Festival of Endemic Animals: Hundreds of people discovered the Fauna of Saint-Martin

0

Nearly 300 people discovered the animals that live only on Saint-Martin during the fifth annual Festival of Endemic Animals. They were welcomed by more than 30 volunteers and experts sharing various subjects such as nature in the island's literature, sharks, iguanas, native plants and animals, stone walls and local building traditions. The event was organized by the association Les Fruits de Mer at the Amuseum Naturalis at The Old House in Quartier d'Orléans.

"We were delighted to see so many people having fun and discovering the unique animals of this island!" Said Jenn Yerkes, President of the association Les Fruits de Mer. "It was our first public event at the Amuseum Naturalis at The Old House.

We are working with the community to make this place a space where many voices share what is special about St. Martin. We were therefore very pleased to invite local experts. They used this year's theme - Made Here - to connect local wildlife with many other parts of the local heritage. ”

Local experts shared on seven fascinating topics at this year's festival. Tadzio Bervoets and the St. Maarten Nature Foundation presented the island's sharks. Author and publisher Lasana M. Sekou prepared selections of local poetry and writing on nature for the exhibition. Christophe Henocq has highlighted historic stone walls as a unique habitat for plants and animals. Laura Bijnsdorp and EPIC presented how local plants help protect the island. Bird specialist Binkie van Es led fun activities for the Caribbean Bird Detective program. The Anguilla National Trust shared its work to save rare iguanas on Anguilla, which have disappeared from St. Martin. Mark Yokoyama highlighted the endemic animals of St. Martin.

Children and adults alike enjoyed several arts and crafts on the animal theme, including making iguana masks and painting bags of wildlife. Participants also discovered Plantilles, the heritage plant program that starts on the grounds of the Amuseum Naturalis. The project includes community gardens, a nursery of native plants and a garden of herbal tea ("bush tea").

This year's festival was the first opportunity in several years for the public to see the historic The Old House in the Orleans district. It will be the new home of the free nature museum Amuseum Naturalis, which moves after two years to Grand Case. More than 100 volunteers have helped prepare the property since the start of the year. Les Fruits de Mer regularly hosts weekend volunteer events and invites everyone to get involved. The association hopes to revive the museum itself later this year.

loading

About author

No comments

Festival des Animaux Endémiques : Des centaines de personnes ont découvert la Faune de Saint-Martin

0

Près de 300 personnes ont découvert les animaux qui ne vivent que sur Saint- Martin lors du cinquième annuel Festival des Animaux Endémiques. Ils ont été accueillis par plus de 30 bénévoles et experts partageant des sujets divers tels que la nature dans la littérature de l’île, les requins, les iguanes, les plantes et animaux indigènes, les murets en pierre et les traditions de construction locales. L’événement a été organisé par l’association Les Fruits de Mer à l’Amuseum Naturalis à The Old House à Quartier d’Orléans.

«Nous étions ravis de voir autant de gens s’amuser et découvrir les animaux uniques de cette île !», a déclaré Jenn Yerkes, la Présidente de l’association Les Fruits de Mer. «C’était notre premier événement public à l’Amuseum Naturalis à The Old House.

Nous travaillons avec la communauté pour faire de cet endroit un espace où de nombreuses voix partagent ce qui est spécial à propos de St. Martin. Nous étions donc très heureux d’inviter des experts locaux. Ils ont utilisé le thème de cette année – Fait Ici– pour relier la faune locale à de nombreuses autres parties du patrimoine local.»

Des experts locaux ont partagé sur sept sujets fascinants au festival de cette année. Tadzio Bervoets et la St. Maarten Nature Foundation ont présenté les requins de l’île. L’auteur et éditeur Lasana M. Sekou a préparé des sélections de poésie et écriture locales sur la nature pour l’exposition. Christophe Henocq a mis en évidence les murets en pierres historiques comme un habitat unique pour les plantes et les animaux. Laura Bijnsdorp et EPIC ont présenté comment les plantes locales aident à protéger l’île. Le spécialiste des oiseaux Binkie van Es a dirigé des activités ludiques du programme Détective des Oiseaux des Caraïbes. Le Anguilla National Trust a partagé son travail pour sauver des iguanes rares sur Anguilla, qui ont disparu de St. Martin. Mark Yokoyama a mis en valeur les animaux endémiques de St. Martin.

Les enfants et les adultes ont apprécié plusieurs activités artistiques et artisanales sur le thème des animaux, y compris la fabrication de masques d’iguanes et la peinture des sacs de la faune. Les participants ont aussi découvert Plantilles, le programme de plantes du patrimoine qui démarre sur le terrain de l’Amuseum Naturalis. Le projet comprend des jardins communautaires, une pépinière de plantes indigènes et un jardin de plantes à tisanes («bush tea»).

Le festival de cette année était la première opportunité depuis plusieurs années pour le public de voir l’historique The Old House dans le quartier d’Orleans. Ce sera la nouvelle maison du musée de la nature gratuit Amuseum Naturalis, qui déménage après deux ans à Grand Case. Plus de 100 bénévoles ont aidé à préparer la propriété depuis le début de l’année. Les Fruits de Mer accueille régulièrement des événements de bénévolat le week-end et invite tous à s’impliquer. L’association espère relancer le musée lui-même plus tard cette année.

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT