TOURISM: I am, You are, We are… Friendly St-Martin, the new message from the tourist office

0

Involving the population, making them aware of the interest and challenges of tourism, the main pillar of the local economy, has been the objective that the management teams who succeed one another at the Saint -Martin.

All admit that it is important for the population to feel concerned, to offer a welcome worthy of a friendly island. Aïda Weinum with President Valérie Damaseau decided to achieve this objective by creating a message that (perhaps) aims to become a commercial slogan:  “I am, You are, We are… Friendly Saint-Martin”.

This initiative is part of the “Tourism Awareness” project developed in the current health context. “This particular context motivated the office to focus part of its actions on the local market by involving the population as much as possible in order to prepare for the future.

Our desire is to introduce the island to its inhabitants and make them aware of their role in the tourism economy, ”explains Valérie Damaseau who has observed, during trade fairs and other international events, that Saint-Martin does not no longer enjoyed this Friendly Island quality. "We have been told, it is indeed feedback that we have had: Saint-Martin is not the same as before, something is missing ...", she reports.

In order to "unite, educate and raise awareness", the office has imagined this slogan or "identity catch phrase" which will appear on clothing. A first partnership was initiated with the SMUTA taxi association; the drivers will wear a polo shirt or t-shirt with both logos printed on it. Partnerships with other socio-professionals are possible.

The 189 college students who visit the sites as part of school activities included in the agreement signed in 2013 between the COM, the tourist office and the National Education will also be asked to wear this t-shirt. Through this action, the office wishes to "make young people aware of the importance and the protection of this economy in their everyday life", confides Valérie Damaseau.

"We also want to educate and inspire them by reminding them of the variety of tourism professions", adds Grégory Dumel, responsible for the local market within the office. “We are therefore going to set up workshops for 15-20 year olds to analyze their current knowledge and those involved in tourism.

These workshops will make it possible to create relevant content to communicate with them via mini series and poster campaigns, ”he explains.

All of these measures must be completed by June. Aïda Weinum and Valérie Damaseau hope for strong support for the project from the local population.

loading

About author

No comments

TOURISME : I am, You are, We are… Friendly St-Martin, le nouveau message de l’office de tourisme

0

blankImpliquer la population, la sensibiliser à l’intérêt et aux enjeux du tourisme, principal pilier de l’économie locale, est l’objectif que se fixent, depuis des années, les équipes directionnelles qui se succèdent à l’office de tourisme de Saint-Martin.

Toutes admettent qu’il est important que la population se sente concernée, offre un accueil digne d’une friendly island. Aïda Weinum avec la présidente Valérie Damaseau ont décidé de parvenir à cet objectif par la création d’un message ayant (peut-être) vocation à devenir un slogan commercial :  «I am, You are, We are… Friendly Saint-Martin ».

Cette initiative s’inscrit dans le projet «Tourism Awareness» élaboré dans le contexte actuel sanitaire. «Ce contexte particulier a motivé l’office à focaliser une partie de ses actions sur le marché local en impliquant au maximum la population afin de préparer l’avenir.

Notre volonté est de faire découvrir l’île à ses habitants et de leur faire prendre conscience de leur rôle dans l’économie du tourisme», explique Valérie Damaseau qui a pu constater, lors de salons et autres événements internationaux, que Saint-Martin ne jouissait plus autant de cette qualité de Friendly Island. «On nous l’a dit, ce sont effectivement des retours que nous avons eus : Saint-Martin n’est plus comme avant, il manque quelque chose…», rapporte-t-elle.

Afin de «fédérer, éduquer et sensibiliser», l’office a imaginé ce slogan ou «phrase d’accroche identitaire» qui figurera sur des vêtements. Un premier partenariat a été initié avec l’association de taxis SMUTA ; les chauffeurs porteront un polo ou t-shirt sur lequel seront imprimés les deux logos. Des partenariats avec d’autres socioprofessionnels sont possibles.

Il sera également demandé aux 189 collégiens qui visitent les sites dans le cadre d’activités scolaires inscrites dans la convention signée en 2013 entre la COM, l’office de tourisme et l’Education nationale) de porter également ce t-shirt. Par cette action, l’office souhaite «sensibiliser les jeunes à l’importance et à la protection de cette économie dans leur vie de tous les jours», confie Valérie Damaseau.

«Nous voulons aussi les éduquer et les inspirer en leur rappelant la variété des métiers du tourisme », complète Grégory Dumel, responsable du marché local au sein de l’office. «Nous allons ainsi mettre en place des ateliers pour les 15-20 ans pour analyser leurs connaissances actuelles et des acteurs du tourisme.

Ces ateliers permettront de créer du contenu pertinent pour communiquer avec eux via des mini séries et des campagnes d’affichage», détaille-t-il.

L’ensemble de ces mesures doit se réaliser d’ici le mois de juin. Aïda Weinum et Valérie Damaseau espèrent une forte adhésion au projet de la part de la population locale.

blank

Article sponsorisé par:


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT