Marina Fort-Louis: The SNSM story after the sinking of the Silver Queen

0

“A few days after having spent a large part of their day last Tuesday on the water for“ Scoobi Too ”, our team members are called shortly after midday, Friday February 10, for“ a sinking boat ”in the Marina Fort Louis .

We are asked for our assistance with our motor pump and divers if possible.

A quarter of an hour later, we are already in the area and one of our team members climbs into a small annex with our motor pump in order to go to the boat immediately to assess the situation and ensure that there is no missing or injured, while we wait for other crew members with the diving equipment before setting off with the Rescue Star.

The staff of Marina Fort Louis and other people from nearby boats are there to lend a hand.

The hydrophilic fire brigade also arrives in the area with their boat and pump; a firefighter is transferred to our Rescue Star to take stock, but we all agree that we cannot pump at the moment.

Our teammate helps the marina staff to remove equipment from the Silver Queen; they put a maximum of them in appendices which go back and forth to try to save what they can.

Bailout companies arrive on the scene with divers and equipment (balloons / straps, tarpaulins, etc.). As they are specialized in this kind of operation, our diver goes back on board and we let the divers take over.

We recover our team member who is on the SILVER QUEEN; it is almost entirely underwater and unfortunately we can not do anything for it….

The SNSM station in Saint-Martin has limited resources; our Rescue Star semi-rigid is very good for “quick” interventions (to help people in immediate danger), but for big interventions like this week (Scoobi Too and Silver Queen) we can't do much, Unfortunately. So we need you, donor readers, to help us get a real more powerful star again.

Support us with your donations to the order of the SNSM Station of Saint-Martin (18, Bd du Dr. Hubert Petit, Front de mer de Marigot, 97150 SAINT-MARTIN). Thank you in advance !

 6,698 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Marina Fort-Louis : Le récit de la SNSM après le naufrage du Silver Queen

0

« Quelques jours après avoir passé une grosse partie de leur journée de mardi dernier sur l’eau pour « Scoobi Too », nos équipiers sont appelés peu après midi, le vendredi 10 février, pour “un bateau qui coule” dans la Marina Fort Louis.

On nous demande notre assistance avec notre motopompe et des plongeurs si possible.

Un quart d’heure plus tard, nous sommes déjà sur zone et un de nos équipiers monte dans une petite annexe avec notre motopompe afin de se rendre sur le bateau immédiatement pour évaluer la situation et s’assurer qu’il n’y a pas de disparus ou blessés, pendant que nous attendons d’autres équipiers avec le matériel de plongée avant d’appareiller avec la Rescue Star.

Le staff de la Marina Fort Louis et d’autres gens venus de bateaux aux alentours sont présents pour apporter un coup de main.

La brigade hydrophile des pompiers arrive aussi sur zone avec leur embarcation et leur pompe ; un pompier est transféré sur notre Rescue Star afin de faire le point mais on est tous d’accord sur le fait qu’on ne peut pas pomper pour le moment.

Notre équipier aide le staff de la marina à enlever du matériel de la Silver Queen; ils en mettent un maximum dans des annexes qui font des va-et-vient pour tenter de sauver ce qu’ils peuvent.

Des entreprises de renflouement arrivent sur les lieux avec des plongeurs-scaphandriers et du matériel (ballons/ sangles, bâches, etc.). Comme ils sont spécialisés dans ce genre d’opération, notre plongeuse remonte à bord et on laisse les scaphandriers prendre le relais.

Nous récupérons notre équipier qui est sur la SILVER QUEEN ; celle-ci est presque entièrement sous l’eau et nous ne pouvons malheureusement plus rien faire pour elle….

La station SNSM de Saint-Martin a des moyens limités ; notre semi-rigide Rescue Star est très bien pour des interventions “rapides” (pour porter secours à des personnes en danger immédiat), mais pour de grosses interventions comme cette semaine (Scoobi Too et Silver Queen) on ne  peut pas faire grand chose, malheureusement. Nous avons donc besoin de vous, lecteurs donateurs, afin de nous aider à obtenir de nouveau une vraie vedette plus puissante.

Soutenez-nous par vos dons à l’ordre de la Station SNSM de Saint-Martin (18, Bd du Dr. Hubert Petit, Front de mer de Marigot, 97150 SAINT-MARTIN). Merci d’avance !

 3,652 vues totales,  12 vues aujourd'hui

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :