Sint Maarten: A major real estate project to make Philipsburg more attractive!

0

Egbert J. Doran, Minister of Public Housing, Spatial Planning, Environment and Infrastructure, last week outlined his vision for meeting the urgent need for affordable housing, embarking on a project to to make Philipsburg attractive with the construction of 114 quality residential units, a green space, a new parliament and government building, next to commercial units and a covered parking lot.

Affordable housing has been a major concern in the community for many years. This situation has worsened due to the economic impacts resulting from the passage of hurricanes Irma and Maria in 2017. Residents have expressed their dissatisfaction to the Minister regarding the lack of affordable housing, so there is an urgent need for affordable housing. quality.

Minister Egbert J. Doran expressed his vision to develop quality residential units with improved infrastructure in Philipsburg. The plan is to develop duplex homes on Walter Nisbeth Road at the location of the current parking lots near the police station and the old government building. This section of the project will consist of 70 units. Two-bedroom duplex houses will include parking on the ground floor. At the site of the old post office, the minister plans to develop residential towers. This section of the project will consist of 44 quality residential units with one and two bedrooms, respectively. In addition, the towers will include 18 commercial units with green space and parking.

The Minister informed that this project will not consist only of quality residential units, but that there are plans to develop a four-storey facility, consisting of a commercial area on the ground floor. The first, second and third floors will include public parking, while the fourth floor is intended to accommodate the Parliament of Sint Maarten and other government departments, which will include a central open area. This facility will be built on the site of the old government building.

Minister Doran said that in accordance with a "green theme" around the city, he wants to have a central park in front of the facility near a newly built area for a bus station, a breakdown of taxis, tourist buses and a covered craft market. In addition, an additional building will be constructed, which will integrate public vendors on the ground floor with a restaurant and office spaces on the first and second floors. With the government's continued efforts to cut spending, while increasing revenues and refinancing debt, Minister Doran firmly believes this is an opportunity to stimulate the economy during and beyond the pandemic. creating jobs through construction and development spending. The project calls for public / private funding initiatives which are currently being explored with more details to come.

As part of the development of this plan, Minister Doran will invite local architects to present concepts for his vision for the new Philipsburg.  _AF

 3,539 total views, 8 views today

Article sponsored by:


About author

No comments

Sint Maarten : Un grand projet immobilier pour rendre plus attractif Philipsburg !

0

Egbert J. Doran, ministre du Logement public, de l’Aménagement du Territoire, de l’Environnement et de l’Infrastructure, a présenté la semaine dernière sa vision pour répondre au besoin urgent de logements abordables, en se lançant dans un projet visant à rendre attractif Philipsburg avec la construction de 114 unités résidentielles de qualité, un espace vert, un nouveau bâtiment du Parlement et du gouvernement, à côté des unités commerciales et un parking couvert.

Depuis de nombreuses années, le logement abordable est une préoccupation majeure au sein de la communauté. Cette situation s’est aggravée en raison des impacts économiques résultant du passage des ouragans Irma et Maria en 2017. Les résidents ont fait part de leur mécontentement au ministre concernant le manque de logements abordables, il y a donc un besoin urgent de logements abordables de qualité.

Le ministre Egbert J. Doran a exprimé sa vision de développer des unités résidentielles de qualité avec une infrastructure améliorée à Philipsburg. Le plan est de développer des maisons en duplex sur le chemin Walter Nisbeth à l’emplacement des stationnements actuels près du poste de police et de l’ancien bâtiment du gouvernement. Cette section du projet comprendra 70 unités. Les maisons en duplex de deux chambres comprendront un parking au rez-de-chaussée. À l’emplacement de l’ancien bureau de poste, le ministre envisage de développer des tours résidentielles. Cette section du projet comprendra 44 unités résidentielles de qualité avec une et deux chambres, respectivement. De plus, les tours comprendront 18 unités commerciales avec un espace vert et un parking.

Le ministre a informé que ce projet ne consistera pas uniquement en des unités résidentielles de qualité, mais qu’il est prévu de développer une installation de quatre étages, constituée d’une zone commerciale au rez-de-chaussée. Les premier, deuxième et troisième étages comprendront un parking public, tandis que le quatrième étage est destiné à accueillir le Parlement de Sint Maarten et d’autres services gouvernementaux, qui comprendront une aire ouverte centrale. Cette installation sera construite à l’emplacement de l’ancien bâtiment du gouvernement.

Le ministre Doran a déclaré que, conformément à un «thème vert» autour de la ville, il souhaite avoir un parc central à l’avant de l’installation près d’une zone nouvellement construite pour une gare routière, une répartition des taxis, des bus touristiques et un marché artisanal couvert. En outre, un bâtiment supplémentaire sera construit, qui intégrera des vendeurs publics au rez-de-chaussée avec un restaurant et des espaces de bureaux aux premier et deuxième étages. Avec les efforts continus du gouvernement pour réduire ses dépenses, tout en augmentant ses revenus et en refinançant ses dettes, le ministre Doran croit fermement qu’il s’agit d’une occasion de stimuler l’économie pendant et au-delà de la pandémie en créant des emplois grâce à la construction et aux dépenses liées au développement. Le projet appelle à des initiatives de financement public / privé qui sont actuellement explorées avec plus de détails à venir.

Dans le cadre de l’élaboration de ce plan, le ministre Doran invitera les architectes locaux à présenter des concepts pour sa vision du nouveau Philipsburg.  _AF

blank

Article sponsorisé par :


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT