Rescue / Distress rocket fired in error: the SNSM files a complaint!

0

In the night from Saturday to Sunday, the CROSS Antilles-Guyane calls the Saint-Martin rescue station for a distress rocket launch in the Cul de Sac / Pinel / Tintamarre sector.

Four volunteer team members meet at the station to pick up the equipment and set off at 23:35 p.m. with the Rescue Star, heading for Cul de Sac. It will turn out to be a false alarm. But rescuers will not know until they have intervened.

“In the evening of Saturday, the CROSS was alerted by two different witnesses on the ground, concerning a red rocket launch; one estimates the shooting in the bay of Cul de Sac, the second in the alignment of Cul de Sac, but more offshore, between Pinel and Tintamarre ", relates the SNSM. The CROSS asks the gendarmes to send a pedestrian patrol on Cul de Sac and the SNSM to leave.

“When we arrived in the area, near the landfill, the CROSS first asked us to make an offshore reconnaissance. His reasoning is to always start with the farthest, because, if people are in trouble offshore, there is less chance that they will do it alone than in a bay, close to the shore, where others people are likely to be able to help them, ”explains SNSM. “The CROSS therefore gives us four GPS points and asks us to connect these four points, going from the landfill to Tintamarre, then going up to the North, and then due West to make a square around the area. Two catamarans are at anchor in Tintamarre; we wake up the people on board and ask them if they have seen anything. The two crews have been in the area since the day and have seen nothing unusual, ”she continues.

Equipped with thermal binoculars with a range of 1800m, and a searchlight, the rescuers scan the entire area, but do not observe any sign of distress.

“The CROSS then asks us to go for a ride in the Cul de Sac Bay. We take the small pass between Cul de Sac and Pinel and arrive at the anchorage in front of Pinel, where there are several boats at anchor. Fortunately there are people outside on one of the catas; so no need to wake people up this time! The boat's skipper, a serious, professional and credible person whom we know well, confirms to us that he saw the distress rocket; but he tells us that it was fired from the ground and that it landed on the roof of the old Mont Vernon hotel. “, Says the SNSM.

The skipper explains to the rescuers that he went to check with his boat dinghy if a person was really in danger. “When he got to the beach, he saw no sign of anyone in distress, no lights, no ship, and no one. He then returned to his boat and watched the area; but, until our arrival, he saw nothing else; no additional rocket fire; nothing at all ”, reports the SNSM which transmitted this information to the CROSS, which gives it freedom to maneuver at 1:25 am.

The SNSM wishes good night to the people on board the catamaran and leaves the area to return to the Fort Louis marina. The Rescue Star is dropped off at 02:00 a.m.

"For our volunteer team members, it was another useless outing, a shortened night's sleep, because of irresponsible fools on the beach," comments the owner of the SNSM.

This type of intervention is not the first. Last August, a crew had already left unnecessarily in the middle of the night because a rocket had been fired when no one was in danger. Unnecessarily provoking the deployment of human and material aid is a crime. "The author  incurs  up to € 30 fine and two years imprisonment according to the Code of Criminal Procedure, ”said the SNSM. This is why she decided to file a systematic complaint with the gendarmerie in the event of a false alarm; its first will concern the incident that occurred during the night of Saturday to Sunday.

Anyone who, by mistake or accident, sets off a distress rocket is asked to contact the CROSS, the gendarmerie or the SNSM (0690 76 57 00) to warn them not to engage emergency means.

The SNSM recalls that the hand flares or red rockets must be used only in the event of real distress.

 7,849 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Sauvetage / Fusée de détresse tirée par erreur : la SNSM porte plainte !

0

Dans la nuit de samedi à dimanche, le CROSS Antilles-Guyane appelle la station de sauvetage de Saint-Martin pour un tir de fusée de détresse dans le secteur de Cul de Sac / Pinel / Tintamarre.

Quatre équipiers bénévoles se retrouvent à la station pour prendre le matériel et appareillent à 23h35 avec la Rescue Star, en direction de Cul de Sac. Il va s’avérer qu’il s’agit d’une fausse alerte. Mais les sauveteurs ne le sauront qu’une fois être intervenus.

« Dans la soirée de samedi, le CROSS est alerté par deux différents témoins à terre, concernant un tir de fusée rouge ; l’un estime le tir dans la baie de Cul de Sac, le second dans l’alignement de Cul de Sac, mais plus au large, entre Pinel et Tintamarre », relate la SNSM. Le CROSS demande aux gendarmes d’envoyer une patrouille pédestre sur Cul de Sac et à la SNSM de partir.

«A notre arrivée sur zone, près de la décharge, le CROSS nous demande d’abord de faire une reconnaissance au large. Son raisonnement est de toujours commencer par le plus loin, car, si des gens sont en difficulté au large, il y a moins de chance qu’ils s’en sortent seuls que dans une baie, proche de la terre, où d’autres personnes sont susceptibles de pouvoir les aider», explique la SNSM. «Le CROSS nous donne donc quatre points GPS et nous demande de relier ces quatre points, en allant de la décharge vers Tintamarre, puis en remontant au Nord, et ensuite plein Ouest pour faire un carré autour de la zone. Deux catamarans sont au mouillage à Tintamarre ; nous réveillons les gens à bord et leur demandons s’ils ont vu quelque chose. Les deux équipages sont sur zone depuis la journée et n’ont rien vu d’anormal », poursuit-elle.

Équipés de jumelles thermiques ayant une portée de 1800m, et d’un projecteur de recherche, les sauveteurs scannent toute la zone, mais n’observent aucun signe de détresse.

«Le CROSS nous demande alors d’aller faire un tour dans la Baie de Cul de Sac. Nous prenons la petite passe entre Cul de Sac et Pinel et arrivons au mouillage devant Pinel, où il y a plusieurs bateaux à l’ancre. Heureusement il y a du monde dehors sur l’un des catas ; donc pas besoin de réveiller les gens cette fois-ci ! Le skipper du bateau, une personne sérieuse, professionnelle et crédible que nous connaissons bien, nous confirme avoir vu la fusée de détresse ; mais il nous dit qu’elle a été tirée depuis la terre et qu’elle a atterri sur le toit de l’ancien hôtel Mont Vernon. », raconte la SNSM.

Le skipper explique aux sauveteurs être allé vérifier avec son annexe de bateau si une personne était réellement en danger. «Arrivé devant la plage, il n’a vu aucun signe de personne en détresse, aucune lumière, aucun navire, ni personne. Il est alors retourné vers son bateau et a surveillé la zone ; mais, jusqu’à notre arrivée, il n’a rien vu d’autre ; pas de tir de fusée supplémentaire ; rien du tout », rapporte la SNSM qui a transmis ces informations au CROSS, lequel lui donne liberté de manœuvre à 1h25 du matin.

La SNSM souhaite bonne nuit aux personnes à bord du catamaran et quitte la zone pour retourner à la marina Fort Louis. La Rescue Star est remise à quai à 02h00 du matin.

«Pour nos équipiers bénévoles, c’était encore une sortie inutile, une nuit de sommeil écourtée, à cause d’imbéciles irresponsables sur la plage », commente la patronne de la SNSM.

Ce type d’intervention n’est pas la première. En août dernier, un équipage était déjà sorti inutilement en pleine nuit car une fusée avait été tirée alors que personne n’était en danger. Le fait de provoquer inutilement le déploiement de moyens de secours humains et matériels est un délit. «L’auteur  encourt  jusqu’à 30 000 € d’amende et deux ans emprisonnement selon le code de procédure pénale », souligne la SNSM. C’est pourquoi elle a décidé de porter systématique plainte à la gendarmerie en cas de fausse alerte ; sa première concernera l’incident survenu dans la nuit de samedi à dimanche.

Il est demandé à toute personne qui, par erreur ou accident, fait partir une fusée de détresse de contacter le CROSS, la gendarmerie ou la SNSM (0690 76 57 00) pour les prévenir de ne pas engager de moyens de secours.

La SNSM rappelle que les feux à main ou fusées rouges doivent être utilisés uniquement en cas de détresse réelle.

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT