CULTURE: Exhibition and debate on body-shaming

0

Cameron Hyman, a Saint-Martin photographer whose talent continues to be praised, joined forces for an evening with his sister Zoya, therapist and representative of "Therapist Talks", to offer an exhibition of photographs and a discussion open to different themes such as body-shaming (criticism of the physique), body dysmorphia, self-esteem, pressure from social networks and society's standards of beauty. 

Organized at the Indisu Dance Theater in Cole Bay, the evening entitled “Isn't she enough?” therefore addressed themes of capital importance in a period when the image of the body and the perceptions of others represent a psychological pressure for all generations. Six photographs taken by Cameron Hyman were exhibited, six photographs representing the bodies of women of different morphology, in the most total normality. As a photographer, Cameron shared his vision of the human body, his benevolent way of working with his models and his desire to change mentalities on the standards of beauty dictated by the criteria of fashion and society. 

“The concept of ugliness has no place. No one should call someone ugly. If you can find someone ugly, I can find him beautiful. It's a matter of type, not ugliness. Zoya, a forensic mental health counselor, supports her brother's point. “I struggled with my image and my body for over 20 years. I decided to banish the word ugliness from my vocabulary. Nothing and no one is ugly because ugliness is a subjective concept based on one's physical preferences. Zoya Hyman recounted the fight she led with herself to come to love herself as she is, with the body she has, and above all, not to be discouraged in the face of criticism or remarks from others who engender a feeling of shame towards oneself. The thirty people present at the exhibition and the debate listened to the young woman confide in all humility, with humor and great emotion. Some testimonials from participants fueled the open discussion, discussing the culture of beauty or even the shackles of today's society where the impact of social networks can have serious consequences on self-esteem. One of the participants had these words of great wisdom: “No matter what happens, no matter what people say, you have to love yourself, accept yourself as you are, be kind to yourself and others. Because if you don't have anything nice to say, shut up. » This first edition of « Isn't she enough? left the audience of women and men of all ages feeling listened to, recognized, supported and understood. Let's hope that this great initiative by Cameron and Zoya Hyman will soon be renewed so that the concept of beauty continues to evolve in the collective consciousness. _Vx

Info: www.cameronhyman.com

Facebook: Therapist Talks

 619 total views, 3 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

CULTURE : Exposition et débat sur le body-shaming

0

Cameron Hyman, photographe saint-martinois dont le talent ne cesse d’être encensé, s’est associé le temps d’une soirée avec sa sœur Zoya, thérapeute et représentante de « Therapist Talks », pour proposer une exposition de photographies et une discussion ouverte sur différentes thématiques comme le body-shaming (critique sur le physique), la dysmorphie corporelle, l’estime de soi, la pression des réseaux sociaux et les standards de beauté de la société. 

Organisée à l’Indisu Dance Theater à Cole Bay, la soirée intitulée “Isn’t she enough?” abordait donc des thèmes d’une importance capitale dans une période où l’image du corps et les perceptions des autres représentent une pression psychologique pour toutes les générations. Six photographies réalisées par Cameron Hyman étaient exposées, six photographies représentant le corps de femmes de morphologie différente, dans une normalité la plus totale. En sa qualité de photographe, Cameron a partagé sa vision du corps humain, sa façon bienveillante de travailler avec ses mannequins et sa volonté à faire évoluer les mentalités sur les standards de beauté dictés par les critères de mode et de la société. 

« Le concept de laideur n’a pas lieu d’être. Personne ne devrait dire de quelqu’un qu’il est laid. Si toi, tu peux trouver quelqu’un laid, moi, je peux le trouver beau. C’est une question de type, pas de laideur. » Zoya, conseillère médico-légale en santé mentale, appuie le propos de son frère. « J’ai bataillé avec mon image et mon corps pendant plus de 20 ans. J’ai décidé de bannir le mot laideur de mon vocabulaire. » Rien ni personne n’est laid car la laideur est un concept subjectif basé sur les préférences physiques de chacun. Zoya Hyman a raconté la combat qu’elle a mené avec elle-même pour parvenir à s’aimer telle qu’elle est, avec le corps qu’elle a, et surtout, à ne pas se laisser abattre face aux critiques ou remarques des autres qui engendrent un sentiment de honte envers soi. La trentaine de personnes présentes à l’exposition et au débat ont écouté la jeune femme se confier en toute humilité, avec humour et grande émotion. Certains témoignages de participant.e.s ont nourri la discussion ouverte, échangeant sur la culture de la beauté ou encore des carcans de la société d’aujourd’hui où l’impact des réseaux sociaux peut avoir de lourdes conséquences sur l’estime de soi. Une des participantes a eu ces mots d’une grande sagesse : « Quoiqu’il arrive, quoique les gens disent, il faut s’aimer, s’accepter tel que l’on est, être bienveillant envers soi et les autres. Car si tu n’as rien de gentil à dire, tais-toi. » Cette première édition de « Isn’t she enough ? » a laissé le public composé de femmes et d’hommes de tous âges avec le sentiment d’avoir été écouté, reconnu, soutenu et compris. Espérons que cette belle initiative de Cameron et Zoya Hyman sera prochainement reconduite pour que le concept de beauté continue d’évoluer dans la conscience collective. _Vx

Infos : www.cameronhyman.com

Facebook : Therapist Talks

 5,745 vues totales

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :