JUSTICE: Two men accused of assisting in the transfer of illegal people

0

Last Sunday, VS drove eight people from the Dutch part to the beach of Anse des Pères in French part, where SH is also located. The latter makes signals with a lamp to a boat.

The eight people, including three children, originally from Albania, Venezuela and India, arrived on the island via Juliana airport and are clandestine. They must return to the virgin islands. They are the victims of human trafficking, which is being investigated by the Sint Maarten police. It contacted its counterparts on the French side.

The beach of Anse des Pères was thus placed under surveillance by border police officers (PAF) who arrested VS and SH in the act on Sunday. The two individuals were taken into custody and then in pre-trial detention before being presented to the local court of Saint-Martin on Wednesday morning. VS and SH are prosecuted for assistance with the entry, movement or illegal stay of foreigners in France.

VS is a 31-year-old Haitian national. He arrived on the island in 2008 but never had a residence permit. He justified having agreed to drive people underground to “earn money”, in this case 400 euros.

SH, 56, is from the Dominican Republic. He is domiciled in part Dutch with his partner and is the holder of a resident card in St Maarten. He was previously involved in a human trafficking case in 2016 but was cleared for lack of evidence.

As the law allows them, the two individuals requested time to prepare their defense and did not agree to be tried in an immediate appearance. The time limit has been granted to them as of right; their trial is postponed to December 4 in Saint-Martin.

The court nevertheless had to rule on their legal situation. The prosecutor requested that they be kept in pre-trial detention in order to be sure that they represent themselves in court. After deliberation, the court chose to place VS and SH under judicial review. The two men must report every day to the border police (PAF) and fix their residence in the French part until December 4. They also had to surrender their passports to the PAF. (soualigapost.com)

 5,750 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

JUSTICE : Deux hommes accusés d’avoir aidé au transfert de personnes clandestines

0
blank

Dimanche dernier, VS conduit huit personnes de la partie hollandaise sur la plage de l’Anse des Pères en partie française, où se trouve aussi SH. Ce dernier fait des signaux avec une lampe à un bateau.

Les huit personnes dont trois enfants et originaires notamment d’Albanie, Venezuela et d’Inde, sont arrivées sur l’île via l’aéroport Juliana et sont clandestines. Elles doivent regagner les îles vierges. Elles sont les victimes d’un trafic d’être humains, qui fait l’objet d’une enquête par la police de Sint Maarten. Celle-ci a pris contact avec ses homologues de la partie française.

La plage de l’Anse des Pères a ainsi été mise sous surveillance par les agents de la police aux frontières (PAF) qui ont interpellé en flagrant délit VS et SH dimanche. Les deux individus ont été placés en garde à vue puis en détention provisoire avant d’être présentés devant le tribunal de proximité de Saint-Martin mercredi matin. VS et SH sont poursuivis pour aide à l’entrée, à la circulation ou au séjour irrégulier d’étranger en France.

VS est un ressortissant d’Haïti âgé de 31 ans. Il est arrivé sur l’île en 2008 mais n’a jamais eu de titre de séjour. Il a justifié avoir accepté de conduire les personnes clandestines pour «gagner de l’argent», en l’occurrence 400 euros.

SH, 56 ans, est originaire de République dominicaine. Il est domicilié en partie hollandaise avec sa compagne et est titulaire d’une carte de résident à St Maarten. Il a déjà été impliqué dans une affaire de trafic d’être humains en 2016 mais a été blanchi faute de preuve.

Comme la loi le leur permet, les deux individus ont demandé un délai pour préparer leur défense et n’ont pas accepté d’être jugés en comparution immédiate. Le délai leur a été accordé de droit ; leur procès est renvoyé au 4 décembre à Saint-Martin.

Le tribunal a dû néanmoins statuer sur leur situation judiciaire. Le procureur a demandé leur maintien en détention provisoire afin d’être sûr qu’ils se représentent devant la justice. Après en avoir délibéré, le tribunal a choisi de placer VS et SH sous contrôle judiciaire. Les deux hommes doivent pointer tous les jours à la police aux frontière (PAF) et fixer leur résidence en partie française jusqu’au 4 décembre. Ils ont aussi dû remettre leur passeport à la PAF. (soualigapost.com)

blank

Article sponsorisé par:

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT