Zika virus: recommendations for pregnant women

0

France recommends that pregnant women not go to countries affected by the zika virus. The dangers are very real for the newborn.

“It is recommended that pregnant women or those planning to become pregnant and planning to go to areas where Zika is rampant, to consider postponing their travel plans, or in any case to consult a doctor before departure to be informed about the complications that can arise during an infection with the Zika virus ”, announced last Friday the Directorate General of Health. The same day, American health authorities advised pregnant women to go to 22 countries in South America and the Caribbean, including Saint Martin. The zika virus is starting to cause concern. Some Latin American countries even ask women to postpone their pregnancies. The virus is transmitted by mosquitoes belonging to the Culicidae family and the genus Aedes (including Aedes aegypti and Aedes albopictus), according to the National Institute for Prevention and Health Education (INPES).

Point in Saint-Martin 

The latest epidemiological bulletin from the Institute for Public Health Surveillance (InVS) indicates that in Saint-Martin and Guadeloupe, the epidemiological situation corresponds to phase 2 of the epidemic surveillance, alert and management program (Psage): “Beginner Native Viral Circulation”. An indigenous case has been confirmed in our territory. For Guadeloupe and the Northern Islands, doctors are requested to report suspected cases to the ARS at the following number: 05 90 41 02 00.

Symptoms of the disease

They are characterized by a rash with or without fever, and can be accompanied in particular by fatigue and muscle and joint pain. Neurological complications are possible such as Guillain-Barré syndrome. This disease is characterized by “damage to the peripheral nerves, described in Brazil and French Polynesia. In these territories, microcephaly and abnormalities of intrauterine cerebral development were also observed in fetuses and newborn babies of pregnant mothers during the epidemic period ”, specifies the institute.

loading

About author

No comments

Virus zika : recommandations pour les femmes enceintes

0
blank

La France recommande aux femmes enceintes de ne pas se rendre dans les pays touchés par le virus zika. Les dangers sont bien réels pour le nouveau-né.

“Il est recommandé aux femmes enceintes ou ayant un projet de grossesse et ayant le projet de se rendre dans des zones où sévit le Zika, d’envisager un report de leur projet de voyage, ou, en tout cas de consulter un médecin avant le départ pour être informées sur les complications pouvant survenir lors d’une infection par le virus Zika”, a annoncé vendredi dernier la direction générale de la Santé. Le même jour, les autorités sanitaires américaines déconseillaient aux femmes enceintes d’aller dans 22 pays d’Amérique du Sud et des Caraïbes, dont Saint-Martin. Le virus zika commence à semer l’inquiétude. Certains pays d’Amérique latine demandent même aux femmes de reporter leurs grossesses. La transmission du virus est réalisée par des moustiques appartenant à la famille des Culicidae et au genre Aedes (dont Aedes aegypti et Aedes albopictus), d’après l’Institut national de prévention et d’éducation pour la santé (INPES).

Point à Saint-Martin 

Le dernier bulletin épidémiologique de l’Institut de veille sanitaire ( InVS) indique qu’à Saint-Martin et en Guadeloupe, la situation épidémiologique correspond à la phase 2 du programme de surveillance, d’alerte et de gestion des épidémies (Psage) : «Circulation virale autochtone débutant». Un cas autochtone a été confirmé sur notre territoire. Pour la Guadeloupe et les Iles du Nord, les médecins sont priés de signaler les cas suspects à l’ARS au numéro suivant :  05 90 41 02 00.

Les symptômes de la maladie

Ils se caractérisent par une éruption cutanée avec ou sans fièvre, et peuvent s’accompagner notamment de fatigue et de douleurs musculaires et articulaires. Des complications neurologiques sont possibles comme le syndrome de Guillain-Barré. Cette maladie se caractérise par “une atteinte des nerfs périphériques, décrite au Brésil et en Polynésie française. Dans ces territoires, des microcéphalies et des anomalies du développement cérébral intra-utérin ont également été observées chez des foetus et des nouveau-nés de mères enceintes pendant la période épidémique”, précise l’institut.

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT