Status of overseas territories: the debate will continue in the Senate

0

Two years ago, the senatorial delegation for Overseas France under the presidency of Michel Magras produced a report on territorial differentiation around the famous articles 73 and 74 which govern overseas territories. Are these items suitable? Should they be changed? The first exchanges had taken place.

The former senator of Saint-Barthélemy had in particular expressed the possibility of a new single article of the Constitution which would take into account the notion of the specific interest of each community and a new organic law which would establish a differentiation overseas, territory by territory. This reflection on the future of the status of overseas territories within the French Constitution will continue this year. In October, the senatorial delegation will indeed begin a new cycle of hearings with the political leaders of each overseas territory. The objective will be to "give an overview of the wishes for institutional changes and to mature the reflection on a revision of the constitutional provisions relating to the Overseas Territories". These exchanges should "make it possible to translate into legal terms the demands expressed by several presidents of the region, department or community for more local responsibilities, even autonomy for the Overseas Territories which so desire".

The senatorial delegation wants to propose measures so that “overseas communities can have an organization and standards that meet their realities, while remaining within the framework of the Republic”.

Prior to this work, the delegation published another report in July which brings together its exchanges with the Association of Overseas Lawyers (AJDOM) at the end of June. Regarding Saint-Martin, it was noted “a confused delimitation of competences, and a relationship with the Dutch part to be rebalanced”. It is also recalled that the president of the COM, Louis Mussington, signed the appeal of Fort de France last May "requesting a profound change in the overseas policy of the State".

(soualigapost.com) 

 655 total views, 4 views today

source:

Soualiga Post: http://www.soualigapost.com/fr

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

Statut des Outre-mer : le débat va se poursuivre au Sénat

0

Il y a deux ans, la délégation sénatoriale de l’Outre-mer sous la présidence de Michel Magras avait réalisé un rapport sur la différenciation territoriale autour des fameux articles 73 et 74 qui régissent les territoires ultramarins. Ces articles sont-ils adaptés ? Doivent-ils être modifiés ? Des premiers échanges avaient eu lieu.

L’ancien sénateur de Saint-Barthélemy avait notamment émis la possibilité d’un nouvel article unique de la Constitution qui prendrait en compte la notion d’intérêt propre de chaque collectivité et une nouvelle loi organique qui instaurerait une différenciation outre-mer, territoire par territoire. Cette réflexion sur l’avenir des statuts des territoires d’outre-mer au sein de la Constitution française va se poursuivre cette année. En octobre, la délégation sénatoriale entamera en effet un nouveau cycle d’auditions des responsables politiques de chaque territoire ultramarin. L’objectif sera de «faire un tour d’horizon des souhaits d’évolutions institutionnelles et de mûrir la réflexion sur une révision des dispositions constitutionnelles relatives à l’Outre-mer». Ces échanges devront «permettre de traduire juridiquement les revendications exprimées par plusieurs présidents de région, de département ou de collectivité pour plus de responsabilités locales, voire d’autonomie pour les Outre-mer qui le désirent ».

La délégation sénatoriale veut proposer des mesures afin que «les collectivités ultramarines puissent disposer d’une organisation et de normes qui répondent à leurs réalités, tout en restant dans le cadre de la République ».

En amont de ces travaux, la délégation a publié courant juillet un autre rapport qui rassemble ses échanges avec l’Association des juristes en droit des Outre-mer (AJDOM) fin juin. Concernant Saint-Martin, il a été constaté «une délimitation des compétences confuse, et une relation avec la partie néerlandaise à rééquilibrer ». Il est aussi rappelé que le président de la COM, Louis Mussington, a signé l’appel de Fort de France en mai dernier «demandant un changement profond de la politique outre-mer de l’Etat».

(soualigapost.com) 

 413 vues totales,  3 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Soualiga Post : http://www.soualigapost.com/fr

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT