Local life: ACS ZEPIN, the association that brings together sport and culture

0

ACS ZEPIN has been working for 23 years to promote culture, sport and art in Saint-Martin, in particular with guided cultural hikes.

Created in 1998, the association ACS ZEPIN (Cultural and Sporting Association Priority Education Zone) of the Northern Islands) offers cultural, sporting and artistic activities in Saint-Martin. "We are also taking action to promote digital technology, education for sustainable development and parenting," explains Xavier Mirre-Minori, who has taken over the presidency since Irma took over.

One of the flagship actions of this association, which has around thirty members of all ages (5 to 77 years) and backgrounds, consists of guided cultural hikes. “The objective is to discover the endemic flora and fauna as well as the cultural heritage of Saint-Martin,” says the president. Hikes which systematically end with a breakfast during which the local gastronomy is honored, and quizzes with prizes to be won to learn while having fun.

ACS ZEPIN, which works in partnership with regional archives, organizes on average one activity every two months. Thus, on November 23 and 30, its members were able to walk to the Mont des Accords and deepen their knowledge of the history of the border. On December 30, the association visited Emilio's Park and learned the story of the first son of a slave to be granted arable land. After a back-to-school drink at the end of January, the members took advantage of a group walk on the heights of Colombier to the Dutch Wall to understand the history of the inhabitants of this farming district. Hike that ended with a breakfast of yesteryear. Finally, on March 13, the fourth edition of the visit to the island's historic sites took place. A next guided hike should be organized by June.

The association operates thanks to the contributions of its members as well as the dedication of a few volunteers and the three members of the board. "We participate as much as possible in the activities offered to discover the culture and history of Saint-Martin" affirm Sabine and Henri, retirees from France, who joined ACS ZEPIN for two years and were seduced by the warm atmosphere. and careful organization of activities. Originally from Guadeloupe, Jessie, a teacher “adhered to the concept of the association to discover all aspects of the island”. "I discovered ACS ZEPIN thanks to word of mouth" explains Sylvie, who has lived in Saint-Martin for a long time and appreciates "discovering the different places of the island from another aspect", but also "the incredible attention" of organizers with regard to all members.

“The goal is for everyone to feel good and want to come back,” comments Xavier Mirre-Minori.

The remainder of the financial participation of members in activities (due to service providers) and contributions allows the association to support several projects in schools, colleges and high schools on the island. In addition to the opera at the school that it supports each year, and the visit of Fort Louis with students from SEGPA classes, ACS ZEPIN donated seventy plants to Hervé Williams elementary school. (Concordia) last October, for a school garden project involving 120 students.

ASC ZEPIN will offer a new activity: a cultural and sporting rally by the end of May. “It will be a kind of treasure hunt with sports events of yesteryear (balance, throwing coconuts…) and questions on the culture of Saint-Martin.

The teams will have to travel by car to answer the riddles and then arrive at a final site (beach) where they will share a good meal ”promises the president of the association (Soualigapost.com).

loading

About author

No comments

Vie locale : L’ACS ZEPIN, l’association qui réunit sport et culture

0

L’ACS ZEPIN œuvre depuis 23 ans à la promotion de la culture, du sport et de l’art à Saint-Martin, avec notamment des randonnées culturelles guidées.

Créée en 1998, l’association ACS ZEPIN (Association Culturelle et Sportive Zone d’Éducation Prioritaire) des îles du Nord) propose des activités culturelles, sportives et artistiques à Saint-Martin. « Nous agissons également pour la promotion du numérique, l’éducation au développement durable et à la parentalité » précise Xavier Mirre-Minori qui a repris la présidence depuis le passage d’Irma.

L’une des actions phares de cette association qui compte une trentaine de membres de tous âges (5 à 77 ans) et horizons, consiste en des randonnées culturelles guidées. « L’objectif est de découvrir la faune et la flore endémiques ainsi que le patrimoine culturel de Saint-Martin » avance le président. Randonnées qui se terminent systématiquement par un petit-déjeuner au cours duquel la gastronomie locale est mise à l’honneur, et des quizz avec des lots à gagner pour apprendre en s’amusant.

L’ACS ZEPIN qui travaille en partenariat avec les archives territoriales, organise en moyenne une activité tous les deux mois. Ainsi, les 23 et 30 novembre dernier, ses membres ont pu marcher jusqu’au Mont des Accords et approfondir leurs connaissances sur l’histoire de la frontière. Le 30 décembre, l’association s’est rendue au Emilio’s Park et a découvert l’histoire du premier fils d’esclave à avoir obtenu des terres cultivables. Après un pot de rentrée fin janvier, les membres ont profité d’une marche en groupe sur les hauteurs de Colombier jusqu’au Dutch Wall pour comprendre l’histoire des habitants de ce quartier d’agriculteurs. Randonnée qui s’est soldée par un petit déjeuner d’antan. Enfin le 13 mars dernier, s’est déroulée la quatrième édition de la visite des sites historiques de l’île. Une prochaine randonnée guidée devrait être organisée d’ici le mois de juin.

L’association fonctionne grâce aux cotisations de ses membres ainsi qu’au dévouement de quelques bénévoles et des trois membres du bureau. « On participe au maximum aux activités proposées pour découvrir la culture et l’histoire de Saint-Martin » affirment Sabine et Henri, retraités arrivés de l’Hexagone, qui ont rejoint ACS ZEPIN depuis deux ans et ont été séduits par l’ambiance chaleureuse et l’organisation soignée des activités. Originaire de la Guadeloupe, Jessie, enseignante a « adhéré au concept de l’association pour découvrir tous les aspects de l’île ». « J’ai découvert ACS ZEPIN grâce au bouche-à-oreille » explique Sylvie qui habite Saint-Martin depuis longtemps et apprécie « découvrir les différents endroits de l’île sous un autre aspect », mais aussi « l’attention incroyable » des organisateurs à l’égard de tous les membres.

« Le but est que tout le monde se sente bien et ait envie de revenir » commente Xavier Mirre-Minori.

Le reliquat des participations financières des membres aux activités (du fait de prestataires) et des cotisations permet à l’association de soutenir plusieurs projets dans les écoles, collèges et lycées de l’île. En plus de l’opéra à l’école qu’elle épaule chaque année, et de la visite du Fort Louis avec des élèves des classes SEGPA, l’ACS ZEPIN a fait don de soixante-dix plantes à l’école élémentaire Hervé Williams (Concordia) en octobre dernier, pour un projet de jardin école qui concerne 120 élèves.

L’ASC ZEPIN va proposer une nouvelle activité : un rallye culturel et sportif d’ici la fin du mois de mai. « Ce sera un genre de chasse au trésor avec des épreuves sportives d’antan (équilibre, lancer de cocos…) et des questions sur la culture de Saint-Martin.

Les équipes devront se déplacer en voiture pour répondre à des énigmes puis arriver sur un site final (plage) où elles partageront un bon repas » promet le président de l’association (Soualigapost.com).

blank

Article sponsorisé par :


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT