Commemoration: National Day of Memories of the Slave Trade, Slavery and Their Abolition: Raising Awareness and Not Forgetting 

0

Like the schools of Metropolitan France, the educational community of the Northern Islands commemorated on Tuesday, May 10, the national day of memories of the slave trade, slavery and their abolition. 

Since 2006, France has celebrated, on May 10, the national day of memories of the slave trade, slavery and their abolition. The date of this national day was chosen by President Jacques Chirac, on the proposal of the National Committee for the Memory and History of Slavery (CNMHE). It corresponds to the adoption by Parliament, on May 10, 2001, of the law which recognizes slavery and the slave trade as crimes against humanity.

What does the Taubira law recognize? 

The date of May 10 commemorates the adoption of the law tending to the recognition of the slave trade and slavery as a crime against humanity, also called “Taubira law” from the name of the former Minister of Justice.  By this law, the French Republic recognizes that the transatlantic slave trade as well as the slave trade in the Indian Ocean on the one hand, and slavery on the other hand, perpetrated from the XNUMXth century, in the Americas, the Caribbean and in the Indian Ocean against the African, Amerindian, Malagasy and Indian populations constitute a crime against humanity.

Faced with this important subject of citizen reflection, the pupils of the bilingual CM1 classes of the Aline Hanson and Hervé Williams schools as well as those of the Roche engraved college in Moho have returned, in various forms, a work carried out in recent weeks,  in compliance with the law of 2006 which provides that “consequent place be given to the slave trade and slavery in school curricula”. 

La Banque Postale joined in this celebration by presenting the students with the stamp bearing the image of the mulatto Solitude, an emblematic figure in the struggle for the emancipation of slaves, issued to commemorate this heroic action. _AF

 936 total views, 9 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsored by:


No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

Commémoration : Journée nationale des mémoires de la traite, de l’esclavage et de leurs abolitions : éveiller les consciences et ne pas oublier 

0

A l’instar des établissements scolaires de Métropole, la communauté éducative des Iles du Nord a commémoré le mardi 10 mai dernier, la journée nationale des mémoires de la traite, de l’esclavage et de leurs abolitions. 

Depuis 2006, la France célèbre, le 10 mai, la journée nationale des mémoires de la traite, de l’esclavage et de leur abolition. La date de cette journée nationale a été choisie par le président Jacques Chirac, sur proposition du Comité national pour la mémoire et l’histoire de l’esclavage (CNMHE). Elle correspond à l’adoption par le Parlement, le 10 mai 2001, de la loi qui reconnaît l’esclavage et la traite négrière comme crimes contre l’humanité.

Que reconnaît la loi Taubira ? 

La date du 10 mai commémore l’adoption de la loi tendant à la reconnaissance de la traite et de l’esclavage en tant que crime contre l’humanité, aussi appelée « loi Taubira » du nom de l’ancienne ministre de la justice.  Par cette loi, la République française reconnaît que la traite négrière transatlantique ainsi que la traite dans l’océan Indien d’une part, et l’esclavage d’autre part, perpétrés à partir du XVe siècle, aux Amériques, aux Caraïbes et dans l’océan Indien contre les populations africaines, amérindiennes, malgaches et indiennes constituent un crime contre l’humanité.

Face à ce sujet important de réflexion citoyenne, les élèves des classes de CM1 bilingues des écoles Aline Hanson et Hervé Williams ainsi que ceux du collège Roche gravée de Moho ont restitué, sous diverses formes, un travail réalisé ces dernières semaines,  dans le respect de la loi de 2006 qui prévoit qu’une «place conséquente soit accordée à la traite négrière et à l’esclavage dans les programmes scolaires ». 

La Banque postale s’est associée à cette célébration en présentant aux élèves le timbre à l’effigie de la mulâtresse Solitude, figure emblématique de la lutte pour l’émancipation des esclaves, édité pour commémorer cette action héroïque. _AF

 939 vues totales,  12 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsorisé par :


Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT