Overseas Ministry / Annick Girardin: "7" climate refugees "have left the Northern Islands!

0

Nearly 7 residents of Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy left the Northern Islands to join Guadeloupe, Martinique and the Metropolis, after Hurricane Irma, we learned from the overseas department .

Overseas Minister Annick Girardin said after the 3rd interministerial committee for the reconstruction of the two islands devastated by Irma that 2 of them had arrived in France, and 500 had passed through reception systems in place.

In the West Indies, 3 people have found refuge in Guadeloupe, and 500 in Martinique, the ministry said.

Initial estimates reported between 7 and 000 "refugees". Some have since returned home.

Among those who arrived in mainland France, 176 were referred to emergency accommodation. And 200 people, refugees in their families at first, returned to the state services and asked to be taken care of.

"In total, around 400 disaster victims are looking for accommodation," said Annick Girardin, ensuring that "all those who request support will be supported."

A feeling of abandonment

Some of these families, housed in hotels in Paris and the suburbs, complained in early October of having been abandoned. A resident of Saint-Martin, who came with her husband and three children, said that she “lost everything at home. “We were offered something, a very large apartment for everyone. I will not go. I want to be with my family, not with other… different people, ”she warned. His priority was above all that his children could return to school. “I am in 5th grade. I would like to go to college, ”added her 12-year-old son R.

Supported by an approved operator, "France horizon", these families had to, for those who wished, be rehoused "in a single accommodation center in which children can be educated", said on October 6, Ministry of Territorial Cohesion. It is a former boarding school, which accommodates 150-160 people, said Annick Girardin.

“We will open classes on site and we will make a full assessment and specific support for each family so as to take into account their difficulty, their need, but also their future plan because we must be able to support them over the long term ", She assured.

This support will be provided “within the next two months”.

It remains to be seen whether the government's promises will be kept… _AF

loading

About author

No comments

Ministère des Outre-mer / Annick Girardin : « 7 000 «réfugiés climatiques» ont quitté les Iles du Nord !

0
blank

Près de 7 000 résidents de Saint-Martin et de Saint-Barthélemy ont quitté les Iles du Nord pour rejoindre la Guadeloupe, la Martinique et la Métropole, après l’ouragan Irma, a-t-on appris auprès du ministère des Outre-mer.

La ministre des Outre-mer, Annick Girardin a précisé, à l’issue du 3ème comité interministériel pour la reconstruction des deux îles dévastées par Irma, que 2 500 d’entre eux étaient arrivés dans l’Hexagone, et 1 700 passés par les dispositifs d’accueil mis en place.

Aux Antilles, 3 500 personnes ont trouvé refuge en Guadeloupe, et 800 en Martinique, a indiqué le ministère.

Les premières estimations faisaient état de 7 000 à 8 000 « réfugiés ». Certains sont depuis rentrés chez eux.

Parmi ceux arrivés en Métropole, 176 ont été orientés vers des hébergements d’urgence. Et 200 personnes, réfugiées dans leur famille dans un premier temps, sont revenues vers les services de l’État et ont demandé à être prises en charge.

« Au total, environ 400 personnes sinistrées sont à la recherche d’un logement », a précisé Annick Girardin, assurant que « tous ceux qui solliciteront un accompagnement seront accompagnés ».

Un sentiment d’abandon

Certaines de ces familles, hébergées dans des hôtels de Paris et banlieue, se sont plaintes début octobre d’avoir été abandonnées. Une résidente saint-martinoise, venue avec son mari et ses trois enfants, a raconté avoir « tout perdu chez elle. « On nous a proposé quelque chose, un très grand appartement pour tout le monde. Je n’irai pas. Je veux être avec ma famille, pas avec d’autres gens… différents », prévenait-elle. Sa priorité était surtout que ses enfants puissent retourner à l’école. « Je suis en 5e. Je voudrais aller au collège », avait renchéri son fils R., âgé de 12 ans.

Pris en charge par un opérateur agréé, « France horizon », ces familles devaient, pour celles qui le souhaitaient, être relogées « dans un centre d’hébergement unique dans lequel les enfants pourront être scolarisés », avait dit le 6 octobre dernier, le ministère de la Cohésion des Territoires. Il s’agit d’un ancien internat, qui accueille 150-160 personnes, a précisé Annick Girardin.

« On ouvrira des classes sur place et nous ferons un bilan complet et un accompagnement spécifique de chaque famille de manière à prendre en compte leur difficulté, leur besoin, mais aussi leur projet d’avenir parce qu’il faut pouvoir les accompagner sur la durée », a-t-elle assuré.

Cet accompagnement se fera « dans les deux mois à venir ».

Reste à savoir désormais si les promesses du gouvernement seront tenues… _AF

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT