ECONOMY: IEDOM presents 2023 figures for SXM

0

Thierry Beltrand, director of the Institute of Issue of Overseas Departments Agency (IEDOM) Guadeloupe, unveiled this Monday, May 13 in the company of prefect Vincent Berton the economic results for 2023 and the first trends for 2024 for Saint -Martin. Positive outcome.

Tourism

Air traffic is almost back to pre-crisis levels. With around 500.000 passengers (395.000 Juliana, 103.000 Grand-Case) in 2023, the island's total air traffic has exceeded its pre-health crisis level and is approaching the 636.000 passengers in 2016. 2023 confirms the stability and resilience of Grand Case airport. Passenger traffic collapsed at Juliana airport after Irma (178.000) and during the health crisis (93.000) and has not yet returned to its pre-crisis level following (re-)construction delays . Over the first two months of 2024, the number of passengers arriving on the island of Saint-Martin is 12% higher year-on-year and 43% higher than in 2019. A slight drop in traffic is noted in Grand-Case ( -3%) while that of Juliana continues its recovery (+15%).

The cruise

Cruising is rebounding significantly (x5 over one year) but remains marginal on the French side with 6.118 passengers disembarking in 2023. In Sint Maarten, nearly 1.320.000 passengers in 2023 (+56% over one year) despite almost flat activity. shutdown during the health crisis. Cruising in 2023 was at 80% of its 2019 level and 63% of the 2014 peak (more than 2M passengers).

Inter-island maritime traffic

Maritime traffic with Anguilla recovered well in 2023 (76% of its pre-crisis level) and that between SXM and Saint-Barthélemy broke new records: +16% with 230.389 passengers, of which 25% embarked/disembarkated in Marigot. In January and February 2024, inter-island activity continues to increase, +19% compared to the first two months of 2023 for Anguilla and +35% for SBH.

Construction

The beneficial effects of post-Irma reconstruction are gradually fading. Cement consumption is apparently decreasing by 69% over one year, impacted by inflation and strong competition on sales partly in the Netherlands. The sector's salaried workforce stabilizes in the 4th quarter of 2023 (623) with activity driven by private construction and public procurement.

Employment in the hotel/restaurant industry

In the 4th quarter of 2023, the job market is improving (+12%), mainly in the hotel/restaurant sector (+62% over 3 months, 1658 employees, +7% over one year). Despite a total workforce of 7629 employees across all sectors in 2023, the unemployment rate is around 26%.

Banking activity

As of December 31, 2023, banking activity in Saint-Martin shows an increase of 15% in loans (€617,7M compared to €535,6M in 2022): +20% for businesses (€409,6M) and +12 % households (€190M). Investment loans to businesses are dynamic (+38%) and contribute to growth in outstandings, followed by real estate loans (+7%). Operating credits fell (-12%) after the 'boom' of EMPs in 2020/2021. Financial assets stabilize at €564,8 million (+0,3% over one year compared to €563,2 million in 2022) with an increase of 4% for households and a decrease of 2,4% for businesses (problems of Treasury).

The PGE (state-guaranteed loan)

At the end of June 2023, 97% of EMPs entered the repayment phase (4% fully reimbursed, 85% reimbursed over 6 years). The retail sector is the main beneficiary of PGE, in number (27%) and amount (38%), followed by hotels & restaurants (18%). The PGE system benefited 356 Saint-Martin entities for a total amount of €39M (8% of all PGEs granted in Guadeloupe and the Northern Islands).

Very encouraging results for Prefect Vincent Berton, particularly on credits with real investment dynamism. It remains to be seen how the Saint-Martin population can benefit from this prosperity. _VX

loading

No comments

ÉCONOMIE : L’IEDOM présente les chiffres 2023 pour SXM

0

Thierry Beltrand, directeur de l’Institut d’émission des départements d’outre- l’agence (IEDOM) Guadeloupe, a dévoilé ce lundi 13 mai en compagnie du préfet Vincent Berton les résultats économiques de 2023 et les premières tendances de 2024 pour Saint-Martin. Bilan positif.

Le tourisme

Le trafic aérien retrouve presque ses niveaux d’avant-crises. Avec environ 500.000 passagers (395.000 Juliana, 103.000 Grand-Case) en 2023, la fréquentation aérienne totale de l’île a dépassé son niveau d’avant crise sanitaire et se rapproche des 636.000 passagers de 2016. 2023 confirme la stabilité et la résilience de l’aéroport de Grand-Case. Le trafic de passagers s’est effondré à l’aéroport de Juliana après Irma (178.000) et pendant la crise sanitaire (93.000) et n’a pas encore retrouvé son niveau d’avant-crises suite aux retards de (re-)construction. Sur les deux premiers mois de 2024, le nombre de passagers arrivés sur l’île de Saint-Martin est supérieur de 12% sur un an et de 43% par rapport à 2019. Une légère baisse du trafic est constatée à Grand-Case (-3%) quand celui de Juliana poursuit son redressement (+15%).

La croisière

La croisière rebondit significativement (x5 sur un an) mais reste marginale du côté français avec 6.118 passagers débarqués en 2023. À Sint Maarten, près de 1.320.000 passagers en 2023 (+56% sur un an) malgré une activité quasi à l’arrêt durant la crise sanitaire. La croisière se situait en 2023 à 80% de son niveau de 2019 et à 63% du pic de 2014 (plus de 2M de passagers).

Le trafic maritime inter-îles

Le trafic maritime avec Anguilla a bien repris en 2023 (76% de son niveau d’avant-crises) et celui entre SXM et Saint-Barthélemy a battu de nouveaux records : +16% avec 230.389 passagers, dont 25% ont embarqué/débarqué à Marigot. En janvier et février 2024, l’activité inter-îles poursuit sa hausse, +19% par rapport aux deux premiers mois de 2023 pour Anguilla et +35% pour SBH.

Le BTP

Les effets bénéfiques de la reconstruction post-Irma s’estompent peu à peu. La consommation de ciment diminue en apparence de 69% sur un an, impactée par l’inflation et la forte concurrence sur les ventes en partie hollandaise. Les effectifs salariés du secteur se stabilisent au 4ème trimestre de 2023 (623) sur une activité tirée par les constructions privées et la commande publique.

L’emploi en hôtellerie/restauration

Au 4ème trimestre 2023, le marché du travail s’améliore (+12%), principalement dans le secteur de l’hôtellerie/restauration (+62% sur 3 mois, 1658 salariés, +7% sur un an). Malgré un effectif total de 7629 salariés tous secteurs confondus en 2023, le taux de chômage tourne autour de 26%.

L’activité bancaire

Au 31 décembre 2023, l’activité bancaire à Saint-Martin montre une augmentation de 15% des crédits (617,7M€ contre 535,6M€ en 2022) : +20% pour les entreprises (409,6M€) et +12% les ménages (190M€). Les crédits d’investissement aux entreprises sont dynamiques (+38%) et contribuent à la croissance de l’encours, suivis par les crédits immobiliers (+7%). Les crédits d’exploitation reculent (-12%) après le ‘boom’ des PGE en 2020/2021. Les actifs financiers se stabilisent à 564,8M€ (+0,3% sur un an contre 563,2M€ en 2022) avec une hausse de 4% pour les ménages et une baisse de 2,4% pour les entreprises (difficultés de trésorerie).

Le PGE (prêt garanti par l’État)

À fin juin 2023, 97% des PGE sont entrés en phase de remboursement (4% intégralement remboursés, 85% remboursés sur 6 ans). Le secteur du commerce est le principal bénéficiaire de PGE, en nombre (27%) comme en montant (38%), suivi des hôtels & restaurants (18%). Le dispositif PGE a bénéficié à 356 entités saint-martinoises pour un montant total de 39M€ (8% de la totalité des PGE accordés en Guadeloupe et dans les Îles du Nord).

Bilan très encourageant pour le préfet Vincent Berton, notamment sur les crédits avec un vrai dynamisme d’investissement. Reste à savoir comment faire bénéficier la population saint-martinoise de cette prospérité. _Vx

 408 vues totales

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :