Rescue: The SNSM of Saint-Martin on a mission for medical evacuation on a container ship!

0

On Friday November 8, around 12:30 p.m., the CROSS des Antilles-Guyane sends a first call to find out if a team of volunteer rescuers from the Saint-Martin sea rescue station would be available for a possible medical evacuation later in the afternoon.

An hour later, the CROSS specifies that it is a question of recovering a sick team member on board a container ship which is diverted towards the French waters of Saint-Martin; the vessel has a draft of more than 12 m and therefore cannot get too close to the island; a GPS meeting is given for 17:00 p.m. 5 nautical miles from the west coast of Terres Basses.

"Most of the time, when the station is called, it is in an emergency and we have to set off within 20 minutes of the call," said Anke ROOSENS, Deputy Patron Saint of SNSM Saint-Martin.

But this time, the SNSM has time to quietly build up a team of 5 available volunteer team members who meet at the station at 16:20 p.m.

In the process, the semi-rigid RESCUE STAR leaves Marina Fort Louis and is a quarter of an hour later in the area, next to the giant of the seas.

The ship, the MAERSK NESTON, is enormous; it is a 210-meter (700 ft.) container ship weighing almost 35 tonnes! Next to it, the 000m.12 (88ft) RESCUE STAR is tiny.

The mastodon is on its way to Colombia, from the south of Spain; one of the ship's crew is ill with breathing difficulties and the ship's captain does not want to risk his health deteriorating in the middle of nowhere;  hence the decision, after a conference call with the CROSS and a doctor, to land him in Saint-Martin.

The Rescue Star approaches the ship, strongly shaken by the eddy, because the MAERSK NESTON is advancing at 24 knots and it is necessary to come and stick to its starboard where a ladder has been lowered vertically to allow the patient to descend. A delicate maneuver at this speed!

Once the patient is on board, the Rescue Star takes off and begins to move away, when it is called back to come back to collect the luggage… New approach maneuver to collect 2 suitcases,  descended with a tip, one after the other. Finally, the Rescue Star separates for good and heads for Marigot, while the MAERSK NESTON resumes its road to Colombia. At 17:20 p.m., at the ferry quay, the patient is transferred to a SAMU team for treatment at the Marigot Hospital Center.

Ten minutes later, the Rescue Star and its crew returned to their base at the Fort Louis marina. End of operation. _AF

loading

About author

No comments

Sauvetage : La SNSM de Saint-Martin en mission pour une évacuation sanitaire sur un porte-conteneurs !

0

Le vendredi 8 novembre dernier, aux alentours de 12h30, le CROSS des Antilles-Guyane envoie un premier appel pour savoir si une équipe de sauveteurs bénévoles de la station de sauvetage en mer de Saint-Martin serait disponible pour une éventuelle évacuation sanitaire plus tard dans l’après-midi.

Une heure plus tard, le CROSS précise qu’il s’agit de récupérer un équipier malade à bord d’un porte-conteneurs qui se déroute vers les eaux françaises de Saint-Martin ; le navire a un tirant d’eau de plus de 12 m et ne peut donc pas trop s’approcher de l’île ; un rendez-vous GPS est donné pour 17h00 à 5 miles nautiques de la côte Ouest des Terres Basses.

« La plupart du temps, quand la station est appelée, c’est dans l’urgence et nous devons appareiller dans les 20 minutes suivant l’appel », précise Anke ROOSENS, Patronne Suppléante de la SNSM de Saint-Martin.

Mais cette fois-ci, la SNSM a le temps de constituer tranquillement une équipe de 5 équipiers bénévoles disponibles qui se donnent rendez-vous à la station à 16h20.

Dans la foulée, le semi-rigide RESCUE STAR quitte la Marina Fort Louis et se trouve un quart d’heure plus tard sur zone, aux cotés du géant des mers.

Le navire, le MAERSK NESTON, est énorme ; c’est un porte-conteneurs de 210 mètres (700 ft.) de presque 35 000 tonnes ! A côté, le RESCUE STAR de 12m.88 (43ft) est minuscule.

Le mastodonte est en route vers la Colombie, depuis le sud de l’Espagne ; un des équipiers du navire est malade avec des difficultés respiratoires et le Capitaine du navire ne veut pas prendre le risque que sa santé se détériore en plein milieu de nulle part ;  d’où la décision, après conférence téléphonique avec le CROSS et un médecin, de le débarquer à Saint-Martin.

La Rescue Star s’approche du navire, fortement secouée par le remous, car le MAERSK NESTON avance à 24 nœuds et il faut venir se coller à son tribord où une échelle a été descendue à la verticale pour permettre au malade de descendre. Une manœuvre délicate à cette vitesse !

Une fois le malade à son bord, la Rescue Star se décolle et commence à s’éloigner, quand elle est rappelée pour revenir récupérer les bagages… Nouvelle manœuvre d’approche pour récupérer 2 valises,  descendues avec un bout, l’une après l’autre. Enfin, la Rescue Star se sépare pour de bon et fait route vers Marigot, alors que le MAERSK NESTON reprend sa route vers la Colombie. A 17h20, au quai des ferries, le patient est transféré à une équipe du SAMU, pour une prise en charge au Centre Hospitalier de Marigot.

Dix minutes plus tard, la Rescue Star et ses équipiers sont de retour à leur base à la marina Fort Louis. Fin de l’opération. _AF

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT