Sargassum: collection on land remains the only effective means in Saint-Martin

0

Since the beginning of the phenomenon at the end of April, 2 tonnes of sargassum have been collected by the company mandated by the Collectivity. This is already twice the average annual volume collected in Saint-Martin. 300 is already considered a record year.

Cul de Sac, Orient Bay, Mont Vernon, the Galion and Oyster Pond are the main grounding sites for brown algae in the French part of the island. They are picked up either by hand or with machines on the ground. Collecting them in the water at the entrance to Cul de Sac Bay, the main place of stranding, is impossible due to a too low draft, authorities say.

"Collecting them daily is the only effective way," notes Philippe Gustin, prefect of Guadeloupe who came to observe the work of the teams on Saturday morning at Cul de Sac.

Machines collect the algae in the water (2/3 meters from the edge) and deposit them on the beach where they are put by another excavator in a bucket to be directly taken to the eco-site in Grandes Cayes where they are dried and processed. In the most delicate places from an ecological point of view, the green brigades will intervene. This is particularly the case on Galion Beach.

(More details on www.soualigapost.com)

 6,744 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Sargasses : le ramassage sur terre demeure l’unique moyen efficace à Saint-Martin

0

Depuis le début du phénomène fin avril, 2 300 tonnes de sargasses ont été ramassées par l’entreprise mandatée par la Collectivité. C’est déjà deux fois que le volume moyen annuel collecté à Saint-Martin. 2018 est déjà considérée comme une année record.

Cul de Sac, Baie orientale, Mont Vernon, le Galion et Oyster Pond sont les principaux sites d’échouage des algues brunes en partie française de l’île. Elles sont ramassées soit à la main soit avec des machines à terre. Les ramasser dans l’eau à l’entrée de la baie de Cul de Sac, principal lieu d’échouage, est impossible en raison d’un tirant d’eau trop faible, indiquent les autorités.

«Les ramasser quotidiennement est le seul moyen efficace», constate Philippe Gustin, préfet de Guadeloupe venu observer le travail des équipes samedi matin à Cul de Sac.

Des engins ramassent les algues dans l’eau (à 2/3 mètres du bord) et les déposent sur la plage où elles sont mises par une autre pelleteuse dans une benne pour être directement emmenées à l’éco-site à Grandes Cayes où elles sont séchées et traitées. Sur les lieux les plus délicats d’un point de vue écologique, les brigades vertes interviendront. C’est notamment le cas sur la plage du Galion.

(Plus de détails sur www.soualigapost.com)

 6,680 vues totales

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :