East Bay ASL vs. EEASM Water Case: Consequences of the Council of State Decision

0

The recent decision of the Council of State to reject the request of the ASL of Orient Bay requesting the cancellation of the judgment of the COM requiring it to repair the water network located inside the subdivision, is heavy consequences.

After the administrative court and the administrative court of appeal, the Council of State confirms that the maintenance of the water network located inside a private subdivision belongs to the co-owners and not to the COM via its water establishment and sanitation (EEASM).

Local residents will therefore have to pay for the repairs themselves. Expensive work which will undoubtedly weigh on the loads. But Orient Bay is not the only subdivision concerned. There are a number of them in the French part, whose access is controlled like those of Terres Basses or Savanna, or not like those of Mont Vernon, Rambaud or Oyster Pond. They must also ensure maintenance or even change the pipes if necessary, at their expense.

With this decision of the Council of State, the EEASM can now easily justify its instruction given to Saur not to (or no longer) intervene on these sites. "This decision of the highest French administrative jurisdiction which sets precedent, provides a definitive and indisputable answer to a problem of the management of water networks in housing estates which extends beyond those of Orient Bay", comments Dominique Riboud the President of the EEASM. "We will now be able to redefine with ASL managers and in good understanding the framework for the distribution of water and sanitation in housing estates for the benefit of users, public health and financial transparency", agrees he. And to admit: "the decision of the Council of State must be appreciated at its fair value by the entire population of Saint-Martin."

Until recently, the delegatee (GDE or Sogea before) had always graciously maintained the networks of private housing estates. A generosity that the COM or the town hall had never called into question. As long as the network was in good condition.

Finally, in line with the reasoning, rental contracts must be signed between the EEASM and the ASLs concerned to authorize the passage of certain public pipes, in particular waste water, on their land. This is the case at Terres Basses where there is a treatment plant treating the wastewater from Sandy Ground and Baie Nettlé. Or at Orient Bay where there is a refoulement post (Soualigapost).

loading

About author

No comments

Affaire de l’ASL de la Baie Orientale vs l’EEASM au sujet de l’eau : Les conséquences de la décision du Conseil d’Etat

0
blank

La récente décision du Conseil d’Etat de rejeter la requête de l’ASL de la Baie Orientale demandant l’annulation de l’arrêt de la COM la sommant de réparer le réseau d’eau situé à l’intérieur du lotissement, est lourde de conséquences.

Après le tribunal administratif et la cour administrative d’appel, le Conseil d’Etat confirme que l’entretien du réseau d’eau situé à l’intérieur d’un lotissement privé appartient aux copropriétaires et non à la COM via son établissement des eaux et de l’assainissement (EEASM).

Les riverains vont donc devoir payer eux-mêmes les réparations. Des travaux onéreux qui pèseront assurément sur les charges. Mais la Baie Orientale n’est pas le seul lotissement concerné. Il en existe un certain nombre en partie française, dont l’accès est contrôlé comme ceux des Terres Basses ou de la Savanna, ou non comme ceux de Mont Vernon, de Rambaud ou Oyster Pond. Ils devront aussi assurer l’entretien voire le changement des canalisations si nécessaire, à leurs frais.

Avec cette décision du Conseil d’Etat, l’EEASM peut désormais aisément justifier sa consigne donnée à Saur de ne pas (ou plus) intervenir sur ces sites. «Cette décision de la plus haute juridiction administrative française qui fait jurisprudence, apporte une réponse définitive et non contestable à une problématique de la gestion des réseaux d’eau dans les lotissements qui s’étend au-delà de ceux de la Baie Orientale », commente Dominique Riboud le président de l’EEASM. «Nous allons désormais pouvoir redéfinir avec les gestionnaires d’ASL et en bonne intelligence le cadre de la distribution d’eau et de l’assainissement dans les lotissements au bénéfice des usagers, de la salubrité publique et de la transparence financière», convient-il. Et de faire admettre : «la décision du Conseil d’Etat se doit d’être appréciée à sa juste valeur par toute la population de Saint-Martin.»

Jusqu’à il y a peu, le délégataire (GDE ou Sogea avant) avait toujours entretenu les réseaux des lotissements privés gracieusement. Une largesse que la COM ou la mairie n’avait jamais remise en cause. Tant que le réseau était en bon état.

Enfin, dans la logique du raisonnement, des contrats de location devront être signés entre l’EEASM et les ASL concernés pour autoriser le passage de certaines canalisations publiques, notamment d’eaux usées, sur leur terrain. Tel est le cas aux Terres Basses où se trouve une station d’épuration traitant les eaux usées de Sandy Ground et Baie Nettlé. Ou à la Baie orientale où se trouve un poste de refoulement (Soualigapost).

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT