Justice: Louis Jeffry is suspected of having embezzled public funds and illegal taking of interest

0

In August 2018, the public prosecutor's office had revealed the custody of Doctor Louis Jeffry in the context of an investigation by the Saint-Martin research section, in particular concerning acts carried out by the health observatory of Saint-Martin / Sint Maarten of which Louis Jeffry is the president.

A search of the hospital center had also taken place. It was a question of "verifying the relations existing between a doctor member of the medical commission of establishment of the hospital and structures of foreign law as well as a subsidized association, under the possible criminal qualification, in particular, of illegal taking. of interest, ”said the prosecutor at the time.

At the end of the investigation, the vice prosecutor decided to prosecute Louis Jeffry. The latter was therefore summoned on May 16 before the Criminal Court of Saint-Martin. But due to health reasons, his lawyer was unable to assist him, so the trial has been postponed until October 24.

The doctor is suspected of breach of trust by having diverted part of the public funds received by the health observatory. These funds had been granted by the European Union and paid by the Collectivity via an agreement. Victim, the COM was made civil party.

Louis Jeffry is not the only one to be prosecuted; so is the director of the observatory, Arnaud Benet, for misuse of corporate assets. He is also accused, as well as the doctor, of not having appointed an auditor as the law requires in the management of an association.

Another charge against Louis Jeffry is that of illegal taking of interest by a public service representative in a case for which he administers or supervises.

Louis Jeffry is also co-manager of a company under Dutch law, Health Destination, which had signed a contract with the Louis-Constant Fleming hospital center to recover payments from Dutch patients insured in Sint Maarten and hospitalized in the French part. In July 2017, the smn-news.com website revealed tensions between Health Destination and SZV (insurance on the Dutch side), which had stopped soliciting Health Destination. Following this, still according to Smn-news, SZV had concluded an agreement with the health observatory, an agreement which was also broken because the observatory did not pay payments to the hospital.

As part of the case that the Saint Martin court must examine, Louis Jeffry is accused of having signed as co-manager of Health Destination the contract with the hospital where he works and actively participates in meetings and decisions on cooperation with the Dutch side. The hospital center is considered a victim (Source Soualigapost).

loading

About author

No comments

Justice : Louis Jeffry est soupçonné d’avoir détourné des fonds publics et de prise illégale d’intérêt

0
blank

En août 2018, le parquet avait révélé la mise en garde à vue du docteur Louis Jeffry dans le cadre d’une enquête menée par la section de recherches de Saint-Martin et portant notamment sur des actes réalisés par l’observatoire de la santé de Saint-Martin/Sint Maarten dont Louis Jeffry est le président.

Une perquisition au centre hospitalier avait également eu lieu. Il s’agissait de «vérifier les relations existant entre un médecin membre de la commission médicale d’établissement de l’hôpital et des structures de droit étranger ainsi que d’une association subventionnée, sous la qualification pénale éventuelle, notamment, de prise illégale d’intérêt», précisait à l’époque le parquet.

A l’issue de l’enquête, le vice procureur a décidé de poursuivre en justice Louis Jeffry. Ce dernier était donc convoqué le 16 mai devant le tribunal correctionnel de Saint-Martin. Mais en raison de santé, son avocat n’a pu l’assister, aussi le procès a-t-il été renvoyé au 24 octobre prochain.

Le médecin est soupçonné d’abus de confiance en ayant détourné une partie des fonds publics reçus par l’observatoire de la santé. Ces fonds avaient été octroyés par l’Union européenne et versés par la Collectivité via une convention. Victime, la COM s’est constituée partie civile.

Louis Jeffry n’est pas le seul à être poursuivi ; l’est aussi le directeur de l’observatoire, Arnaud Benet, pour abus de biens sociaux. Il lui est également reproché ainsi qu’au médecin, de ne pas avoir désigné de commissaire aux comptes comme la loi l’impose dans la gestion d’une association.

Autre chef d’inculpation retenu à l’encontre de Louis Jeffry, celui de prise illégale d’intérêts par chargé de mission de service public dans une affaire dont il assure l’administration ou la surveillance.

Louis Jeffry est aussi co-gérant d’une entreprise de droit hollandaise, Health Destination, qui avait passé un contrat avec le centre hospitalier Louis-Constant Fleming pour recouvrir les paiements des patients hollandais assurés à Sint Maarten et hospitalisés en partie française. En juillet 2017, le site smn-news.com avait révélé des tensions entre Health Destination et SZV (l’assurance côté hollandais), laquelle avait cessé de solliciter Health Destination. Suite à cela, toujours selon Smn-news, SZV avait conclu un accord avec l’observatoire de santé, accord qui a également été rompu car l’observatoire ne versait pas les paiements à l’hôpital.

Dans le cadre de l’affaire que le tribunal de Saint-Martin doit examiner, il est reproché à Louis Jeffry d’avoir signé en tant que co-gérant de Health Destination le contrat avec l’hôpital où il travaille et participe activement aux réunions et décisions portant sur la coopération avec la partie hollandaise. Le centre hospitalier est considéré comme une victime (Source Soualigapost).

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT