Protection of cetaceans: a major consultation organized at SXM for the management of the Agoa Sanctuary

0

Last Thursday, April 28, the 3rd and last session of consultation workshops of the Agoa Sanctuary took place in Marigot. Thirteen representatives of cetacean protection actors from Saint-Martin and Saint-Barth responded to come and speak at round tables with the aim of formulating the next action strategy for the Agoa Sanctuary.

This privileged meeting is part of the development of the new management plan for the Agoa Sanctuary and puts an end to the series of consultation workshops conducted since March.

The Sanctuary has therefore organized days dedicated to consultation for the 4 islands of the French West Indies in order to hear the needs specific to each territory. The first took place in Martinique on Wednesday March 16 and the second in Guadeloupe on Friday March 18 in the presence of the entire Agoa technical team.

Last Thursday, many structures answered present to come and express themselves around round tables  organized in Marigot: nature protection associations, association of sea professionals, Collectivity of Saint-Martin, National Natural Reserves of Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy, Fisheries Committee of Saint-Barthélemy, Department of the Sea, DEAL, Ports of Marigot and Gustavia. Together, they were able to discuss the main pressures weighing on cetaceans and define the specific actions that they believe should be implemented by the Sanctuary to meet the major objectives of protecting marine mammals.

The technical team will now start a work of synthesis of the actions proposed on the different territories and will cross them with the scientific knowledge and the actions already in progress. The management plan can then be finalized, with a prioritized action plan for the next 15 years. It will not only take into account the species of cetaceans, but also the environmental and socio-economic context of all the territories of the Sanctuary (the four islands of the French West Indies and more broadly the whole of the Caribbean).

 

The Agoa Sanctuary for marine mammals in the French West Indies is a marine protected area created by declaration of France in 2010 and recognized under the SPAW protocol (Specially Protected Areas and Wildlife – protocol on specially protected areas and species) of the Convention of Cartagena in 2012. 

 

An immense marine space

With an area of ​​143 km², the Agoa Sanctuary is the second French marine protected area, just behind the Coral Sea Natural Park in New Caledonia. The Sanctuary covers the entire exclusive economic zone of the French West Indies, i.e. the waters of Martinique, Guadeloupe, Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy.

 795 total views, 7 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsored by:


No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

Rents: the State cannot regulate prices

In October, the interministerial delegate for reconstruction, Philippe Gustin, had indicated that the State would see if it was possible to regulate the prices of rents ...
English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

Protection des cétacés : une grande concertation organisée à SXM pour la gestion du Sanctuaire Agoa

0

Le jeudi 28 avril dernier a eu lieu à Marigot la 3ème et dernière session d’ateliers de concertation du Sanctuaire Agoa. Treize représentants des acteurs de la protection des cétacés de Saint-Martin et Saint-Barth ont répondu présent pour venir s’exprimer autour de tables rondes dans le but de formuler la prochaine stratégie d’action du Sanctuaire Agoa.

Cette rencontre privilégiée s’inscrit dans l’élaboration du nouveau plan de gestion du Sanctuaire Agoa et met fin à la série d’ateliers de concertation menée depuis mars.

Le Sanctuaire a donc organisé des journées dédiées à la concertation pour les 4 îles des Antilles françaises afin d’entendre les besoins propre à chaque territoire. La première a eu lieu en Martinique le mercredi 16 mars et la seconde en Guadeloupe le vendredi 18 mars en présence de toute l’équipe technique d’Agoa.

Jeudi dernier, de nombreuses structures ont répondu présent pour venir s’exprimer autour de tables rondes  organisées à Marigot : associations de protection de la nature, association des professionnels de la mer, Collectivité de Saint-Martin, Réserve nationales naturelles de Saint-Martin et de Saint-Barthélemy, Comité des pêches de Saint-Barthélemy, Direction de la mer, DEAL, Ports du Marigot et de Gustavia. Ensemble, ils ont pu discuter des principales pressions pesant sur les cétacés et définir les actions précises qu’ils estiment devoir être mises en place par le Sanctuaire pour répondre aux grands objectifs de protection des mammifères marins.

L’équipe technique va désormais débuter un travail de synthèse des actions proposées sur les différents territoires et les croisera avec les connaissances scientifiques et les actions déjà en cours. Le plan de gestion pourra alors être finalisé, avec un plan d’actions priorisées pour les 15 prochaines années. Il prendra non seulement en compte les espèces de cétacés, mais aussi le contexte environnemental et socio-économique de l’ensemble des territoires du Sanctuaire (les quatre îles des Antilles françaises et plus largement l’ensemble de la Caraïbe).

 

Le Sanctuaire Agoa pour les mammifères marins dans les Antilles françaises est une aire marine protégée créée par déclaration de la France en 2010 et reconnue au titre du protocole SPAW (Specially Protected Areas and Wildlife – protocole sur les aires et les espèces et spécialement protégées) de la convention de Carthagène en 2012. 

 

Un espace marin immense

Avec une superficie de 143 256 km², le Sanctuaire Agoa est la deuxième aire marine protégée française, juste derrière le Parc naturel de la mer de Corail, en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Le Sanctuaire couvre toute la zone économique exclusive des Antilles françaises, soit les eaux de la Martinique, la Guadeloupe, Saint-Martin et Saint-Barthélemy.

 754 vues totales,  4 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsorisé par :


Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT