BIODIVERSITY: Closing meeting this Friday evening of the LIFE BIODIV'OM Mérous project

0

The Association managing the Saint-Martin National Nature Reserve (AGRNSM), as part of the LIFE BIODIV'OM project, informs and mobilizes citizens for the conservation of marine biodiversity and two species of groupers in particular.

It will welcome the public to its premises at Hope Estate, this Friday April 12 at 17:30 p.m. with a presentation of the giant groupers and Nassau groupers of Saint-Martin, their particularities, threats and protection issues, including scientific monitoring including the contribution citizens.

Giant groupers and Nassau groupers under threat

In decline in the region for several decades, the populations of giant groupers and Nassau groupers are in danger. However, as large predators, these fish play a major role in ecosystems and have several essential functions in the food chain. Indicators of good environmental health, they are today threatened by unreasonable harvesting, the degradation of their habitats and pollution. This is why the LIFE BIODIV'OM project targeted these two species for the actions implemented in Saint-Martin, of which AGRNSM is the coordinator.

Discover, continue and support AGRNSM’s actions for targeted groupers

This Friday, April 12, from 17:30 p.m. to 19:30 p.m. come discover and if you wish, contribute to the continuation of the actions implemented in Saint-Martin: fish that change sex, that migrate and come together in their thousands, that grunt... but which are threatened, hence the need for your contribution to the participatory network “The eyes of the groupers”, and to the Wildlife portal. Come and learn about the results of scientific monitoring using new techniques, consultation of stakeholders and communication tools developed. And we will end with a little refreshment. Free admission. Limited places.

This meeting will also be an opportunity to highlight the ReCorEA Saint-Martin project (supported by the OFB, Atout France and the VEOLIA Foundation), aimed at preserving the essential habitats of giant groupers and Nassau groupers, through the evolution of the anchorage strategy within the nature reserve.

 730 total views

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

BIODIVERSITÉ : Réunion de clôture ce vendredi soir du projet LIFE BIODIV’OM Mérous

0

L’Association gestionnaire de la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin (AGRNSM), dans le cadre du projet LIFE BIODIV’OM, informe et mobilise les citoyens pour la conservation de la biodiversité marine et de deux espèces de mérous en particulier.

Elle accueillera le public dans ses locaux à Hope Estate, ce vendredi 12 avril à 17h30 avec une présentation des mérous géants et mérous de Nassau de Saint-Martin, leurs particularités, les menaces et les enjeux de protection, dont les suivis scientifiques incluant la contribution des citoyens.

Les mérous géants et les mérous de Nassau menacés

En déclin dans la région depuis plusieurs dizaines d’années, les populations de mérous géants et de mérous de Nassau sont en danger. Pourtant, en tant que grands prédateurs, ces poissons jouent un rôle majeur dans les écosystèmes et ont plusieurs fonctions indispensables à la chaîne alimentaire. Indicateurs du bon état de santé de l’environnement, ils sont aujourd’hui menacés par les prélèvements non raisonnés, la dégradation de leurs habitats et la pollution. C’est pourquoi le projet LIFE BIODIV’OM a ciblé ces deux espèces pour les actions mises en œuvre à Saint-Martin, dont l’AGRNSM est le coordinateur.

Découvrez, poursuivez et soutenez les actions de l’AGRNSM pour les mérous ciblés

Ce vendredi 12 avril, de 17h30 à 19h30 venez découvrir et si vous le souhaitez, contribuer à la poursuite des actions mises en place à Saint-Martin : des poissons qui changent de sexe, qui migrent et se réunissent par milliers, qui grognent … mais qui sont menacés, d’où le besoin de votre contribution au réseau participatif « Les yeux des mérous », et au portail Faune. Venez prendre connaissance des résultats des suivis scientifiques avec des techniques inédites, de la consultation des acteurs et des outils de communication développés. Et on terminera par un petit rafraichissement. Entrée gratuite. Places limitées.

Ce rendez-vous sera également l’occasion de mettre en lumière le projet ReCorEA Saint-Martin (soutenu par l’OFB, Atout France et la Fondation VEOLIA), visant à préserver les habitats essentiels des mérous géants et des mérous de Nassau, par l’évolution de la stratégie de mouillages au sein de la réserve naturelle.

 718 vues totales

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :