Violent fire at the Pointe-à-Pitre teaching hospital, 1 people evacuated!

0

A violent fire broke out on Tuesday at the Center hospitalier universitaire de Pointe-à-Pitre, around 15 p.m., without causing any casualties but leading to the evacuation of 1 people, according to CHU management. 

According to the first elements, the fire started at the level of a technical room. Thick smoke emanated from the building, according to the deputy director general, Alain Philibert.

"The resuscitation service, the maternity service, the emergencies, floors 3, 4, 5, 8 and 9 have been evacuated," said the prefecture of Guadeloupe in a press release.

A toll-free number set up

The CHU patients were routed to other hospital structures throughout Guadeloupe and to the commune of Basse-Terre, thanks to the activation of the "enlarged" white plan, explained Alain Philibert.

In total, "nearly 700 patients and about 500 staff members plus visitors who were evacuated," recalls Alain Philibert, adding that the hospital is full at this time. Among the 700 patients, 450 were hospitalized, the rest were in consultation.

Samu and Adapted Military Service (RSMA) tents have been installed to facilitate evacuations and the movement of ambulances. "All the patients have been evacuated and put in safety," confirmed the prefecture. It was around one in the morning that the hundred firefighters on the job since the start of the fire at the CHU were able to put out the flames. They had to face several episodes of explosion during the evening, due to the toxic products stored in the room where the fire broke out. _A

A toll-free number has been set up to allow families to get news of their loved ones hospitalized at the CHU:

05 90 89 10 12

loading

About author

No comments

Violent incendie au CHU de Pointe-à-Pitre, 1 200 personnes évacuées !

0

Un violent incendie s’est déclaré, mardi, au Centre hospitalier universitaire de Pointe-à-Pitre, aux alentours de 15 heures, sans faire de victime mais conduisant à l’évacuation de 1 200 personnes, selon la direction du CHU. 

Selon les premiers éléments, le feu s’est déclaré au niveau d’un local technique. D’épaisses fumées se dégageaient du bâtiment, selon le directeur général adjoint, Alain Philibert.

«Le service de réanimation, le service de la maternité, les urgences, les étages 3, 4, 5, 8 et 9 ont été évacués», a indiqué la préfecture de Guadeloupe dans un communiqué.

Un numéro vert mis en place

Les patients du CHU ont été acheminés vers d’autres structures hospitalières partout en Guadeloupe et jusqu’à la commune de Basse-Terre, grâce à l’activation du plan blanc «élargi», a expliqué Alain Philibert.

Ce sont au total, «près de 700 patients et environ 500 membres du personnel plus les visiteurs qui ont été évacués», rappelle Alain Philibert, ajoutant que l’hôpital est plein à cette période. Parmi les 700 patients, 450 étaient hospitalisés, le reste était en consultation.

Des tentes du Samu et du Service militaire adapté (RSMA) ont été installées pour faciliter les évacuations et la circulation des ambulances. «Tous les patients ont été évacués et mis en sécurité», a confirmé la préfecture. C’est vers une heure du matin que la centaine de pompiers à pied d’œuvre depuis le début de l’incendie au CHU a pu venir à bout des flammes. Ils avaient dû faire face durant la soirée à plusieurs épisodes d’explosion, du fait des produits toxiques entreposés dans le local où l’incendie s’est déclaré. _A

Un numéro vert a été mis en place pour permettre aux familles d’obtenir des nouvelles de leurs proches hospitalisés au CHU :

05 90 89 10 12

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT