Domestic violence: the MP meets Trait d'Union and educates the new Minister of Overseas

0

The member for Saint-Martin wanted to make the new overseas minister aware of the issue of domestic and intra-family violence, a worrying upsurge since the confinement in mid-March.

“These subjects are still taboo in Saint-Martin and the freedom of the victims to speak and their management is complex. Nevertheless, Saint-Martin is fortunate to be able to count on a solid network of involved professionals, who take these issues head-on and to whom I would like to give my full support, ”explains Claire Guion-Firmin.

The deputy for Saint-Martin met Olivier Fatou, director of the Trait d'Union France Victime 978 association. “The upsurge in violence of all kinds during the months of confinement unfortunately did not spare Saint-Martin. The association came to the aid of 25 victims of domestic violence during this period, with the difficulties that one can easily imagine, but a total of nearly 260 people were able to be helped by the association Trait d'Union in stronger of the crisis ”specifies the deputy.

"Despite the action of the Manteau accommodation center and hotel nights paid for by the association, our territory suffers from not having relay apartments for the urgent safety of these people who are victims of domestic violence. ; people, some without a residence permit who sometimes live in great social and rental precariousness. The fight against domestic violence and generally violence against women should be taken into account in the same way as any public health protection: it is in this sense that I wanted to make our new Minister of Overseas Territories aware ”.

 6,815 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Violences conjugales : la députée rencontre Trait d’Union et sensibilise le nouveau ministre des Outre-mer

0
blank

La députée de Saint-Martin a voulu sensibiliser le nouveau ministre des outre-mer à la question des violences conjugales et intrafamiliales, en recrudescence inquiétante depuis le confinement de mi-mars.

«Ces sujets sont encore tabous à Saint-Martin et la libération de la parole des victimes et leur prise en charge est complexe. Néanmoins, Saint-Martin a la chance de pouvoir compter sur un réseau solide de professionnels impliqués, qui prennent ces problématiques à bras le corps et auxquels je souhaite apporter tout mon soutien» explique Claire Guion-Firmin.

La députée de Saint-Martin a rencontré Olivier Fatou, le directeur de l’association Trait d’Union France Victime 978. « La recrudescence des violences de tout ordre pendant les mois de confinement n’a malheureusement pas épargné Saint-Martin. L’association est venue en aide à 25 victimes de violences conjugales pendant cette période, avec les difficultés que l’on imagine aisément, mais ce sont au total près de 260 personnes qui ont pu être aidées par l’association Trait d’Union au plus fort de la crise » précise la députée.

« Malgré l’action du centre d’hébergement du Manteau et des nuitées d’hôtel prises en charge par l’association, notre territoire souffre de ne pas avoir d’appartements relais pour la mise en sécurité urgente de ces personnes victimes de violences conjugales ; des personnes, pour certaines sans titre de séjour qui vivent parfois dans une grande précarité sociale et locative. La lutte contre les violences intrafamiliales et généralement les violences faites aux femmes devraient être prise en compte au même titre que toute protection de santé publique : c’est en ce sens que j’ai souhaité sensibiliser notre nouveau ministre des outre-mer ».

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT