Deconfinement: Daniel Gibbs answers questions from the media

0

In the presence of the 1st vice-president, Valérie Damaseau, the president of the Community, Daniel Gibbs took part in the question-and-answer game with the journalists, during the weekly news update, produced on Thursday June 4 by Facebook Live.

1) Hurricane Irma, then this health crisis from which we are gradually emerging, were able to reveal our ultra-food dependence. However, the central tool of the “livestock” sector remains in a state close to Post Irma.

What are your intentions with regard to this structuring tool in the agricultural sector and property of the Collectivity both in terms of repair and of extension, however planned?

The first thing to point out is that there was no disruption in the delivery of food during the crisis we have just experienced. This is an important point to emphasize. Obviously, we cannot speak of food autonomy, that would be an abuse of language. Also, to strive for more autonomy, Saint-Martin must work to diversify its economy and develop local industries.

Saint-Martin does not have sufficient land or natural assets as favorable as Guadeloupe or Martinique to develop agriculture. But breeding for example is an ancestral know-how on our island, just as certain cultivators have obtained excellent results in the cultivation of fruits and vegetables despite local constraints, notably the lack of water.

You talk about the agricultural sector, and I directly integrate fishing, which represents a sector with great potential, since much is yet to be developed in this area.

This development, which we very much hope for, must go through the structuring of the sectors. The economic delegation of the community is working there with the actors concerned and actions are programmed to this effect on the 2020 budget. The community has provided € 153 for the creation of a fishing committee and the SW registration of the vessels on its 000 budget.

We have also programmed in our PPI 1.5M € for the creation of a fishing landing dock.

We also provide support to companies in the sector which must manage to structure themselves in order to be more efficient. The Collectivity has put together an EAFRD grant request file for companies in the sector, which will cover 90% of the eligible costs provided that the parts supplied are complete.

I also wanted agricultural conferences to be organized and actions to promote local agricultural and craft products to be held in Saint-Martin. The first night market was to be held in May and our work has been interrupted and will be readjusted to the context.

As for the slaughterhouse, we are actually considering a ramp-up of this tool with in particular a cutting workshop and a place of marketing. These facilities are essential to further establish the livestock sector and enhance local production on the local market.

2) Much blur reigns around Princess Juliana Airport and the resumption of commercial flights to travel without imperative reasons. Do you have more specific information to communicate on this subject?

We are in permanent contact with our counterparts on the Dutch side, the Tourist Office is working in close partnership with Princess Juliana airport to prepare for this recovery.

According to our information, a reopening in mid-June for regional trips and an international opening in early July remain current at Princess Juliana.

Again, discussions are underway between our respective authorities.

3) Among the aid systems for municipalities and inter-municipal authorities announced by the Prime Minister on May 29, the State has expanded these systems for overseas territories and would guarantee the compensation of tax revenues in 2020 and 2021. Must we consider ourselves as a municipality, since we also assume the competences, and pretend to this device or should we consider that our fiscal autonomy excludes us from the reinforced national device for Overseas? Does the Collectivity already negotiate the fact of existing in the Parisian radars so that our particular statute is not a new complexity to manage in the national devices?

The principle of compensation, a guarantee of tax revenues, in particular linked to the dock dues, the fuel tax for the municipalities and for the overseas regions, has been decided by the Government: this gesture is estimated at around 110 million euros. This is an initiative that goes in the right direction, insofar as the French overseas territories will certainly be more affected than the Metropolis by the economic and social crisis. But, like the President of the Guadeloupe Region, I think that we can - and we must - do more: this sum of 110 M € over two years represents, ultimately, only 19 € per ultra-marine citizen per year…

To return to Saint-Martin: The Overseas Minister announced that a compensation mechanism would also be provided for the Communities governed by the 74. We will of course be attentive to this device.

Saint-Martin, like any community in the Republic, aims to benefit from national solidarity mechanisms, even if we have fiscal autonomy.

This is already the case, with regard to social (exceptional aid from € 100 to € 150 to the most deprived) and economic (partial unemployment, State guaranteed loan, Solidarity Fund) devices: we can only '' congratulate them, even if we must constantly be vigilant about the actual allocation of this aid (I am thinking here of the Solidarity Fund);

In addition, the plan announced by the Government mentions fuel taxes: we are therefore concerned, and in Saint-Martin they represent, depending on the year, between 15 M € and 20 M €.

There is no doubt that these revenues will be impacted, in 2020 and very probably in 2021, by the looming economic crisis.

We will therefore have the vocation to receive from the State, like all the other ultra-marine communities within the framework of this plan, fair compensation ...

Finally, even if we do not have a dock dues, the operation and investment of our Collectivity depend on the level of our tax revenue.

In 2019, with 107 M € and after more than two years of efforts and sacrifices, we returned to the level before IRMA, that of 2016, with 105 M. €.

This new crisis will make us go back, and we expect a loss of revenue in 2020: between 12 M € (at best, if air restrictions are finally lifted and if tourism starts again in July…) and 20 M € (if these restrictions continue, leading to a collapse of the tourism sector in Saint-Martin).

 2,814 total views, 6 views today

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

Déconfinement : Daniel Gibbs répond aux questions des médias

0
blank

En présence de la 1ère vice-présidente, Valérie Damaseau, le président de la Collectivité, Daniel Gibbs s’est prêté au jeu des questions-réponses avec les journalistes, lors du point d’actualité hebdomadaire, réalisé le jeudi 4 juin dernier par Facebook Live.

1) L’ouragan Irma, puis cette crise sanitaire dont nous sortons progressivement, ont su être révélateurs de notre ultra-dépendance alimentaire. Pour autant, l’outil central de la filière “élevage” reste dans un état proche du Post Irma.

Quelles sont vos intentions vis à vis de cet outil structurant de la filière agricole et propriété de la Collectivité tant en termes de réparation que d’extension pourtant prévue ?

La première chose qu’il convient de préciser c’est qu’il n’y a pas eu de rupture dans l’acheminement des denrées alimentaires, lors de la crise que nous venons de traverser. C’est un point important à souligner. Bien évidemment, nous ne pouvons pas parler d’autonomie alimentaire, ce serait un abus de langage. Aussi, pour tendre vers plus d’autonomie, Saint-Martin doit travailler à la diversification de son économie et au développement des filières locales.

Saint-Martin ne bénéficie pas de foncier suffisant ou d’atouts naturels aussi propices que la Guadeloupe ou la Martinique pour développer l’agriculture. Mais l’élevage par exemple est un savoir-faire ancestral sur notre île, de même que certains cultivateurs ont obtenu d’excellents résultats dans la culture de fruits et légumes malgré les contraintes locales, notamment le manque d’eau.

Vous évoquez la filière agricole, et j’y intègre directement la pêche qui représente un secteur à fort potentiel, puisque beaucoup est encore à développer dans ce domaine.

Ce développement, que nous appelons de nos vœux, doit impérativement passer par la structuration des filières. La délégation économique de la collectivité y travaille avec les acteurs concernés et des actions sont programmées en ce sens sur le budget 2020. La collectivité a prévu 153 000 € pour la création d’un comité de pêche et l’immatriculation SW des navires sur son budget 2020.

Nous avons également programmé dans notre PPI 1.5M€ pour la création d’un quai de débarquement de pêche.

Nous apportons aussi un accompagnement aux entreprises du secteur qui doivent parvenir à se structurer pour être plus performantes. La Collectivité a monté un dossier de demande de subvention au titre du FEADER pour les entreprises du secteur, qui prendra en charge 90% des coûts éligibles à condition que les pièces fournies soient au complet.

J’ai souhaité également que des Assises de l’agriculture soient organisées et que des actions de valorisation des productions agricoles et artisanales locales se tiennent à Saint-Martin. Le premier marché nocturne devait d’ailleurs se tenir au mois de mai et nos travaux ont été interrompus et seront réadaptés au contexte.

Quant à l’abattoir, nous envisageons effectivement une montée en puissance de cet outil avec notamment un atelier de découpe et un lieu de commercialisation. Ces aménagements sont primordiaux pour asseoir davantage la filière de l’élevage et valoriser la production locale auprès du marché local.

2) Un grand flou règne autour de l’aéroport Princess Juliana et la reprise des vols commerciaux pour voyager sans motifs impérieux. Est-ce que vous avez des informations plus précises à communiquer à ce sujet ?

Nous sommes en relations permanentes avec nos homologues de la partie Hollandaise, l’Office de Tourisme travaille en partenariat étroit avec l’aéroport Princess Juliana pour justement préparer cette reprise.

Selon nos informations, une réouverture à la mi-juin pour les déplacements régionaux et une ouverture à l’international début juillet restent d’actualité au niveau de Princess Juliana.

Là encore, des discussions sont en cours entre nos autorités respectives.

3) Parmi les dispositifs d’aides aux communes et intercommunalités annoncés par le Premier ministre, le 29 mai dernier, l’Etat a étoffé ces dispositifs pour les territoires ultramarins et garantirait la compensation des revenus fiscaux sur l’année 2020 et 2021. Doit-on se considérer comme une commune, puisque nous en assumons aussi les compétences, et prétendre à ce dispositif ou doit-on considérer que notre autonomie fiscale nous exclue du dispositif national renforcé pour les Outremer ? La Collectivité négocie-t-elle déjà le fait d’exister dans les radars parisiens pour que notre statut particulier ne soit pas une nouvelle complexité à gérer dans les dispositifs nationaux ?

Le principe d’une compensation, d’une garantie des recettes fiscales, notamment liée à l’octroi de mer, à la taxe sur les carburants pour les communes et pour les régions d’Outre-mer, a été décidé par le Gouvernement : ce geste est estimé à environ 110 millions d’euros. C’est une initiative qui va dans la bonne direction, dans la mesure où les Outre-mer seront, certainement, plus impactées que la Métropole par la crise économique et sociale. Mais, à l’instar du Président de la Région Guadeloupe, je pense qu’on peut – et on doit – faire plus : cette somme de 110 M€ sur deux ans ne représente, finalement, que 19 € par citoyen ultra-marin par an…

Pour en revenir à Saint-Martin : La Ministre des Outre-mer a annoncé qu’un mécanisme de compensation serait aussi prévu pour les Collectivité régies par le 74. Nous serons bien sûr attentifs à ce dispositif.

Saint-Martin, comme toute collectivité de la République, a vocation à bénéficier des dispositifs de solidarité nationale et ce même si nous avons une autonomie fiscale.

C’est déjà le cas, en ce qui concerne les dispositifs sociaux (aides exceptionnelles de 100 € à 150 € aux plus démunis) et économiques (chômage partiel, Prêt garanti par l’Etat, Fonds de Solidarité) : on ne peut que s’en féliciter, même s’il faut constamment être vigilant sur l’attribution effective de ces aides (je pense ici au Fonds de Solidarité) ;

Par ailleurs, le plan annoncé par le Gouvernement évoque les taxes sur les carburants : nous sommes donc concernés, et à Saint-Martin elles représentent, selon les années, entre 15 M€ et 20 M€.

Nul doute que ces recettes seront impactées, en 2020 et très probablement en 2021, par la crise économique qui s’annonce.

Nous aurons donc vocation à recevoir de l’Etat, comme toutes les autres collectivités ultra-marines dans le cadre de ce plan, une juste compensation…

Enfin, même si nous n’avons pas d’octroi de mer, le fonctionnement et l’investissement de notre Collectivité dépendent du niveau de nos recettes fiscales.

En 2019, avec 107 M€ et au bout de plus de deux années d’efforts et de sacrifices, nous étions revenus au niveau d’avant IRMA, celui de l’année 2016, avec 105 M. €.

Cette nouvelle crise va nous faire revenir en arrière, et nous attendons une perte de recettes sur 2020 : entre 12 M€ (au mieux, si les restrictions aériennes sont enfin levées et si le tourisme repart en Juillet…) et 20 M€ (si ces restrictions se poursuivent, entraînant un effondrement du secteur touristique saint-martinois).

blank

Article sponsorisé par:

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT