Towards sustainable agriculture in Saint-Martin

0
blank

The PTAD places agroecology at the heart of the orientations of agricultural production.

blankThe members of the Territorial Council approved the Territorial Sustainable Agriculture Plan (PTDA) on July 1st. A deliberation intended to contribute to the diversification of the Saint-Martin economy by developing the agricultural potential of Saint-Martin.

This 39-page plan was drawn up thanks to a State / COM partnership, and involving the CCISM and COSDA (Strategic Orientation and Agricultural Development Committee). "Socio-professionals were therefore duly involved in the drafting of this document" underlined Daniel Gibbs during his presentation of the deliberation.

The PTAD is a planning document making it possible to set the main orientations of the agricultural, agrifood and agro-industrial policy in the territory. These guidelines take into account both the results of a diagnosis based on the specificities of the territory and on the economic, social and environmental issues: planning and sustainable development of the rural territory, protection and enhancement of agricultural land, preservation of the environment. traditional agriculture, natural resources, natural environments and biodiversity, development of production, processing and marketing sectors, etc.

“Formerly founded on the exploitation of the salt marshes and the cultivation of tobacco then on that of cotton and sugar cane, the economy of Saint-Martin is today resolutely turned towards tourism. Agriculture, breeding and fishing are only marginal activities and have a negligible impact on the economy of Saint-Martin ”introduces the document before making a detailed diagnosis of the state of the partly French agricultural sector. "45 farms counted on the territory at the last agricultural census (2010): mostly multi-active farmers, 90% are dedicated to breeding, and mostly cattle breeders: evaluation of 800 cattle in total, reared extensively on the farm. 'grass, including 300 suckler cows and 200 annual slaughterings (2011) or 7,5% of the island's consumption, a market garden farm selling directly ”.

According to INSEE, the agriculture sector represented 0,3% of employment in Saint-Martin in 2016 and had further decreased in 2018 according to data from the General Social Security Fund.

www.soualigapost.com

blank

Article sponsored by:


blank

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

Vers une agriculture durable à Saint-Martin

0
blank

Le PTAD place l’agroécologie au cœur des orientations de la production agricole.

blankLes membres du conseil territorial ont approuvé le Plan territorial d’agriculture durable (PTDA) le 1er juillet dernier. Une délibération destinée à contribuer à la diversification de l’économie saint-martinoise en développant le potentiel agricole de Saint-Martin.

Ce plan, d’une longueur de 39 pages, a été rédigé grâce à un partenariat Etat/COM, et en y associant la CCISM et le COSDA (Comité d’orientation stratégique et de développement agricole). « Les socio-professionnels ont donc été dûment associés à la rédaction de ce document » a souligné Daniel Gibbs lors de sa présentation de la délibération.

Le PTAD est un document de planification permettant de fixer les grandes orientations de la politique agricole, agroalimentaire et agro-industrielle sur le territoire. Ces orientations tiennent compte à la fois des résultats d’un diagnostic fondé sur les spécificités du territoire et sur les enjeux économiques, sociaux et environnementaux : aménagement et développement durable du territoire rural, protection et mise en valeur des terres agricoles, préservation de l’agriculture traditionnelle, des ressources naturelles, des milieux naturels et de la biodiversité, développement des filières de production, de transformation et de commercialisation…

« Fondée autrefois sur l’exploitation des marais salants et de la culture du tabac puis sur celle du coton et de la canne sucre, l’économie de Saint-Martin est aujourd’hui résolument tournée vers le tourisme. L’agriculture, l’élevage et la pêche ne constituent que des activités marginales et ont un impact négligeable sur l’économie de Saint-Martin » introduit le document avant de dresser un diagnostic détaillé de l’état de la filière agricole en partie française « 45 exploitations agricoles dénombrées sur le territoire au dernier recensement agricole (2010) : exploitants majoritairement pluri-actifs, 90 % sont dédiées à l’élevage, et en majorité éleveurs bovins : évaluation à 800 bovins au total, élevés de manière extensive à l’herbe, dont 300 vaches allaitantes et 200 abattages annuels (2011) soit 7,5 % de la consommation de l’île, une exploitation maraîchère pratiquant la vente directement ».

Selon l’Insee le secteur de l’agriculture représentait 0,3 % de l’emploi à Saint-Martin en 2016 et avait encore diminué en 2018 d’après les données de la Caisse générale de la sécurité sociale.

www.soualigapost.com

blank

Article sponsorisé par:


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT