A major study will be conducted next April on the life cycle and growth of large migratory sharks in the northeastern Caribbean

0

The Dutch Caribbean Nature Alliance (DCNA) announced last week that researchers will soon be studying the life cycle and growth of large migratory sharks in the northeastern Caribbean.

With support from the World Wildlife Fund for Nature Netherlands (WWF-NL), the research will be conducted through the DCNA network organizations - Saba Conservation Foundation (SCF), Sint Maarten Nature Foundation and St. Eustatius National Parks Foundation STENAPA - and the international conservation organization “Under the Waves” (BTW).

DCNA Director Tadzio Bervoets said the research will focus specifically on tiger sharks. The first assessment is to be conducted next April, with another shipment scheduled for July.

“We aim to place satellite trackers on various animals and determine if any of them are in the mating or childbirth stage. Hopefully with these data we will be able to make recommendations, both for the benefit of the inhabitants of the islands and for the conservation of a species that faces the imminent threat of extinction, ”stressed T. Bervoets.

The announcement of this study follows the two shark attacks in Orient Bay and St. Kitts.

T. Bervoets said the attacks had led many locals, including several government officials, to speculate on an increase in shark populations in the Caribbean.

  “There is absolutely no data to suggest that there is an increase in the shark population in the Caribbean. However, to get an idea of ​​any potential change, a scientific assessment should be conducted to determine if there are any significant changes. This is why we are delighted to be working with WWF-NL and BTW on this research ”, concludes T. Bervoets. _AF

 7,838 total views

Article sponsored by:


About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Une grande étude sera menée en avril prochain sur le cycle de vie et l’accroissement des grands requins migrateurs dans le nord-est des Caraïbes

0
blank

La Dutch Caribbean Nature Alliance (DCNA) a annoncé la semaine dernière que des chercheurs étudieront bientôt le cycle de vie et l’accroissement des grands requins migrateurs dans le nord-est des Caraïbes.

Avec le soutien du World Wildlife Fund for Nature Netherlands (WWF-NL), la recherche sera menée via les organisations du réseau DCNA – Saba Conservation Foundation (SCF), Sint Maarten Nature Foundation et St.Eustatius National Parks Foundation STENAPA – et l’organisation internationale de conservation « Sous les Vagues » (BTW).

Le directeur de la DCNA, Tadzio Bervoets, a déclaré que la recherche se concentrera spécifiquement sur les requins tigres. La première évaluation doit être menée en avril prochain, une autre expédition étant prévue pour juillet.

«Nous visons à placer des trackers satellites sur divers animaux et à déterminer si l’un d’entre eux est au stade de l’accouplement ou de l’accouchement. Espérons qu’avec ces données, nous serons en mesure de faire des recommandations, à la fois pour le bénéfice des habitants des îles et pour la conservation d’une espèce qui fait face à la menace imminente d’extinction », a souligné T. Bervoets.

L’annonce de cette étude fait suite aux deux attaques de requins intervenues à la Baie Orientale et à Saint-Kitts.

T. Bervoets a précisé que ces attaques avaient amené de nombreux habitants de la région, y compris plusieurs représentants du gouvernement, à spéculer sur une augmentation des populations de requins dans les Caraïbes.

  «Il n’y a absolument aucune donnée suggérant qu’il y a une augmentation de la population de requins dans les Caraïbes. Cependant, pour avoir une idée de tout changement potentiel, une évaluation scientifique doit être menée pour déterminer s’il y a des évolutions sensibles. C’est pourquoi nous sommes ravis de travailler avec le WWF-NL et BTW dans le cadre de cette recherche », conclut T. Bervoets. _AF

blank

Article sponsorisé par:


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT