Travel to the USA: Please present your Facebook account!

0

To obtain the Travel Authorization for the United States (ESTA), essential for traveling to America, it will now be necessary to show the authorities your accounts on social networks.

Will Mark Zuckerberg's network replace our good old passport? Since Tuesday, December 20, an astonishing paragraph appears on the famous ESTA form, this document that the French and nationals of 37 other countries exempt from visas (for a period of less than 90 days) must complete before entering American territory.

Entitled "Social Media", it invites tourists to indicate their identifier on the social network of their choice. In a drop-down menu, you can choose from 13 sites including of course Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Google+ Instagram, etc.

Questioned by the American site Politico, the American customs indicated wanting to "identify the potential threats". For the moment, the mention “Optional” appears at the top of this paragraph. This did not prevent the promoters of liberties and privacy in the United States from rebelling against this measure. The ACLU association was particularly worried that the "Arab and Muslim communities" would be particularly watched. _AF

 6,497 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Voyage aux USA : Veuillez présenter votre compte Facebook !

0

Pour obtenir l’Autorisation de voyage pour les États-Unis (ESTA), indispensable pour voyager en Amérique, il faudra désormais montrer aux autorités ses comptes sur les réseaux sociaux.

Le réseau de Mark Zuckerberg va-t-il remplacer notre bon vieux passeport ? Depuis le mardi 20 décembre, un paragraphe étonnant figure sur le fameux formulaire ESTA, ce document que les Français et les ressortissants de 37 autres pays exemptés de visas (pour une période inférieure à 90 jours) doivent remplir avant de pénétrer sur le territoire américain.

Intitulé «Médias sociaux», il invite les touristes à indiquer leur identifiant sur le réseau social de leur choix. Dans un menu déroulant, on peut choisir parmi 13 sites dont bien-sûr Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Google+ Instagram, etc…

Interrogées par le site américain Politico, les douanes américaines ont indiqué vouloir «identifier les menaces potentielles». Pour l’instant, la mention «Facultatif» figure en haut de ce paragraphe. Ce qui n’a pas empêché les promoteurs des libertés et de la vie privée aux Etats-Unis de s’insurger contre cette mesure. L’association ACLU s’est notamment inquiétée que les «communautés arabes et musulmanes» soient particulièrement surveillées. _AF

 6,111 vues totales

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :