Passing on your wealth: tax measures that benefit families

0

In the presence of the director of the tax department David Girardot and the director general of services (DGS) Philippe Million, the president of the Community Aline Hanson presented last week to the press a booklet detailing the temporary measures, voted in March by the Council territorial, in matters of property taxation. This document will allow Saint-Martin families to see more clearly.   

The President recalled the two main objectives of these measures - to promote the settlement of inheritances and to promote economic development by freeing up land - but also the importance of having in one's possession a valid title deed. Without this document, it is impossible for families to pass on their heritage. "The absence of title deeds limits land transactions and reduces the possibilities of private and public investment," said Aline Hanson.

Encourage donations and end joint ownership

All types of donations are tax exempt, regardless of the value of the heritage transmitted (until December 31, 2016). The COM, which also wishes to promote the exit of joint ownership, "will not collect any tax if the heirs decide to end joint ownership by dividing the property concerned", explained the president (until December 31, 2016).

Free up available land

In order to promote economic development, "the Territorial Council did not vote a scoop, but purely and simply provided for a total exemption from the capital gains made on the sale of building land or land supporting ruins", indicated the President, adding that to further increase the effectiveness of this measure, the Council has provided in certain cases, a reduced registration fee for buyers (until July 31, 2017).

A cadastre that leaves something to be desired

According to David Girardot, "we cannot talk about freeing up land, without mentioning the updating of the cadastre which is not technically reliable", "there is an important job to do" in Saint-Martin. Last May, the President of the Republic François Hollande announced a mission to the territory with state surveyors, responsible for carrying out technical work. At the end of this mission, in progress since last November 16, a report will be produced. "We then hope that large-scale operations will be launched to allow the COM to have a reliable cadastre," reported Mr. Girardot. "It is very meticulous work", underlined Philippe Million. “We have been asking for this work for many years. It was the arrival of the president who helped unblock this subject, ”added Mr. Girardot. This mission will run until next December 11.

All these measures relating to the taxation of heritage are detailed in a booklet, soon translated into English, available in many places on the territory - CCISM, Tourist Office, neighborhood councils and at La Poste - and also online on the site of the COM. The President also took the opportunity to point out that the guide “Doing Business In Saint-Martin” has been reissued in French and English and that “it still arouses great interest from investors”.

 6,512 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Transmettre son patrimoine : des mesures fiscales avantageuses pour les familles

0

En présence du directeur du pôle fiscalité David Girardot et du directeur général des services (DGS) Philippe Million, la présidente de la Collectivité Aline Hanson a présenté la semaine dernière à la presse un livret détaillant les mesures temporaires, votées en mars dernier par le Conseil territorial, en matière de fiscalité du patrimoine. Ce document permettra aux familles saint-martinoises d’y voir plus clair.   

La présidente a rappelé les deux grands objectifs de ces mesures – favoriser le règlement des successions et favoriser le développement économique en libérant le foncier – mais aussi l’importance d’avoir en sa possession un titre de propriété valide. Sans ce document, il est impossible pour les familles de transmettre leur patrimoine. «L’absence de titres de propriété limite les transactions foncières et réduit les possibilités d’investissements privés comme publics», précisait Aline Hanson.

Encourager les donations et mettre fin aux indivisions

Tous les types de donations  sont exonérés d’impôt, quelle que soit la valeur du patrimoine transmis (jusqu’au 31 décembre 2016). La COM, qui souhaite également favoriser la sortie des indivisions successorales, «ne percevra aucun impôt si les héritiers décident de mettre fin à une indivision en réalisant le partage des biens concernés», expliquait la présidente (jusqu’au 31 décembre 2016).

Libérer le foncier disponible

Afin de favoriser le développement économique, «le Conseil territorial n’a pas voté une mesurette, mais a purement et simplement prévu une exonération totale des plus-values réalisées lors de la cession de terrains constructibles ou de terrains supportant des ruines», indiquait la présidente, ajoutant que pour accroître davantage l’efficacité de cette mesure, le conseil a prévu dans certains cas, un droit d’enregistrement réduit pour les acquéreurs (jusqu’au 31 juillet 2017).

Un cadastre qui laisse à désirer

Selon David Girardot, «on ne peut pas parler de libérer le foncier, sans évoquer la mise à jour du cadastre qui n’est pas techniquement fiable», «il y a un important travail à faire» à Saint-Martin. En mai dernier, le président de la République François Hollande avait annoncé une mission sur le territoire avec des géomètres de l’Etat, chargés de mener des travaux techniques. A l’issue de cette mission, en cours depuis le 16 novembre dernier, un rapport sera réalisé. «On espère ensuite que seront déclenchées des opérations de grande ampleur pour permettre à la COM de disposer d’un cadastre fiable», rapportait M. Girardot. «C’est un travail très méticuleux», soulignait Philippe Million. «Ces travaux, on les demande depuis de nombreuses années. C’est la venue du président qui a permis de débloquer ce sujet», ajoutait M. Girardot. Cette mission se déroulera jusqu’au 11 décembre prochain.

Toutes ces mesures relatives à la fiscalité du patrimoine sont détaillées dans un livret, prochainement traduit en anglais, disponible dans de nombreux endroits sur le territoire – CCISM, Office de Tourisme, conseils de quartier et à La Poste – et également en ligne sur le site de la COM. La présidente a également profité de cette occasion pour préciser que le guide «Doing Business In Saint-Martin» a été réédité en français et en anglais et qu’ «il suscite toujours un grand intérêt de la part des investisseurs».

 1,065 vues totales,  6 vues aujourd'hui

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT