CARIBBEAN / Dominica: Sylvanie Burton elected president today

0

On Wednesday August 30, 2023, the Prime Minister of Dominica, Roosevelt Skerrit, announced the choice to nominate Sylvanie Burton for the position of President of the Republic during the Kalinago economic summit.

Sylvanie Burton, candidate for the presidency of Dominica selected by the Prime Minister, herself belongs to the Kalinago community, the first inhabitants of the Antilles. The announcement of his election during the Kalinago economic summit was therefore particularly historic. According to the Prime Minister, we should not “underestimate” the magnitude of the symbol of having a Kalinago person at the head of the country and a woman to boot. Sylvanie Burton will become the first Kalinago President in the history of Dominica and the first female President. For him, Sylvanie Burton embodies an “exciting time for indigenous peoples around the world”.

Thus, he believes that the eyes of the whole world will be fixed on Dominica this Wednesday, September 27, 2023 when Parliament officially elects the new president of the country. Aged 58, married and mother of two children, Sylvanie Burton has been a civil servant since 2014. During her career and with an impeccable reputation for her work and ethics, she has already led services in three ministries , Foreign Affairs, Trade and Youth. Possessing a master's degree in management and a bachelor's degree in rural development, the future president of Dominica currently serves as Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Environment, Rural Modernization, Kalinago Affairs and Constituency Empowerment. Originally from Salybia, she grew up in the Kalinagos territory located on the Atlantic coast of Dominica. This September 27, 2023, Sylvanie Burton becomes the first female head of state of Dominica. _VX

 975 total views

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

Gendarmerie press release

With the resurgence of the Covid epidemic and its variant Omicron in multiple countries, and considering the influx of tourists to the island, it is necessary to redouble ...
%d bloggers like this page:

CARAÏBE / Dominique : Sylvanie Burton élue présidente aujourd’hui

0

Le mercredi 30 août 2023, le Premier Ministre de la Dominique, Roosevelt Skerrit, annonçait le choix de nommer Sylvanie Burton pour le poste de Présidente de la République lors du sommet économique Kalinago.

Sylvanie Burton, candidate à la présidence de la Dominique sélectionnée par le Premier Ministre, appartient elle-même à la communauté Kalinago, les premiers habitants des Antilles. L’annonce de son élection pendant le sommet économique Kalinago fut donc particulièrement historique. Selon le Premier ministre, il ne faut pas « sous-estimer » l’ampleur du symbole d’avoir une personne Kalinago à la tête du pays et une femme de surcroit. Sylvanie Burton deviendra le première présidente Kalinago de l’histoire de la Dominique et la première femme présidente. Pour lui, Sylvanie Burton incarne une « période passionnante pour les peuples autochtones du monde entier ».

Ainsi, il estime que les yeux du monde entier auront les yeux rivés sur la Dominique ce mercredi 27 septembre 2023 lorsque le Parlement élira officiellement la nouvelle présidente du pays. Âgée de 58 ans, mariée et mère de deux enfants, Sylvanie Burton est fonctionnaire d’État depuis 2014. Au cours de sa carrière et forte d’une réputation impeccable concernant son travail et son éthique, elle a déjà dirigé les services dans trois ministères, les Affaires Étrangères, le Commerce et la Jeunesse. Possédant un master en gestion et une licence en développement rural, la future présidente de la Dominique occupe actuellement le poste de secrétaire permanente au ministère de l’Environnement, de la Modernisation rurale, des affaires Kalinago et de l’autonomisation des circonscriptions. Originaire de Salybia, elle a grandi dans le territoire des Kalinagos situé sur la côte Atlantique de la Dominique. Ce 27 septembre 2023, Sylvanie Burton devient la première femme cheffe d’État de la Dominique. _Vx

 2,151 vues totales

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :