette rien». Sa performance nostalgique a suscité une réaction chaleureuse du public. Amin Bouabdelli et Delphine ont également interprété avec élégance deux chansons célèbres, «Wonderful World» et «Hallelujah». 

Enfin, Solokween a volé la vedette avec «Don’t Wait», une chanson arguant les habitants de Saint-Martin et de Sint Maarten à se préparer aux prochains ouragans, et «Heartbreak», une chanson en papiamento. Elle a électrisé le public et a incité Josiane Artsen-Fleming à reprendre la parole. Celle-ci a invité certains membres du public à faire leurs commentaires à propos du concert.

«St.Martin88 a le soutien total du conseil exécutif de la partie française», a déclaré Frantz Gumbs, Vice-Président de la Collectivité.

Ndlr : Ce concert a été un moment magique

«Nous savons sans aucun doute que ‘les arts’ sont ce véhicule qui nous permet de réaliser le meilleur de notre humanité. À travers ce véhicule de la musique et de l’art, il nous permet d’accomplir le don du créateur qui coule en chacun de nous, l’excellence de notre expérience vécue. Le voyage a déjà commencé du côté hollandais, nous sommes tous engagés», a déclaré Clara Reyes, chef du département de la culture, dans son allocution.

88 International a des programmes similaires en Tunisie, au Sénégal, à Taiwan et au Myanmar et a touché des dizaines de milliers d’étudiants qui ont à leur tour produit des centaines de leurs propres chansons et événements élevant leurs voix sur divers sujets de leur choix, tels que la cause des femmes, l’état de l’environnement, de leur pays et d’autres questions sociales. St. Martin88 espère les rejoindre bientôt.

Pour soutenir St.Martin88, veuillez vous rendre sur : https://gofund.me/0a673bf6

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez contacter : https://88international.org/st-martin88/

 949 vues totales,  5 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsorisé par :


Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT