Golf: Mattieu Pavon, 21st in the world, in Japan this week

0

The European professional circuit DP world Tour travels this week to the foot of the famous Fujiyama near Tokyo. Out of 156 professional players entered, 12 French will be on the trip including the head seed Matthieu Pavon the “Frenchie” who the golf world is talking a lot about at the moment.

This 31-year-old native of Toulouse, son of late 90s footballer Michel Pavon, won his place for the 2024 season on the American “PGA TOUR” circuit, the highest level of professional golf.

And against all odds he only waited 3 tournaments to win his first title, the Farmers Insurance Open last January.

A historic performance for French golf since no one before him had won on the US circuit since its creation in 1929.

Matthieu is now ranked 21st in the world thanks to this performance and other good results this year.

He nevertheless decided to play a few tournaments in 2024 on the European circuit of which he remains a member.

Sunday evening after finishing 49th at the prestigious RBC Heritage in South Carolina, he made a long trip to Japan to compete in the ISPS HANDA championship, of which he is one of the recent ambassadors.

Will the one who will most likely represent France this summer at the Olympic Games (golf has been a new discipline in recent years) be able to perform after a 15-hour flight and especially a 13-hour time difference?

Answer tomorrow for a departure at 7:00 a.m. (20:00 p.m. this evening St. Martin's time) in the company of ex-prodigy Mattéo Manassero and Japanese Keita Nakajima on the magnificent Gotemba course at the foot of Mount Fuji.

Another Frenchman in good shape to follow this evening at 20:10 p.m., Romain Langasque, 5th during the last tournament at the end of March and who won the ISPS HANDA in Scotland in 2020.

Leaderboard on: https://www.europeantour.com

 

What is ISPS Handa?

The non-profit International Sports Promotion Society was founded in Japan in 2006 by Dr. Haruhisa Handa to develop the “transformative” power of sport around the world.

ISPS HANDA funds and promotes sporting events in archery, football, rugby, boxing, golf, polo, rowing, bowling and swimming, putting the emphasis on golf for those who do not have 100% of their physical capacity. “We use the power of sport to help change lives. Sport has the unique ability to create hope, break down educational and cultural barriers, and inspire people in a way that can unite communities around the world. It's my life's work and that's why I organize so many competitions. I will always help promote golf for the disabled and the blind. I'm getting older, but thanks to golf, I feel like I'm getting younger." Dr. Handa.

 

Thought for the day 

“Sport has the power to change the world. It has the power to inspire. It has the power to unite people like few other things do. Sport can create hope where there was only despair…” _Nelson Mandela

 449 total views

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Golf : Mattieu Pavon, 21e mondial, au Japon cette semaine

0

Le circuit professionnel européen DP world Tour se déplace cette semaine au pied du célèbre Fujiyama près de Tokyo. Sur 156 joueurs professionnels engagés, 12 français seront du voyage dont la tête de série Matthieu Pavon le «frenchie» dont la planète golf parle beaucoup en ce moment.

Ce natif de Toulouse de 31 ans, fils du footballeur de la fin des années 90, Michel Pavon, a gagné sa place pour la saison 2024 sur le circuit américain «PGA TOUR» le plus haut niveau du golf professionnel.

Et contre toute attente il n’a attendu que 3 tournois seulement pour remporter son premier titre, le Farmers Insurance Open en janvier dernier.

Une performance historique pour le golf français puisque personne avant lui n’avait gagné sur le circuit US depuis sa création en 1929.

Matthieu est désormais au 21ème rang mondial grâce à cette performance et d’autres bons résultats cette année.

Il a décidé néanmoins de jouer quelques tournois en 2024 sur le circuit européen dont il reste membre.

Dimanche soir après avoir terminé 49e au prestigieux RBC Heritage en Caroline du Sud, il a fait un long voyage pour se rendre au Japon afin de disputer le championnat ISPS HANDA, dont il est un des récents ambassadeurs.

Celui qui représentera très probablement la France cet été aux jeux olympiques (le golf est une nouvelle discipline depuis quelques années) pourra t-il performer après 15 heures de vol et surtout 13 heures de décalage horaire ?

Réponse dès demain pour un départ à 7h00 (20h00, ce soir heure de St-Martin) en compagnie de l’ex-prodige Mattéo Manassero et du japonais Keita Nakajima sur le magnifique parcours de Gotemba au pied du mont Fuji.

Autre français en forme à suivre dès ce soir à 20h10, Romain Langasque, 5ème lors du dernier tournoi fin mars et qui a gagné le ISPS HANDA en Ecosse en 2020.

Leaderboard sur : https://www.europeantour.com

 

Qu’est ce que l’ISPS Handa?

L’association à but non lucratif International Sports Promotion Society a été fondée au Japon en 2006 par le Dr Haruhisa Handa pour développer le pouvoir «transformateur» du sport dans le monde entier.

ISPS HANDA finance et promeut des événements sportifs dans les domaines du tir à l’arc, du football, du rugby, de la boxe, du golf, du polo, de l’aviron, du bowling et de la natation, en mettant l’accent sur le golf pour ceux qui n’ont pas 100% de leur capacité physique. «Nous utilisons le pouvoir du sport pour aider à changer des vies. Le sport a la capacité unique de créer de l’espoir, de faire tomber les barrières éducatives et culturelles et d’inspirer les gens d’une manière qui peut unir les communautés du monde entier. C’est le travail de ma vie et c’est pourquoi j’organise autant de compétitions. Je contribuerai toujours à promouvoir le golf pour les handicapés et pour les non-voyants. Je vieillis, mais grâce au golf, j’ai l’impression de rajeunir.» Dr Handa.

 

La pensée du jour 

«Le sport a le pouvoir de changer le monde. Il a le pouvoir d’inspirer. Il a le pouvoir d’unir les gens comme peu d’autres choses le font. Le sport peut créer de l’espoir là où il n’y avait que du désespoir…» _Nelson Mandela

 694 vues totales

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :