Optical fiber: understanding your installation in Saint-Martin (Continuation and end)

0

After the passage of Irma, it was decided that the territory of Saint-Martin was going to be fiber, it will be the first in France to be entirely. In the beginning, only Orange as a network operator was announced to carry out this project. Today other operators are positioning themselves like Dauphin Telecom and THD Tel. How should they organize themselves? In the end how will the fiber be installed? Are operators the only actors concerned? Response elements.

• Who is installing the fiber?

- Network on public roads

It is installed by private companies called operators. Saint-Martin has three main ones: Orange (incumbent network operator), Dauphin Telecom and THD Tel. They are free to install their own fiber network on the territory. If after the passage of Irma, Orange as a network operator had been designated from the outset to fiberize the territory, Dauphin Telecom and THD Tel have since positioned themselves. THD Tel has announced that it has started installing its network in the Nettle Bay area.

Dauphin Telecom for its part announces that it has soon finished fiberizing Bellevue, La Savane and Orient Bay. The operator would ultimately like to have covered the areas of Cul de Sac, Anse Marcel, Baie Orientale, Grand Case, Rambaud, Friar's Bay, Marigot, Bellevue and Nettle Bay.

As for Orange, it announced that it will have fiberized Quartier d'Orléans by the end of the year. He also wants to position himself in other areas like Marigot and Concordia.

In order to make profitable and amortize these very expensive investments, the interest for the operators is to share the zones.

- Network from the pooling point

This network must be deployed by a building operator. In Saint-Martin, there are two, Dauphin Telecom and THD Tel, according to the list established by Arcep.

This operator must therefore take the fiber from the entrance of the building / residence to each house / apartment. It then has the duty to make its network available to so-called commercial operators who offer Internet access. This means that if the fiber has been installed by Dauphin, the individual can take out a subscription with Orange or THD Tel. The choice of the building operator belongs to the co-ownership; it must be approved at a general meeting and must be the subject of an agreement. The two main selection criteria being cost and completion time.

• What is the limit of the role of the operator?

The French part of the island will be fully fiberized by 2020, the date announced after Irma. On the condition that the civil engineering works on the public highway which will disrupt automobile traffic, are carried out on time.

When optical fiber is thus installed on public roads, this does not mean that all individuals and commercial / craft areas will be able to benefit from it. Indeed, it should be understood that the announced objective is to bring fiber to the points of mutualization. Then it is up to the co-owners and associations managing the private subdivisions to have it transported within their perimeter. If they do not designate any building operator to do so, no operator will install it beyond the famous pooling point. (More details on www.soualigapost.com)

 6,915 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Fibre optique : comprendre son installation à Saint-Martin (Suite et fin)

0

Après le passage d’Irma, il a été décidé que le territoire de Saint-Martin allait être fibré, ce sera le premier de France à l’être entièrement. Au début, seul Orange en tant qu’opérateur de réseau était annoncé pour réaliser ce chantier. Aujourd’hui d’autres opérateurs se positionnent comme Dauphin Telecom et THD Tel. Comment doivent-ils s’organiser ? Au final comment la fibre va-t-elle être installée ? Les opérateurs sont-ils les seuls acteurs concernés ? Eléments de réponse.

• Qui est installe la fibre ?

– Réseau sur la voie publique

Il est installé par des sociétés privées dites opérateurs. Saint-Martin en compte trois principaux : Orange (opérateur de réseau historique), Dauphin Telecom et THD Tel. Ils sont libres d’installer leur propre réseau de fibre sur le territoire. Si au lendemain du passage d’Irma, Orange en tant qu’opérateur de réseau avait été désigné d’emblée pour fibrer le territoire, Dauphin Telecom et THD Tel se sont depuis positionnés. THD Tel a annoncé avoir débuté l’installation de son réseau dans la zone de la Baie Nettlé.

Dauphin Telecom annonce de son côté avoir bientôt terminé de fibrer Bellevue, La Savane et la Baie orientale. L’opérateur aimerait à terme avoir couvert les zones de Cul de Sac, Anse Marcel, Baie orientale, Grand Case, Rambaud, Friar’s Bay, Marigot, Bellevue et la Baie Nettle.

Quant à Orange, il a annoncé qu’il aura fibré Quartier d’Orléans d’ici à la fin de l’année. Il veut aussi se positionner sur d’autres zones comme Marigot et Concordia.

Afin de rentabiliser et d’amortir ces investissements très coûteux, l’intérêt pour les opérateurs est de se partager les zones.

– Réseau à partir du point de mutualisation

Ce réseau doit être obligatoirement déployé par un opérateur d’immeuble. A Saint-Martin, il en existe deux, Dauphin Telecom et THD Tel, selon la liste établie par l’Arcep.

Cet opérateur doit donc emmener la fibre de l’entrée de l’immeuble/résidence jusque dans chaque maison/appartement. Il a le devoir ensuite de mettre à disposition son réseau aux opérateurs dits commerciaux qui proposent l’accès à internet. C’est-à-dire que si la fibre a été installée par Dauphin, le particulier peut souscrire un abonnement chez Orange ou THD Tel. Le choix de l’opérateur d’immeuble appartient à la copropriété ; il doit être validé en assemblée générale et doit faire l’objet d’une convention. Les deux principaux critères de sélection étant le coût et le délai de réalisation.

• Quelle est la limite du rôle de l’opérateur ?

La partie française de l’île sera entièrement fibrée d’ici 2020, date annoncée après Irma. A la condition que les travaux de génie civil sur la voie publique qui vont perturber la circulation automobile, soient effectués dans les temps.

Lorsque la fibre optique sera ainsi installée au niveau des voies publiques, cela ne veut pas dire que tous les particuliers et zones commerciales/artisanales pourront en bénéficier. En effet, il faut bien comprendre que l’objectif annoncé est d’apporter la fibre jusqu’aux points de mutualisation. Ensuite il appartient aux copropriétaires et associations gérant les lotissements privés de la faire acheminer dans leur périmètre. S’ils ne désignent aucun opérateur d’immeuble pour le faire, aucun opérateur ne l’installera au delà du fameux point de mutualisation. (Plus de détails sur www.soualigapost.com)

Loading

About author

No comments