KITESURFING: Nice performance by young Saint-Martin, Théo Demanez!

0

Stapless Kitesurf (World's Championships)

From June 29 to July 3, the first stage of the Stapless Kitesurf World Championship took place at the Tarifa spot in Spain. 

Four registered Frenchmen had to qualify to have their entry card to the competition, including Théo Demanez, the young Saint-Martin. It was for him his first competition in strapless (kitesurf with a surfboard). Upgraded to participate in the Pro Tour with adults (with his compatriot Camille Delannoy, 17 years old), Théo qualified to participate in the competition. Théo finishes 6 th in the qualifications and wins his entry ticket for the main event. On the second day, the competition begins in single elimination with repechage. With a light wind, Théo ensures well and continues the figures with his own style: fluid and slippery. The judges take into account technique, variety and general impression. Théo scores points and qualifies against a Briton. He then meets the Portuguese, Paolino Peireira, 5 times Champions of Portugal in the 8th final.

To win the rounds at this level, you have to send more aerial and risky figures. Théo tries new tricks during his heat but Paolino with his more powerful style climbs much higher and scores more points. Theo has defended himself well and poses all his figures but will lack amplitude in the jumps. It is true that the light wind conditions in Saint-Martin do not allow him to pass these figures here in Spain.

Théo ultimately ranks 12 th out of the 24 world championships, a satisfactory classification for a first international competition.

The last day was a big air, high jump and tricks competition. Théo participated with a wind of 40 knots. The show was performed in front of more than 2 spectators.

Théo will certainly take part in the next stage in the Canaries (Fuerteventura) in early August and thanks his partners: La Collectivité de Saint-Martin, Metimer, Wind adventures, Cabrinha, NP surf and Horue.  _AF

Join Théo on Facebook: Theodemanez or http://www.demanez.fr/wordpress/

 6,625 total views

About author

No comments

Saint Martin and the mourning world

Yesterday was a time for contemplation in front of the war memorial in Marigot. In the garden of the Hotel de la Collectivité, a tribute to the victims of ...
%d bloggers like this page:

KITESURF : Belle prestation du jeune saint-martinois, Théo Demanez !

0

Kitesurf Stapless (Championnats du monde)

Du 29 juin au 3 juillet derniers avait lieu la première étape du Championnat du Monde kitesurf stapless sur le spot de Tarifa, en Espagne. 

Quatre Français inscrits devaient se qualifier pour avoir leur carte d’entrée à la compétition, dont Théo Demanez, le jeune saint-martinois. C’etait pour lui sa première compétition en strapless (kitesurf avec une planche de surf). Surclassé pour participer au Pro Tour avec les adultes (avec sa compatriote Camille Delannoy, 17 ans), Théo s’est qualifié pour participer à la compétition. Théo termine 6 ème des qualifications et gagne son ticket d’entrée pour le main event. Le deuxième jour, la compétition commence en simple élimination avec repêchage. Avec un vent léger, Théo assure bien et enchaîne les figures avec son style qui lui est propre: fluide et glissé. Les juges prennent en compte la technique, la variété et l’impression générale. Théo marque des points et se qualifie face à un Britannique. Il rencontre ensuite le Portugais, Paolino Peireira, 5 fois Champions du Portugal en 8 ème de finale.

Pour gagner les manches à ce niveau, il faut envoyer des figures plus aériennes et plus risquées. Théo  essaye de nouvelles figures durant son heat mais Paolino avec son style plus puissant monte beaucoup plus haut et marque plus de points. Theo s’est bien défendu et pose toutes ses figures mais manquera d’amplitude dans les sauts. Il est vrai que les conditions de vent léger à Saint-Martin ne lui permettent pas de passer ces figures ici en Espagne.

Théo se classe au final 12 ème sur les 24 mondiaux , un classement satisfaisant pour une première compétition internationale.

Le dernier jour avait lieu un big air, concours de sauts en hauteur et de figures. Théo y participait avec un vent de 40 noeuds. Le spectacle était assuré devant plus de 2 500 spectateurs.

Théo partcipipera certainement à la prochaine étape aux Canaries (Fuerteventura) début août et remercie ses partenaires: La Collectivité de Saint-Martin, Metimer, Wind adventures, Cabrinha, NP surf et Horue.  _AF

Rejoignez Théo sur Facebook: Theodemanez ou  http://www.demanez.fr/wordpress/

 2,798 vues totales,  7 vues aujourd'hui

About author

No comments