Caribbean Foiling Championships (3rd edition): A great show not to be missed under any circumstances!

0

From December 9 to 11, the 3rd edition of the Caribbean Foiling Championships will take place in Orient Bay. An event not to be missed under any circumstances for board sports enthusiasts!

Like previous editions, the best competitors on the planet will be present in the heavenly setting of Orient Bay. Last year, nearly 50 foilers met, taking advantage of good weather conditions to put on a colorful show.

With the addition of the new discipline (Wingfoiling) being considered a major success, the 2022 Caribbean Foiling Championships have officially included Wingfoiling in their standard format. Three disciplines will therefore be on the program Wing and Wind, Kitefoil and Wingfoiling, open to all professional and leisure classes.

The first two days will be devoted to different events, just to prepare as well as possible for the long distance race, in this case the famous tour of the island!

This is undoubtedly the appointment  the most anticipated of competitors. With no less than 26 nautical miles to cover, competitors will sail around the island of St. Maarten/St. Martin, crossing Dutch and French waters in search of setting the fastest time. Last year, Julien Quentel distinguished himself by smashing the island record with a canonical time of 1h 12m 17s, 15 minutes less than the previous record. Did you say impressive?

Belmond Hotel – La Samanna event partner

In addition to setting a (possible) new round-the-island record and the honor that comes with it, a grand prize will be up for grabs this year, courtesy of a new event partner: Belmond – The Samana. This year, the fastest foiler in the race around the island will be rewarded with a two-night stay at the luxurious Belmond – La Samanna! (worth $3000).

The new and popular Wingfoil class, unlike the Kite and Windfoil classes, will compete in a 13 nautical mile downwinder starting in Orient Bay and finishing just off Belmond La Samanna. Upon arrival on the beach, participants will be greeted by a hotel team before being transported to Orient Beach for the prize giving.

“La Samanna, a Belmond Hotel, is very pleased to sponsor and host the next Caribbean Foil Championship on the shores of Baie Longue. Bringing together all the disciplines of foiling into one thrilling event, this race has become a milestone on the island and for its community, so we couldn't be happier to support such an exciting sport, such talented athletes and make our contribution to a great weekend of sportsmanship and love for the celebration of the ocean”, underlines Francisco Sa Teixeira, regional director of sales and marketing of Belmond for the Caribbean. _AF

 7,734 total views, 4 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Caribbean Foiling Championships (3ème édition) : Un grand spectacle à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte !

0

Du 9 au 11 décembre prochain aura lieu la 3ème édition des Caribbean Foiling Championships à la Baie Orientale. Un rendez-vous à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte pour les passionnés des sports de glisse !

A l’instar des éditions précédentes, les meilleurs compétiteurs de la planète seront présents dans le cadre paradisiaque de la Baie Orientale. L’année dernière, près de 50 foilers s’étaient donnés rendez-vous, profitant de bonnes conditions météorologiques pour offrir un spectacle haut en couleurs.

L’ajout de la nouvelle discipline (Wingfoiling) étant considéré comme un succès majeur, les Championnats de Foiling des Caraïbes 2022 ont officiellement inclus le Wingfoiling dans leur format standard. Trois disciplines seront donc au programme Wing et Wind, Kitefoil et Wingfoiling, ouvertes à toutes les classes professionnelles et loisirs.

Les deux premières journées seront consacrées à différentes épreuves, histoire de se préparer au mieux pour la course longue distance, en l’occurrence le fameux tour de l’île !

C’est sans conteste le rendez-vous  le plus attendu des concurrents. Avec pas moins de 26 milles nautiques à parcourir, les concurrents navigueront autour de l’île de St. Maarten/St. Martin, traversant les eaux néerlandaises et françaises à la recherche de réaliser le meilleur temps. L’année dernière, Julien Quentel s’était distingué en pulvérisant le record de l’île avec un temps canon de 1h 12m 17s, soit 15 minutes de moins que le précédent record. Vous avez dit impressionnant ?

Belmond Hôtel – La Samanna partenaire de l’événement

En plus de l’établissement d’un (possible) nouveau record du tour de l’île et de l’honneur qui en découle, un grand prix sera à gagner cette année, offert par un nouveau partenaire de l’événement : Belmond – La Samanna. Cette année, le foiler le plus rapide de la course autour de l’île sera récompensé par un séjour de deux nuits au luxueux Belmond – La Samanna ! (d’une valeur de 3000 $).

La nouvelle et populaire classe Wingfoil, à la différence des classes Kite et Windfoil, participera à un downwinder de 13 miles nautiques partant d’Orient Bay et finissant juste devant Belmond La Samanna. À leur arrivée sur la plage, les participants seront accueillis par une équipe de l’hôtel avant d’être transportés à Orient Beach pour la remise des prix.

« La Samanna, un hôtel Belmond, est très heureux de parrainer et d’accueillir sur les rives de Baie Longue le prochain championnat de foil des Caraïbes. Réunissant toutes les disciplines du foil en un seul événement palpitant, cette course est devenue une étape importante dans l’île et pour sa communauté, nous ne pourrions donc pas être plus heureux de soutenir un sport aussi passionnant, des athlètes aussi talentueux et d’apporter notre contribution à un grand week-end de sportivité et d’amour pour la célébration de l’océan », souligne Francisco Sa Teixeira, directeur régional des ventes et du marketing de Belmond pour les Caraïbes. _AF

 7,897 vues totales,  18 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :