Readers' letter: A Saint-Martin resident calls out to the Minister of Overseas Territories

0

The social and economic situation of a territory that I love means that today I decide to share my thoughts with you while alerting the Minister in charge of Overseas, Sébastien Lecornu.

“Mr. Sébastien Lecornu, the social situation linked to the closure of the border between Saint Martin and Sint Maarten as well as the prohibition of schoolchildren on the French side from re-entering the school year, are causing more and more hostilities vis-à-vis these restrictions.

Mr Minister, it seems important to me to act. The gendarmes posted at the borders are on the teeth. They are the victims of abuse by motorists who lose patience because they are stranded for nearly 45 minutes at rush hour where traffic is normally fluid.

Mr Minister, think of the economy of this island which without any reaction from you to reason with the decision maker, will sink without ever being able to get up.

Mr Minister, on Friday September 4 at 18 p.m., a press release was published by the competent authority in charge of border management in order to contradict the alarming social diagnosis revealed by general practitioners on the island.

Mr Minister, this press release calls into question the professional capacities of the doctors involved in the life of the island for decades.  They showed their professionalism and their attachment to the people of Saint-Martin, 3 years ago, by going for free treatment in the street, after the worst climate disaster hit a French territory. Some have even been decorated.

Minister, it is time to look towards this land before it is too late.

Mr Minister, the population is tired by 3 years of repeated crises.

Mr Minister, the greatest misfortune would be that Saint Martin would not disappear forever for lack of tourists ... And medical personnel ...

A citizen of Saint-Martin

loading

About author

No comments

Courrier des lecteurs : Un résident saint-martinois interpelle le ministre des Outre-mer

0
blank

La situation sociale et économique d’un territoire que j’aime fait qu’aujourd’hui je décide de vous partager ma pensée tout en alertant le Ministre en charge des Outre-mer, Sébastien Lecornu.

« Monsieur Sébastien Lecornu, la situation sociale liée à la fermeture de la frontière entre Saint Martin et Sint Maarten ainsi que l’interdiction aux élèves scolarisés partie française de faire leur rentrée, font monter, au sein de la population, de plus en plus d’hostilités vis à vis de ces restrictions.

Mr le Ministre, il me semble important d’agir. Les Gendarmes postés aux frontières sont sur les dents. Ils sont les victimes d’invectives des automobilistes perdant patience car bloqués près de 45 minutes aux heures de pointe là où en temps normal la circulation est fluide.

Mr le Ministre, pensez à l’économie de cette île qui sans réaction de votre part pour raisonner le décideur, va sombrer sans jamais pouvoir se relever.

Mr le Ministre, le vendredi 4 septembre dernier à 18 heures, un communiqué de presse a été publié par l’autorité compétente en charge de la gestion des frontières afin de contredire le diagnostic social alarmant révélé par les médecins généralistes de l’île.

Mr le Ministre, ce communiqué remet en cause les capacités professionnelles des médecins impliqués dans la vie de l’île depuis des dizaines d’années.  Ils ont montré leur professionnalisme et leur attachement à la population saint-martinoise, il y a 3 ans, en allant soigner gratuitement dans la rue, après que la pire catastrophe climatique ait touché un territoire français. Certains ont même été décorés.

Mr le Ministre, il est temps de regarder en direction de ce territoire avant qu’il ne soit trop tard.

Mr le Ministre, la population est fatiguée par 3 ans de crises à répétition.

Mr le Ministre, le plus grand malheur serait que Saint Martin ne disparaisse à jamais par manque de touristes… Et de personnel médical…

Un citoyen saint-martinois

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT