Air transport: Air Antilles requests the COM to create a training center

0

The airline company Air Antilles wants to create a training center, specifically to set up a flight simulator to train ATR pilots, the type of aircraft that performs rotations between Saint-Martin and Guadeloupe.

“Our pilots must make two stays of three days a year in an authorized training center. An airplane generates 150 hours of simulator [per year], "explains Eric Koury, principal shareholder of the Cairo group which owns Air Antilles and Air Guyane. However, there is no center in the Caribbean region. Hence his ambition to create one. “ATRs are leaders in the area. We estimate around forty the number of planes, which corresponds to 280 to 300 pilots, ”he said. The training needs are therefore significant.

The closest simulators are in Miami and Bogota, but for the director of Air Antilles, their location represents constraints. The formalities for going to the United States are "complex" and there is insecurity in Colombia. In addition, simulators are already very popular and for Caribbean airlines it is difficult to obtain satisfactory slots, says Air Antilles.

This simulator project has been nourished by Eric Koury for a long time. He had talked about it several months ago to Daniel Gibbs, who saw an opportunity for Saint Martin. “In terms of the market, the training of pilots and crews has become a major issue in the economic development of the regions, even if they do not always meet growing demand. That is why, I want to answer yes to this project and provide Saint Martin with this economic diversification tool with many positive effects, such as the accommodation of crews and trainers, "commented the President of the COM. And to add: "With this project, I see further, I see Saint-Martin as a crossroads between the Americas and the Caribbean, as a pole of excellence for training in high-tech professions."

As a partner, the Collectivity will provide land, "offer the best operating conditions for this project" and help "as it can" financially.

Daniel Gibbs and Eric Koury presented the project to the media on Thursday afternoon but no further details were given. "The land will be around the airport," said Daniel Gibbs who plans to build a hotel at the same time.

“It is a cooperation project. This is not Air Antilles' project, ”insisted Eric Koury, who found the Liat and Winair companies as a partner.

Regarding funding, the assembly remains to be done. Eric Koury wants to solicit public funds, especially European. The amount of the project is estimated at 15 million euros.

 7,326 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Transport aérien : Air Antilles sollicite la COM pour créer un centre de formation

0

La compagnie aérienne Air Antilles veut créer un centre de formation, précisément implanter un simulateur de vol pour former les pilotes d’ATR, type d’avion qui effectue les rotations entre Saint-Martin et la Guadeloupe.

«Nos pilotes doivent effectuer deux séjours de trois jours par an dans un centre de formation habilité. Un avion génère 150 heures de simu[lateur] par an», explique Eric Koury, actionnaire principal du groupe Caire qui possède Air Antilles et Air Guyane. Or, il n’y a pas de centre dans la région Caraïbe. D’où son ambition d’en créer un. «Les ATR sont leaders dans la zone. Nous estimons à une quarantaine le nombre d’avions ce qui correspond à 280 à 300 pilotes», précise-t-il. Les besoins en formation sont donc importants.

Les simulateurs les plus proches se trouvent à Miami et à Bogota mais pour le directeur d’Air Antilles, leur localisation représente des contraintes. Les formalités pour aller aux Etats-Unis sont «complexes» et il existe une insécurité en Colombie. De plus, les simulateurs sont déjà très prisés et pour les compagnies aériennes caribéennes il est difficile d’obtenir des créneaux horaires satisfaisants, affirme Air Antilles.

Ce projet de simulateur, Eric Koury le nourrit depuis longtemps. Il en avait parlé il y a plusieurs mois à Daniel Gibbs, lequel a vu une opportunité pour Saint-Martin. «En termes de marché, la formation des pilotes et des équipages est devenue un enjeu majeur du développement économique des territoires, même si ceux-ci ne répondent pas toujours à une demande en augmentation croissante. Voilà pourquoi, je veux répondre oui à ce projet et doter Saint-Martin de cet outil de diversification économique aux nombreux effets positifs, comme l’hébergement des équipages et des formateurs», a commenté le président de la COM. Et d’ajouter : «Avec ce projet, je vois plus loin, je vois Saint-Martin comme un carrefour entre les Amériques et les Caraïbes, comme un Pôle d’excellente pour la formation aux métiers de haute technologie.»

Partenaire, la Collectivité va fournir un terrain, «offrir les meilleures conditions d’exploitation de ce projet» et aider «comme elle le peut» financièrement.

Daniel Gibbs et Eric Koury ont présenté le projet aux médias jeudi après-midi mais aucune autre précision n’a été donnée. «Le terrain sera aux alentours de l’aéroport», s’est contenté de dire Daniel Gibbs qui envisage en parallèle la construction d’un hôtel.

«C’est un projet de coopération. Ce n’est pas le projet d’Air Antilles», a par ailleurs insisté Eric Koury qui a trouvé comme partenaire auprès de lui les compagnies Liat et Winair.

En ce qui concerne le financement, le montage reste à faire. Eric Koury veut solliciter des fonds publics, notamment européens. Le montant du projet est estimé à 15 millions d’euros.

 2,404 vues totales,  4 vues aujourd'hui

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT