All you need to know about sea turtles…

0

As part of its annual monitoring of the nesting season of sea turtles in Saint Martin, the National Nature Reserve coordinates patrols carried out by ecovolunteers on a dozen beaches on our island.

This sixty people trained and volunteers contribute each year to feed a scientific database valued at local level (knowledge, awareness, management of egg-laying sites), regional, national and international, with the aim of contributing to and improving conservation sea ​​turtles frequenting our waters.

This action is not limited to the preservation of a handful of emblematic species of the marine environment; it also contributes to preserving our local economy, a large number of our visitors being eager to have the opportunity to observe these magic animals.

To perpetuate our action, we seek each year new ecovolunteers who can contribute a few hours of their time during the laying season (March to November), eager to learn more about these animals and to have the opportunity to observe a key stage in the life of these mysterious species.

To do so, we are organizing an information campaign via our Facebook wall, as well as hosting thematic evenings on the theme of sea turtles.

The next evening of this kind will take place on Tuesday 23 May, from 18 p.m., at the Calypso restaurant, on the Anse Marcel Marina.

 6,936 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Tout savoir sur les tortues marines…

0

Dans le cadre de son suivi annuel de la saison de ponte des tortues marines à Saint Martin, la Réserve Naturelle Nationale coordonne des patrouilles réalisée par des écovolontaires sur une dizaine de plage de notre île.

Cette soixantaine de personnes formées et volontaires contribue chaque année à alimenter une base de données scientifique valorisée au niveau local (connaissances, sensibilisation, gestion des sites de ponte), régional, national et international, dans le but de contribuer et d’améliorer la conservation des tortues marines fréquentant nos eaux.

Cette action ne se limite pas à la préservation d’une poignée d’espèces emblématiques du milieu marin ; elle contribue également à préserver notre économie locale, un grand nombre de nos visiteurs étant désireux d’avoir l’opportunité d’observer ces animaux magiques.

Pour pérenniser notre action, nous recherchons chaque année de nouveaux écovolontaires pouvant mettre à contribution quelques heures de leur temps au cours de la saison de ponte (Mars à Novembre), désireux d’en apprendre plus sur ces animaux et d’avoir l’opportunité d’observer une étape clés de la vie de ces espèces mystérieuses.

Pour se faire nous organisons une campagne d’information via notre mur Facebook, ainsi qu’en animant des soirées thématiques sur le thème des tortues marines.

La prochaine soirée de ce genre aura le lieu le mardi 23 mai, à partir de 18h30, au restaurant le Calypso, sur la Marina de l’Anse Marcel.

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT