AIR: Blocked since Sunday, passengers on the KLM flight to Amsterdam should be able to leave this Wednesday March 1

1

The KLM Airbus A340 which experienced a nose wheel steering system malfunction twice on Sunday February 26 is still awaiting repair at Princess Juliana International Airport. Its 225 passengers and 11 crew members should be able to resume their flight on Wednesday March 1.

New parts for the front wheel steering system arrived on the island on Monday afternoon on board an Air France plane. The mechanics  of KLM and Air France were to solve the problem yesterday. Unless there is a last minute change, the Airbus A340 should leave Sint Maarten this Wednesday evening for Amsterdam.

Due to the malfunction of the nose wheel steering system, the aircraft is currently unable to perform turns on the tarmac at low speeds. After landing on Sunday afternoon, the system failed and the pilot was unable to steer the plane off the runway to the apron.

In fact, the 225 passengers and 11 crew members who were to board on Sunday evening to reach Amsterdam were forced to stay on the island for three nights. Airport manager Halley Aviation has arranged accommodation for non-residents among the affected passengers. _AF

loading

About author

1 comment

  1. Marion March 1, 2023 at 07:59 pm Reply

    Hello,
    According to the information we received yesterday, takeoff is scheduled for March 2.
    The crew that will bring the plane back is back from AMS today (because the original crew returned to AMS yesterday to avoid too much disruption to schedules).
    Sincerely,
    Marion

Post a new comment

AERIEN : Bloqués depuis dimanche, les passagers du vol KLM à destination d’Amsterdam devraient pouvoir repartir ce mercredi 1er mars

1

L’Airbus A340 de la compagnie KLM qui a rencontré un dysfonctionnement du système de direction de la roue avant à deux reprises dimanche 26 février est toujours en attente de réparation à l’aéroport international Princess Juliana. Ses 225 passagers et 11 membres d’équipage devraient pouvoir reprendre leur vol ce mercredi 1er mars.

De nouvelles pièces pour le système de direction de la roue avant sont arrivées sur l’île lundi après-midi à bord d’un avion d’Air France. Les mécaniciens  de KLM et d’Air France devaient résoudre le problème hier. Sauf changement de dernière minute, l’Airbus A340 devrait quitter Sint Maarten ce mercredi soir pour Amsterdam.

En raison du dysfonctionnement du système de direction de la roue avant, l’avion ne peut actuellement pas effectuer de virages sur le tarmac à basse vitesse. Après avoir atterri dimanche après-midi, le système est tombé en panne et le pilote n’a pas été en mesure de diriger l’avion hors de la piste vers l’aire de trafic.

De fait, les 225 passagers et les 11 membres d’équipage qui devaient embarquer dimanche soir pour rejoindre Amsterdam ont été contraints de rester sur l’île pendant trois nuits. Le gestionnaire de l’aéroport Halley Aviation a organisé un hébergement pour les non-résidents parmi les passagers concernés. _AF

Loading

About author

1 comment

  1. Marion 1 mars, 2023 at 07:59 Répondre

    Bonjour,
    D’après les informations que nous avons reçu hier, le décollage est prévu le 2 mars.
    L’équipage qui ramènera l’avion est en retour depuis AMS aujourd’hui (car l’équipage initial est retourné à AMS hier pour éviter trop de bouleversements dans les plannings).
    Bien cordialement,
    Marion

Post a new comment