LOCAL LIFE: The Saint-Martin slaughterhouse available to cattle breeders

0

Having obtained the health approval essential for its reopening, the Saint-Martin slaughterhouse has been in operation again since October 18, 2022. In order to fully relaunch this part of the agricultural sector, the structure is available to cattle breeders. and goats.

This Wednesday, November 23, Valérie Fonrose, president of the public establishment for the management and operation of the Saint-Martin slaughterhouse (EGEA), invited the press to the site of the slaughterhouse which adjoins the Central Kitchen in Grand- Box for a visit and a presentation of the stages of slaughter by Elie Touzé, director of the slaughterhouse, and Michel Vély, head of veterinary services. Also present, Alain Gros-Désormeaux, territorial councilor member of the office, Frantz Gumbs, deputy for Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy, and Whit Javon, butcher employed there. With a current frequency of one cattle slaughtered per week, the managers of the slaughterhouse are calling on breeders and resellers of cattle and goats to use the operational structure that meets current health and safety standards. They also want to diversify the services offered with, among other things, the installation of a meat cutting and maturing workshop. The guided tour followed the circuit taken by an animal brought to the slaughterhouse. Past the entrance to the cattle ranch, the cattle are examined by veterinary inspector Wilfried Clark who checks their state of health before authorizing slaughter.

The animal then enters the structure through a special door to be stunned by electronarcosis, a process which triggers the immediate loss of consciousness, and bled directly to ensure the sanitary quality of the meat. Once the animal has been skinned and the carcass prepared and weighed, traceability and hygiene are continuously ensured throughout the production chain, with a second veterinary inspection and placement in a cold room. EGEA, the COM and the State are working together to ensure the sustainability of the livestock sector in Saint-Martin and hope to work together with breeders in this regard. As a reminder, illegal felling is punishable by 6 months' imprisonment and a fine of €7.000. _Vx

 4,661 total views, 28 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

VIE LOCALE : L’abattoir de Saint-Martin à disposition des éleveurs de bétail

0

Ayant obtenu l’agrément sanitaire indispensable à sa réouverture, l’abattoir de Saint-Martin est à nouveau en activité depuis le 18 octobre 2022. Afin de relancer pleinement ce volet de la filière agricole, la structure est à la disposition des éleveurs de bovins et de caprins.

Ce mercredi 23 novembre, Valérie Fonrose, présidente de l’établissement public de gestion et d’exploitation de l’abattoir de Saint-Martin (EGEA), invitait la presse sur le site de l’abattoir qui jouxte la Cuisine Centrale à Grand-Case pour une visite et une présentation des étapes d’abattage par Elie Touzé, directeur de l’abattoir, et Michel Vély, chef des services vétérinaires. Également présents, Alain Gros-Désormeaux, conseiller territorial membre du bureau, Frantz Gumbs, député de Saint-Martin et Saint-Barthélemy, et Whit Javon, boucher employé là-bas. Avec une fréquence actuelle d’un bovin abattu par semaine, les gestionnaires de l’abattoir appellent les éleveurs et revendeurs de bovins et de caprins à utiliser la structure opérationnelle qui répond aux normes en vigueur d’hygiène et de sécurité. Ils souhaitent en outre diversifier les services proposés avec, entre autres, l’installation d’un atelier de découpe et de mise en maturation de la viande. La visite guidée suivait le circuit emprunté par une bête amenée à l’abattoir. Passé l’entrée jusqu’à la bouverie, le bovin est examiné par l’inspecteur vétérinaire Wilfried Clark qui vérifie son état de santé avant d’autoriser l’abattage.

L’animal entre alors dans la structure par une porte spéciale pour y être étourdi par électronarcose, procédé qui déclenche la perte de conscience immédiate de celui-ci, et saigné directement pour assurer la qualité sanitaire de la viande. Une fois l’animal dépouillé et la carcasse préparée et pesée, la traçabilité et l’hygiène sont assurées en continu tout au long de la chaîne de production, avec une seconde inspection vétérinaire et un placement en chambre froide. EGEA, la COM et l’État œuvrent ensemble à la durabilité de la filière de l’élevage à Saint-Martin et espèrent travailler conjointement avec les éleveurs dans cette optique. Pour rappel, l’abattage illégal est passible de 6 mois d’emprisonnement et de 7.000€ d’amende. _Vx

 4,623 vues totales,  20 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments