STROKE MIC: In your opinion, are the European elections important for Saint-Martin?

0

Lena “All elections are important. Voting is a right and it is also a civic duty! For these European elections, the stakes are high. We must continue to join forces. We live in strange times. It is absolutely necessary that the member states of the European Union always remain united. We don't know what tomorrow will bring. In Saint-Martin, we are lucky to benefit from help from Europe. If not for the reconstruction of Saint-Martin after the devastating passage of Irma. We were able to help the most vulnerable people on the island, all thanks to subsidies from Europe.”

 

 

Sylvie “It is always important to vote. Concerning the European elections, there is no shortage of issues this year. How to fight climate change? What response to the war in Ukraine? How to ensure the economic prosperity of the continent? With the European elections, now is the time to make our voice heard on the issues that concern us. At the local level, Saint-Martin benefits from European funds in many areas: health, education, tourism, environment, associations... very important aid for the economic development of the island. Without this help, I don’t know how we could get by.”

 

 

Philippe “I have always had the good habit of voting! I think that the European elections are very important even in a small territory like that of Saint-Martin. With the single currency the Euro, it is much easier to travel within European member countries.

In Saint-Martin, various projects in many areas have been possible thanks to European funds. This amounts to several tens of millions of euros. Let us also not forget that we were able to recover from Irma thanks to significant assistance from the European Union. Without her, we would have had the worst difficulty in getting back on track.”

 

Mathurin “I didn't find out enough about the candidates unfortunately but going to vote is important, taking the step is important for me. In Saint-Martin, people are less concerned. I try to raise awareness among the people around me to go and vote because there are issues on overseas issues at the European level. This is what guided my vote, on the candidates who took them into account. »

 

 

Jeremy “Voting is already a civic duty, we have this right to express ourselves as citizens and not voting is simply leaving the choice to others to decide for us. »

 

 

 

Thomas “Whatever anyone says, we need the European fund. Indirectly speaking, Saint-Martin needs France. On the scale of Saint-Martin, the European vote seems unimportant but we remain French, we have a French identity card and we are lucky enough to be able to vote. Internally I'm not sure that my vote changes anything but it's mainly the fact that we have this chance to vote. For those who do not have this right, we see what that gives. »

 

 

Yiraldi “I returned to the island a year ago and usually I vote by proxy. There, it was important to make the gesture and know that I have a choice in politics, to have a choice for my future above all. »

Comments collected on Saturday June 8, 2024 in different polling stations in Saint-Martin. _AF & _Vx

loading

About author

No comments

MICRO-TROTTOIR : Selon vous, est-ce que les élections européennes sont importantes pour Saint-Martin?

0

Léna « Toutes les élections sont importantes. Voter est un droit et c’est aussi un devoir civique ! Pour ces élections européennes, l’enjeu est de taille. Nous devons continuer à unir nos forces. Nous vivons dans une drôle d’époque. Il faut absolument que les états membres de l’Union européenne soient toujours unis. On ne sait pas de quoi demain sera fait. A Saint-Martin, nous avons la chance de bénéficier de l’aide de l’Europe. Ne serait-ce pour la reconstruction de Saint-Martin après le passage dévastateur d’Irma. Nous avons pu venir en aide aux personnes les plus vulnérables de l’île, tout ceci grâce aux subventions de l’Europe ».

 

 

Sylvie « Il est toujours important de voter. Concernant les élections européennes, les enjeux ne manquent pas cette année. Comment lutter contre le changement climatique ? Quelle réponse apporter à la guerre en Ukraine ? Comment assurer la prospérité économique du continent ? Avec les élections européennes, c’est le moment de faire entendre notre voix sur les sujets qui nous concernent. Au niveau local, Saint-Martin bénéficie des fonds européens dans de nombreux domaines : santé, éducation, tourisme, environnement, milieu associatif… des aides très importantes pour le développement économique de l’île. Sans ces aides, je ne sais pas comment nous pourrions nous en sortir ».

 

 

Philippe « J’ai toujours pris la bonne habitude de voter ! Je pense que les élections européennes sont très importantes même sur un petit territoire comme celui de Saint-Martin. Avec la monnaie unique l’Euro, c’est beaucoup plus facile de voyager au sein des pays membres de l’Europe.

A Saint-Martin, différents projets dans de nombreux domaines ont pu voir le jour grâce aux fonds européens. Cela se chiffre en plusieurs dizaines de millions d’euros. N’oublions pas non plus que nous avons pu nous relever d’Irma grâce à l’aide importante de l’Union européenne. Sans elle, nous aurions connu les pires difficultés à remonter la pente ».

 

Mathurin « Je ne me suis pas renseigné assez sur les candidats malheureusement mais aller vote, c’est important, faire la démarche est importante pour moi. À Saint-Martin, les gens sont moins concernés. J’essaye de sensibiliser les gens autour de moi à aller voter parce qu’il y a des enjeux sur les sujets ultra-marins au niveau européen. C’est d’ailleurs ça qui a orienté mon vote, sur les candidats qui les prenaient en compte. »

 

 

Jeremy « Le vote est déjà un devoir citoyen, nous avons ce droit de nous exprimer en tant que citoyen et ne pas voter, c’est tout simplement laisser le choix aux autres de décider pour nous. »

 

 

 

Thomas « Quoiqu’on en dise, on a besoin du fonds européen. Indirectement parlant, Saint-Martin a besoin de la France. À l’échelle de Saint-Martin, le vote européen semble peu important mais on reste français, on a une carte d’identité française et on a cette chance de pouvoir voter. Intérieurement je ne suis pas certain que mon vote change quoique ce soit mais c’est surtout le fait qu’on a cette chance de voter. Pour ceux qui n’ont pas ce droit, on voit ce que ça donne. »

 

 

Yiraldi « Je suis revenue sur l’île il y a un an et d’habitude, je vote par procuration. Là, c’était important de faire le geste et savoir que j’ai un choix dans la politique, d’avoir un choix pour mon avenir surtout. »

Propos recueillis le samedi 8 juin 2024 dans différents bureaux de vote de Saint-Martin. _AF & _Vx

Loading

About author

No comments