Transform the media library damaged by Irma into a fun and multicultural place open to all

0

This is the objective set by the Collectivity, which is collaborating with the State on this innovative project.

The Saint-Martin media library did not withstand Hurricane Irma. What to do with this massive building, open to the four winds, from the soaring of its roof and the bursting of its wall of glazing? Transform it and adapt it to a more playful use, while retaining its cultural vocation. The first decision, taken between Daniel Gibbs, the architect and Jean Roca - who works for the French Development Agency on structural programs financed by the State - was to keep only the concrete structures of the building in order to remedy the problems encountered during its commissioning, in particular during the passage of Cyclone Irma. An appraisal, in progress, will attest to the solidity of the structures. The frame which covered the third level, where the library was located, as well as the glass wall which surrounded the media library will not be preserved.

The new building will have only two levels and will be covered with a waterproof roof terrace.

 

Micro-Folie: digital technology at the service of art!

The first level, partially underground, will house a hurricane shelter. It will be equipped with a medical section able to take care of patients, in the event of a cyclone or failure of the nearby hospital. The existing theater, never used before and built on a gentle slope, will join the second level. With a capacity of 250 seats, this performance hall - long awaited on our island - can serve as a cinema and conference venue. At the second level, the Micro-Folie project, supported by Vice-President Valérie Damaseau, consists of the creation of a space inspired by the Parisian center of the same name, in La Villette. Its objective is to put the most beautiful artistic collections at the service of the territories, through a digital museum. A great way to reduce geographic inequalities, but that's not all. There are also various workshops, plastic arts, music or dance ... according to the expectations of the public. The open-air hall as part of the rehabilitation project will be transformed into an esplanade and terrace for the future “Café Folie”, a pleasant space that will invite visitors to meet and discuss.

 

Micro-madness: follow the guide!

La Micro-Folie is built around its digital museum. An original cultural offer, this museum brings together several thousand masterpieces from numerous national and international institutions and museums. Open door to the diversity of human treasures and very easy to access, this virtual gallery, available in several languages, is aimed at all audiences. Led by the Ministry of Culture, the Micro-Folie project is coordinated by La Villette, which supports each territory in the development of its own Micro-Folie. The creation of these spaces explodes the number of media libraries in the cities that offer them and we expect 1000 Micro-Folies by 2023, in France and abroad. Very attached to seeing her projects come true by 2022, the community is doing everything in its power to ensure that the new “Micro Folies” media library and projects for young people see the light of day as soon as possible. A major effort is also put on training, through the territorial plan of vocational training and support for students.

 3,806 total views, 12 views today

Article sponsored by:


About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Transformer la médiathèque endommagée par Irma en un lieu ludique et multiculturel ouvert à tous

0
blank

Tel est l’objectif que s’est fixée la Collectivité, qui collabore avec l’État sur ce projet novateur.

La médiathèque de Saint-Martin n’a pas résisté au cyclone Irma. Que faire de ce bâtiment massif et ouvert aux quatre vents depuis l’envol de son toit et l’éclatement de son mur de vitrages ? Le transformer et l’adapter à un usage plus ludique, en lui conservant sa vocation culturelle. La première décision, prise entre Daniel Gibbs, l’architecte et Jean Roca – qui travaille pour l’Agence française pour le développement sur les programmes structurants financés par l’État – fut de ne conserver que les structures en béton du bâtiment afin de remédier aux problèmes rencontrés lors de sa mise en service, notamment lors du passage du cyclone Irma. Une expertise, en cours, attestera de la solidité des structures. La charpente qui couvrait le troisième niveau, où se trouvait la bibliothèque, ainsi que le mur vitré qui enserrait la médiathèque ne seront pas conservés.

Le nouveau bâtiment ne comportera que deux niveaux et sera couvert d’un toit-terrasse étanche.

 

Micro-Folie : le numérique au service de l’art !

Le premier niveau, partiellement souterrain, accueillera un abri anticyclonique. Il sera équipé d’une section médicalisée apte à prendre en charge des patients, en cas de cyclone ou de défaillance de l’hôpital, tout proche. Le théâtre existant, jamais encore utilisé et construit en pente douce, fera la jonction avec le second niveau. D’une capacité de 250 places, cette salle de spectacles – tant attendue sur notre île – pourra faire office de cinéma et de lieu de conférences. Au second niveau, le projet de Micro-Folie, soutenu par la vice-présidente Valérie Damaseau, consiste en la création d’un espace inspiré du centre parisien du même nom, à La Villette. Il a pour objectif de mettre les plus belles collections artistiques au service des territoires, au travers d’un musée numérique. Une belle manière de réduire les inégalités géographiques, mais pas seulement. On y trouvera également différents ateliers, d’arts plastiques, de musique ou de danse… selon les attentes du public. Le hall, à ciel ouvert dans le cadre du projet de réhabilitation, sera transformé en esplanade et terrasse du futur «Café Folie», espace sympathique qui invitera les visiteurs à se rencontrer et à échanger.

 

Micro-folie : suivez le guide !

La Micro-Folie est articulée autour de son musée numérique. Offre culturelle originale, ce musée réunit plusieurs milliers de chefs-d’œuvre de nombreuses institutions et musées nationaux et internationaux. Porte ouverte sur la diversité des trésors de l’humanité et très simple d’accès, cette galerie virtuelle, disponible en plusieurs langues, s’adresse à tous les publics. Porté par le ministère de la Culture, le projet Micro-Folie est coordonné par La Villette, qui accompagne chaque territoire dans la déclinaison de sa propre Micro-Folie. La création de ces espaces fait exploser la fréquentation des médiathèques dans les villes qui les proposent et l’on attend 1000 Micro-Folies d’ici 2023, en France et à l’étranger. Très attachée à voir ses projets se réaliser d’ici 2022, la collectivité met tout en œuvre pour que la nouvelle Médiathèque « Micro Folies » et les projets pour la jeunesse voient le jour dans les meilleurs délais. Un effort important est également mis sur la formation, à travers le plan territorial de la formation professionnelle et l’accompagnement boursiers des étudiants.

blank

Article sponsorisé par:


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT