TRAVEL: The Community is present at the General Assembly of the CPMR Islands Commission, in Palma de Mallorca

0

The Collectivity of Saint-Martin was represented in Palma de Mallorca in the Balearic Islands, in order to participate in the General Assembly of the Islands Commission (CDI) of the Conference of European Peripheral and Maritime Regions (CPMR), on February 22, as well as at the International Seminar on the future European regulation of the law for the restoration of nature, on February 23rd. 

This lobbying body, of which the Collectivity is a member, encourages the European institutions to take into account the characteristics of the islands of the European Union, when drawing up European policies. On this occasion, several themes of interest for the territory were addressed, such as the challenges of European island regions, territorial development, the sustainable blue economy (climate change and decarbonization in transport and energy) .

Martine Beldor, Territorial Councilor in charge of European Affairs and substitute member within the CDI, recalled during her speech, the energy vulnerability of the Outermost Regions (ORs), underlining the strong dependence on the import of fossil fuels of our island and "the political will to be part of a green transition approach based on the development of clean energies and the control of energy demand. ". In this regard, Martine Beldor mentioned the preparatory work for the 2024-2033 Multiannual Energy Program (PPE), as well as the objectives enabling the territory's energy sovereignty to be implemented. She also emphasized the importance of support from the State and the EU “through regulatory, technical and financial tools adapted to our realities”. The other element highlighted was that of the European legislative package “Fit for 55” (Fit for 55), currently being negotiated within the European institutions. This new regulation will impact vital sectors for our regions such as air and maritime transport. "This package of legislative measures cannot, ultimately, further penalize our populations who are already bearing exorbitant prices which have been reinforced by the increase in the price of fuel" and therefore the need to find "a fair balance between the imperative environment, the high costs that our already vulnerable populations will have to bear and the accessibility deficit that we face. This general assembly ended with the adoption of a Final Declaration inviting the European institutions to adopt a European agenda for European islands.

loading

About author

No comments

DEPLACEMENT : La Collectivité présente à l’Assemblée générale de la Commission des îles de la CRPM, à Palma de Majorque

0

La Collectivité de Saint-Martin était représentée à Palma de Majorque aux îles Baléares, afin de participer à l’Assemblée générale de la Commission des îles (CDI) de la Conférence des régions périphériques et maritimes européennes (CRPM), le 22 février dernier, ainsi qu’au Séminaire international sur le futur règlement européen de la loi pour la restauration de la nature, le 23 février. 

Cette instance de lobbying, dont est membre la Collectivité, incite les institutions européennes à prendre en compte les caractéristiques des îles de l’Union européenne, lors de l’élaboration des politiques européennes. A cette occasion, plusieurs thématiques d’intérêt pour le territoire ont été abordées, à l’instar des enjeux des régions insulaires européennes, du développement territorial, de l’économie bleue durable (changement climatique et décarbonation dans le transport et l’énergie).

Martine Beldor, conseillère territoriale en charge des Affaires européennes et membre suppléante au sein de la CDI, a rappelé lors de sa prise de parole, la vulnérabilité énergétique des Régions ultrapériphériques (RUP), soulignant la forte dépendance à l’importation d’énergies fossiles de notre île et « la volonté politique de s’inscrire dans une démarche de transition verte reposant sur le développement d’énergies propres et la maîtrise de la demande en énergie. ». A cet égard, Martine Beldor a mentionné les travaux préparatoires de la Programmation pluriannuelle de l’énergie (PPE) 2024-2033, ainsi que les objectifs permettant d’engager la souveraineté énergétique du territoire. Elle a aussi mis l’accent sur l’importance de l’accompagnement de l’Etat et de l’UE « au moyen d’outils règlementaires, techniques et financiers adaptés à nos réalités ». L’autre élément mis en exergue fut celui du paquet législatif européen « Ajustement à l’objectif 55 » (Fit for 55), en cours de négociation au sein des institutions européennes. Cette nouvelle règlementation impactera des secteurs vitaux pour nos régions tels que le transport aérien et maritime. « Ce train de mesures législatives ne saurait, en définitive, pénaliser davantage nos populations qui supportent déjà des prix exorbitants qui se sont vu renforcés par l’augmentation du prix du carburant » et donc la nécessité de trouver « un juste équilibre entre l’impératif environnemental, les coûts élevés que devront supporter nos populations déjà vulnérables et le déficit d’accessibilité auquel nous sommes confrontés. » Cette assemblée générale s’est clôturée avec l’adoption d’une Déclaration finale invitant les institutions européennes à adopter un agenda européen pour les îles européennes.

 3,427 vues totales

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :