Surf / A 5th place for Camille-Elena Lavocat in Peru

0

Maui and sons PRO JUNIOR WSL

Left for Lima in Peru on July 11, Camille, accompanied by her mother, had to adapt to the rather harsh weather conditions this season at the San Bartolo spot in Peru. 

Water at only 16 ° C which required full wetsuit surfing for a short training session the first 5 days on site.

Adapting to the cold always requires a certain time of adaptation, especially for the Antilleans…

The watergirls from Saint-Martin thus qualified for the quarter-finals of this Pro Junior competition where she met in "men on men" (one against one) the reigning 1-year-old champion of Peru. The law of the draw which set the bar very high for the 4-year-old Saint-Martinoise and the only European representative in this competition.

"I trained a lot throughout the week," says Camille. "I was cold but the spot was quite nice even if we didn't have the waves expected! I like big waves. I felt that I had the level to reach at least the 1/2 final, but I fell against the champion of Peru. She was stronger than me, that's all! Fortunately, this is his last year in Junior!

“I received many encouragements from the staff on my surfing style and my commitment to the wave! I still have time to climb the stages and focus on the next competition before the French championships. Thank you to all those who support me on Saint-Martin and in Metropolitan France ”._AF

 6,737 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Surf / Une 5ème place pour Camille-Elena Lavocat au Pérou

0

Maui and sons PRO JUNIOR WSL

Partie pour Lima au Pérou  le 11 Juillet dernier, Camille accompagnée de sa maman, a dû s’adapter aux conditions météorologiques plutôt rudes en cette saison sur le spot de San Bartolo au Pérou . 

Une eau à seulement 16°C qui a nécessité un surf en combinaison intégrale pour de courte session d’entraînement les 5 premiers jours sur place.

L’adaptation au froid demande toujours un certain temps d’adaptation surtout pour les Antillais…

La watergirls  de Saint-Martin s’est donc qualifiée pour les 1/4 de finale de cette compétition Pro Junior où elle a rencontré en «men on men» (un contre un ) la championne du Pérou en titre âgée de 21 ans. La loi du tirage au sort qui a placé la barre très haute pour la Saint-Martinoise âgée de 16 ans et seule représentante européenne sur cette compétition.

«Je me suis beaucoup entraînée tout au long de la semaine», souligne Camille. «J’ai eu froid mais le spot était plutôt sympa même si nous n’avons pas eu les vagues prévues ! J’aime les grosses vagues . Je sentais que j’avais le niveau pour atteindre au moins les 1/2 finale, mais je suis tombée contre la championne du Pérou. Elle a été plus forte que moi, c’est tout ! Heureusement, c’est sa dernière année en Junior !

«J’ai reçu de nombreux encouragements de la part du staff sur mon style de surf et mon engagement dans la vague ! J’ai encore du temps pour gravir les étapes et me concentrer sur la prochaine compétition avant les championnats de France. Merci à tous ceux qui me soutiennent sur Saint-Martin et en Métropole»._AF

 1,849 vues totales,  8 vues aujourd'hui

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT