Parents of Elie Gibs School Students Want to Be Heard with Ministers! 

0

About sixty people were present at the meeting last Friday concerning the chaotic situation at the Elie Gibs primary school, which hosts the nursery school, Ghislaine Rogers, still closed since the passage of Irma.

“Only the director of the CTOS who takes care of the extracurricular activities and the canteen had the courage to move. The absent in high places did not even deny responding to the invitation or being represented, it is a shame, "said a delegate of the parents of students.

The Director of CTOS is powerless, to put it simply: no extracurricular (lack of space) or canteen for the moment until the work has been done to secure the premises and welcome children in acceptable conditions. He has issued the possibility of rehabilitating the nursery canteen, maybe next month, but three problems arise:

• the capacity,

• furniture that will not be suitable for primary school this time,

• the transition from primary to kindergarten.

So many frustrations of the parents of the students and the teaching staff at the end of this meeting because no answer as for the future of the Elie Gibs primary schools and Ghislaine Rogers nursery school for the 2018/2019 school year were brought by the responsible authorities.

An event planned for the community!

This Monday, March 5, Elie Gibs Elementary School will be blocked at the entrance and a banner will invite all those who wish to join the demonstration. The meeting is scheduled at 7 am in front of the community to demonstrate, hoping that the movement will arouse the interest of all concerned.

Daniel Gibbs' response to the open letter:

"I acknowledge receipt of your open letter to which I will respond point by point. I know that the post Irma situation is particularly difficult for the schools in Grand Case, for the young pupils, their parents and the teaching staff. I am the first concerned. As you know, our schools were badly damaged by the hurricane and their rehabilitation is directly linked to the means that the State will grant to Saint-Martin for reconstruction. We will be fixed on these means by the end of March. It is a long process to which we too are subjected.

Rest assured that this is a priority concern for the Community and we are doing everything to respond to it as best as possible of the situation and the resources allocated.

I am working on this file to find solutions with my Vice-President in charge of Education, Annick Pétrus. We will get back to you as soon as possible ”. _AF

loading

About author

No comments

Les parents d’élèves de l’école Elie Gibs veulent se faire entendre auprès des ministres ! 

0

Environ soixante personnes étaient présentes à la réunion de vendredi dernier concernant la situation chaotique à l’école primaire Elie Gibs, qui héberge l’école maternelle, Ghislaine Rogers, toujours fermée depuis le passage d’Irma.

« Seul le directeur du CTOS qui s’occupe du périscolaire et de la cantine a eu le courage de se déplacer. Les absents en haut lieu n’ont même pas dénié répondre à l’invitation ou se faire représenter, c’est une honte », précise une déléguée des parents d’élèves.

Le Directeur du CTOS est impuissant, pour faire simple : pas de périscolaire (manque de place) ni de cantine pour le moment tant que les travaux n’auront pas été réalisés pour sécuriser les lieux et accueillir les enfants dans des conditions acceptables. Il a émis la possibilité de réhabiliter la cantine de la maternelle, peut être le mois prochain, mais trois problèmes se posent :

• la capacité,

• le mobilier qui ne sera pas adapté au primaire cette fois-ci,

• la transition entre les primaires et les maternelles.

Donc beaucoup de frustrations des parents d’élèves et du corps enseignant à la fin de cette réunion car aucune réponse quant au devenir des écoles primaires Elie Gibs et maternelle Ghislaine Rogers pour la rentrée 2018/2019 n’ont été apportées par les autorités responsables.

Une manifestation prévue à la collectivité !

Ce lundi 5 mars, l’école primaire Elie Gibs sera bloquée à l’entrée et une banderole invitera toutes celles et ceux qui le souhaitent à rejoindre la manifestation. Le rendez-vous est prévu à 7 heures du matin devant la collectivité pour manifester en espérant que le mouvement suscitera l’intérêt de l’ensemble des personnes concernées.

La réponse de Daniel Gibbs à la lettre ouverte :

« J’accuse réception de votre lettre ouverte à laquelle je répondrai point par point. Je sais que la situation post Irma est particulièrement difficile pour les écoles de Grand Case, pour les petits élèves, leurs parents et le corps enseignant. J’en suis le premier concerné. Comme vous le savez, nos écoles ont été fortement endommagées par l’ouragan et leur remise en état est directement liée aux moyens que l’Etat octroiera à Saint-Martin pour la reconstruction. Nous serons fixés sur ces moyens d’ici la fin mars. C’est un long processus auquel nous sommes nous aussi soumis.

Soyez assuré que c’est une préoccupation prioritaire pour la Collectivité et nous mettons tout en œuvre pour y répondre au mieux de la situation et des moyens impartis.

Je travaille sur ce dossier pour trouver des solutions avec ma vice-présidente en charge de l’Education, Annick Pétrus. Nous reviendrons vers vous dans les meilleurs délais ». _AF

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT