Sint Maarten: Theo Heyliger acquitted in the "Catfish" case, but still prosecuted ...

0

Last Thursday, Theo Heyliger was acquitted of the charges which weighed on him, within the framework of the investigation baptized "Catfish". The deputy, currently suspended, risked a sentence of one year in prison, including six months suspended, as well as a five-year ineligibility sentence.

According to the accusations, Theo Heyliger and another person, JMS, had attempted to corrupt former deputy Romain Laville. The two accused were accused of having offered Laville money, a ministerial post and a plot of land. In exchange, the member had to withdraw his support for the second government chaired by Sarah Wescott-Williams. Following these proposals, Romain Laville had filed a complaint for attempted corruption.

The court of first instance considered that the proposal for a post of minister is part of the political functioning in a democratic country, where coalitions can be formed to achieve majorities. The Court considers that there is no evidence concerning the proposal for payment and that it has not been proven either that Romain Laville was promised a parcel of land. The court therefore decided that there had been no attempt at corruption.

However, if Theo Heyliger was whitewashed in the “Catfish” case, his legal issues are not over since he now faces charges in the “Larimar” case, where he is implicated in corruption offenses , money laundering and the payment of bribes to public officials and officials in Sint Maarten. Bakshis disbursed by construction companies for the allocation of large projects. Theo Heyliger is accused of having received around US $ 4 million over a period of fifteen years. A period during which he occupied the posts of minister, member of the Council of Sint Maarten and deputy to the Parliament.

_RM

 6,273 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Sint Maarten : Theo Heyliger acquitté dans l’affaire « Catfish », mais toujours poursuivi par la justice…

0
blank

Jeudi dernier, Theo Heyliger a été acquitté des charges qui pesaient sur lui, dans le cadre de l’enquête baptisée « Catfish ». Le député, actuellement suspendu, risquait une peine d’un an de prison, dont six mois avec sursis, ainsi qu’une peine d’inéligibilité de cinq ans.

Selon les accusations, Theo Heyliger et une autre personne, J.M.S., avaient tenté de corrompre l’ancien député Romain Laville. Les deux mis en cause étaient accusés d’avoir proposé à Laville de l’argent, un poste ministériel et une parcelle de terrain. En échange, le député devait retirer son soutien au second gouvernement que présidait Sarah Wescott-Williams. A la suite de ces propositions, Romain Laville avait porté plainte pour tentative de corruption.

Le tribunal de première instance a considéré que la proposition d’un poste de ministre fait partie du fonctionnement politique dans un pays démocratique, où des coalitions peuvent se former pour réaliser des majorités. La Cour estime qu’il n’y a pas de preuves concernant la proposition d’un paiement et qu’il n’a pas été, non plus, prouvé que Romain Laville s’était vu promettre une parcelle de terrain. Le tribunal a donc décidé qu’il n’y avait pas eu tentative de corruption.

Toutefois, si Theo Heyliger a été blanchi dans l’affaire « Catfish », ses démêlés juridiques ne sont pas terminés puisqu’il doit maintenant faire face à des accusations dans l’affaire « Larimar », où il est impliqué pour des faits de corruption, de blanchiment d’argent et de paiement de pots-de-vin à des agents de la fonction publique et à des fonctionnaires de Sint Maarten. Des bakchichs déboursés par des entreprises de construction, pour l’attribution de grands projets. Theo Heyliger se voit accusé d’avoir reçu aux environs de 4 millions $US sur une période de quinze ans. Une durée pendant laquelle il occupait des postes de ministre, de membre du Conseil de Sint Maarten et de député au Parlement.

_RM

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT