Household waste, ELV, sorting: the new waste management policy of the COM (continuation and end)

1

What more can we do to make the island appear cleaner? The president of the community and the regional councilor in charge of the environment are asking this question. Without having an answer.

"The Collectivity can only intervene on public roads," recalls Pascale Laborde, who has also managed the renewal of household waste bins. More than 3 bins have been distributed in all neighborhoods.

“These are collective and no longer individual bins. A market is also in force for their cleaning and maintenance, once or twice a month depending on the neighborhoods and needs, she says. And to hammer: "Only household waste is accepted in collective bins." “If, for example, we put metal, scrap metal, this risks damaging the equipment of the trucks during shredding,” explains Daniel Gibbs.

Bulky items must be placed next to them and recyclable waste thrown into the sorting stations. A new contract relating to selective sorting is underway. 200 new terminals must be installed by the end of the year. The emptying of the terminals has resumed, it is carried out twice a month.

In addition, the two elected officials announce that litter bins with a capacity of 50 liters will be installed throughout the territory from next October so that pedestrians and other users can throw their waste in these bins. and no longer on the ground in the streets.

Finally, the community is in the process of creating a new Department of Environment, Water and Energy as part of its administrative reorganization. “The recruitment of the director is underway. It will make it possible to size this public service with a real environmental policy and a reinforced environmental police force because it is now necessary to move up a gear: raising awareness yes but also sanctioning attacks on the environment ”, declares the president of the COM. “On a small tourist island like Saint-Martin, the environment must be at the heart of everyone's concerns. This is the essence of the reorganization work that we are carrying out within the Collectivity. Protecting our common good is everyone's business! Everyone has their role to play, let's not forget, ”he agrees.

 6,008 total views

Article sponsored by:


About author

1 comment

Post a new comment

%d bloggers like this page:

Ordures ménagères, VHU, tri : la nouvelle politique de gestion des déchets de la COM (suite et fin)

1
blank

Que pouvons-nous faire de plus pour que l’île paraisse plus propre ? Le président de la collectivité et la conseillère territoriale en charge de l’environnement se posent cette question. Sans avoir de réponse.

«La Collectivité ne peut intervenir que sur la voie publique», rappelle Pascale Laborde qui a par ailleurs géré le renouvellement des bacs-poubelles ordures ménagères. Plus de 3 000 bacs ont été distribués dans tous les quartiers.

«Ce sont des bacs collectifs et non plus individuels. Un marché est également en vigueur pour leur nettoyage et entretien, une à deux fois par mois selon les quartiers et les besoins, précise-t-elle. Et de marteler : «Seuls les déchets ménagers sont acceptés dans les bacs collectifs.» «Si on met par exemple du métal, de la ferraille, cela risque d’endommager les équipements des camions au moment du broyage», explique Daniel Gibbs.

Les encombrants doivent être posés à côté et les déchets recyclables jetés dans les bornes de tri. Un nouveau marché relatif au tri sélectif est en cours. 200 nouvelles bornes doivent être installées d’ici à la fin de l’année. Le vidage des bornes a repris, il est effectué deux fois par mois.

De plus, les deux élus annoncent que des corbeilles de propreté d’une capacité de 50 litres, seront installées sur l’ensemble du territoire à partir du mois d’octobre prochain afin que les piétons et autres usagers puissent jeter leurs déchets dans ces poubelles et non plus par terre dans les rues.

Enfin, la collectivité est en train de créer une nouvelle direction de l’Environnement, de l’Eau et de l’Energie dans le cadre de sa réorganisation administrative. «Le recrutement du directeur est en cours. Il va permettre de dimensionner ce service public avec une véritable politique environnementale et une police de l’environnement renforcée car il est désormais nécessaire de passer la vitesse supérieure : sensibiliser oui mais aussi sanctionner les atteintes à l’environnement », déclare le président de la COM. «Sur une petite île touristique comme Saint-Martin, l’environnement doit être au cœur des préoccupations de tous. C’est là toute l’essence du travail de réorganisation que nous menons au sein de la Collectivité. La protection de notre bien commun est l’affaire de tous ! Chacun a son rôle à jouer, ne l’oublions pas », convient-il.

blank

Article sponsorisé par:


blank

1 commentaire

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

Laisser un commentaire

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT